We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #110 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 27 September 2013

After checking I was given a room that was either already occupied or had not been serviced! There were unused soft drink bottles, litter and a toilet roll covering the floor and the bedclothes were left in a heap. I therefore had to lug my bag back to reception to be allocated another room. This room was clean but rather dark. However, even though there was a fixed shower head above the bath and a control dial I could not find cord, button or water flow converter to make the shower work. Although the toilet handle functioned, it was nevertheless loose. There was also a crack in the wash basin. My window was not double glazed and I could hear the constant droning of an air conditioner. Bizarrely, the plug sockets were not compatible with the plugs that I have so annoying I could not recharge my mobile phone. Moreover, some of the sockets were for round pronged plugs. My advice would be to bring a continental adapter. On the plus side, free Wi-Fi is available in the reception area and luggage can be stored after check out at 11.ooam. The hotel is centrally located and close to sites, shops and public transport. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper request a room away from air conditioning fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thewanderer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations at this time.

I will of course pass your comments onto the relevant department managers for improvements to be made where deemed necessary

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,683 - 1,689 of 2,709 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

Had to go to Birmingham for work and they booked us all in to the Brittania hotel I got put on the 8th floor,as a non smoker this was the smoking floor and it stank they also allow dogs in the rooms I have pets myself but wouldn't want them in a tiny hotel room, and the room was small with a lot of furniture in it. the window did not shut and was held together by a small chain. I thought I would get a pidgeon visit in the night!!! I did not complain as it was only for one night,It was very noisy until about 5 am
Breakfast was extra and OK probably the only redeaming thing, I would not chose to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jay63Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Guest

I am sorry that the Hotel failed to meet some of your expectations at this time, and do wish that you had brought this to our attention during your stay, as it would have given us the opportunity to address your concerns first hand and offer you a room move if necessary, allowing you to leave the Hotel with a more favourable outlook.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I have stayed in number of Britannia Hotel across UK, and I do believe, u always get, what u pay for. Britannia Hotels are always budget friendly. So, I never expect a 5star facilities from them.

However, in this particular one, I haven't found anything to complain about. I am lucky or anything else, I don't know, but I had a great stay. Room, bathroom everything was clean, nice & cosy bed. No complain at all and will be delighted to go back.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
Thank Nadim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review,

I am pleased to see that the hotel met with your expectations for the purpose of your trip and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Visited Birmingham for social event september for a weekend stay. On arrival hotel very old that is not a problem, as I love old buildings but on further entering the hotel room you notice the dirt. We stayed the first night as we were tired and thought we would make do. In the morning I found takeaway food stuck to a light switch, food under the bed, mushrooms (yes mushrooms) in the kettle and a athrodisiac condom thingy on a saucer by the kettle. We have been charged for this no refund. avoid this horrible hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank movingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Guest

I am sorry that the Hotel failed to meet your standards at this time.

Staff are available and on duty 24 hours per day and had you made them aware that you were unhappy with the accommodation provided, they would have been able to assist you in making your stay a much more comfortable and enjoyable one

The hotel accommodates 2000+ guests on a weekly basis and I believe that we offer excellent value for money.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

stayed at the hotel on various occasions. I had been out on meetings & came back at 15.30 & room had still not been cleaned? I had to tell them to leave it as I had work to do on laptop & didn't want to be disturbed, had no fresh towels. had paid for 2nd night but decided to vacate at 6pm to another hotel after the disappointment without advising the reception.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Guest

I am sorry that the Hotel failed to meet some of your expectations at this time and do wish that you had brought this to our attention during your stay, as it would have given us the opportunity to address your concerns first hand, allowing you to leave the Hotel with a more favourable veiw.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed here 1 night 18/09/2013, had read reviews so new wot to expect but do like to make my own mind up!!! It's right in the middle of the shops on the high street and few minutes walk from new street train station. Arrived early for check in but was able to leave bags and go off for the day. We checked in and on our way to the room found the decor to be dark and dismal, basically the skirting, doors and frames all painted black! Went into our room and wow we were thrown back in time!!! This room was as basic as basic could be but was clean! Breakfast was fine the next morning. The only positive I have is the staff, they were very helpful and friendly especially the young man who checked us in and out (sorry we didn't get your name or your twin brothers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!) :-))

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is not really a hotel you would go on holiday, it is in the centre of Birmingham and right near New Street Station. Great value for money, helpful friendly staff, a great low cost base for the centre of Birmingham

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brucieb0nus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
423 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#73 of 118 in Birmingham
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#97 of 118 in Birmingham
528 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £28 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing