We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brtannia Hotel Birmingham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #109 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brtannia Hotel Birmingham”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed overnight on the 19/11, the check in was extremly quick, our room was on the 9th floor, a good size, clean and quiet, we found all staff to be very courteous, The hotel does need some updating, especially the tv's and lifts and the food could be better, but for a hotel in the heart of birmingham city centre at the prices on offer I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review

I am pleased to see that the majority of the hotel met with your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    273
    490
    478
    1,107
See reviews for
200
610
290
645
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed her mid November 2013 as I was going to see an exhibition at the NEC. The outside of the hotel is filthy. Don't know when the windows were last cleaned. the entrance is up a dingy alley. The whole of the hotel is past its best. the carpets are worn and the wallpaper is peeling. The room itself was a decent size, was warm but very very dated. I would echo another reviewer as I could hear the lifts working all night too. My package included evening meal. Don't even think of doing it. It's all frozen food that's served up. I'm afraid the staff are not up to much either . Most are foreign and hardly speak English and those that are English don't care that you are a paying customer. The bar runs a happy hour till 7.00 pm if that's your thing. All in all a very poor experience and I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: No tips just stay at a Travelodge instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations at this time.

I disagree with your comments in regards to the staff, a few are from other countries, but all are fluent in the English language,

Managers are available and on duty 24 hours per day and had you made them aware that you were unhappy with the Hotel, they would have been able to address your concerns first hand.

I will of course pass your comments onto the relevant departmental managers for improvements to be made where deemed necessary

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

By far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I don't know where they got their brochure pictures from, must have had a room made up especially. We asked for a superior room and ended up at the end of a corridore on the 6th floor. When we entered we had to put the light on to see anything. There were three single beds in the room and the outlook was a brick wall about 6ft away. There were no extractor fans in the toilet and there were 2 PIN PLUGS by the side of the bed. The only good thing was the food which, for the price, was very good. The staff couldn't care less if you were there or not and the most strange people were coming and going into the restaurant, leaving not the best of smells. The Premiar Inn is opposite and we will be staying there in future. I would not recommend this hotel to by worst enemy!!! Also they are doing a lot of building work round and about so take your ear plugs. This cannot be blamed on the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlelynn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest

I am sorry that the Hotel failed to meet some of your expectations at this time, and do wish that you had brought this to our attention during your stay, as it would have given us the opportunity to address your concerns first hand, allowing you to leave the Hotel with a more favourable outlook.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed here and except for being sent to a room someone was already in and another having a broken window it was ok. We were I believe upgraded to the top floor and the rooms here are perfect. Clean nicely furnished and a great bathroom. Check in is good and location wise hotel is great. I would stay here again but as for the top floor directly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review,

I am pleased to see that the hotel met with your expectations for the purpose of your trip and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

These days the vintage theme seems to be the in thing.
so it's enlightening that the Britannia management should enter into the spirit with their 1960's themed hotel in the centre of Birmingham!
From the dark wood and white anaglypta walls in the corridors to the outdated furniture in the bedroom and I haven't seen a TV like the one in my room for years.
The woodwork is chipped and grubby.
The bathroom is also outdated however it is clean.
The staff seem friendly and helpful enough and appear to be making the best of a poor situation.
would I stay here again? I very much doubt it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations at this time.

I will of course pass your comments onto the relevant department managers for improvements to be made where deemed necessary

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

I really didn't think hotels like this existed - it only cost £34 for room only for two of us for a night but it was not a bargain for what we got. The best part of it was the location - ideal for Christmas shopping as it was right on New Street in Birmingham and we could call back and drop our shopping off regularly. But otherwise where to start..... the bedside light wasn't plugged in when we got there and we discovered that it could never have been plugged in as it had a square pin plug and the socket was an ancient round pin socket. So we were in gloom as the only other light was another table lamp at the other side of the room. The sink has a huge crack in it and water dripped through it onto the floor. The carpet did not seem to have been vacuumed. The sheets and duvets were clean but it had been a long time since they were bright white...we could hear someone snoring loudly in the next room,,, the telly worked but the picture was very fuzzy....the whole décor was shabby and worn out and the furniture seemed to come from the 60's (not retro - just ancient and worn out!), and there were strange silverfish crawling the bathroom walls. The bar looked like a room in a home for senior citizens - all the chairs ranged round the walls and the happy hour prices were higher than normal prices in the bar we went to across the road. oh, and there was a big hole in the carpet in the corridor - and I mean big - nearly a foot across!
Next time we will try the Hotel du Vin!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations at this time.

I will of course pass your comments onto the relevant department managers for improvements to be made where deemed necessary

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Just stayed at this hotel for a Saturday night. The location is fab - just along from the bullring shopping centre and across from new street station. Check in was less than warm - I would say indifferent. The bar and lounge were depressing and very poorly furnished - kind of furniture you get in charity furniture shops, plus the chairs were unbelievably stained and dirty. Yuk. The corridors are also thin, manky and dirty. The room itself was on the 4th floor, overlooking new street. The decor was the same standard as the lounge - dirty, tired, cheap looking, mis-matched and tatty - however, the bed duvet and pillows were clean and comfortable. The worst part of the stay was the noise - there was not even secondary double glazing!!! During the day the noise consisted of the trumpeter on the street and the rapper with his ghetto blaster, but during the night the workmen were dismantling the steel barriers and then erecting the Germany market! Oh joy! There was no noise control whatsoever, luckily though I had some co-codamol tablets, which always knock me out.
Overall, I think you need a bit of a sense of humour to stay here - its tatty and forlorn but the location is unbeatable.

Room Tip: Most definitely one at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kipperdoodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that some aspects of your stay with us did not meet with your expectations.

I will pass your comments onto both The Housekeeping and Maintenance Managers and both will make any necessary improvements where deemed necessary

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#97 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#60 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
The Briar Rose Hotel
The Briar Rose Hotel
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#34 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Property: Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing