We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #110 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Paid for the double room ask for a non smokers room when checking in. When I got to the room it smelt of stale smoke the window was medieval let cold and noise in not to worry as the radiator would sort the coldness out, it did but made an annoying noise so I decided to stay cold instead.

The bathroom was rank in the bath was a bar of used soap left kindly from the guest before I assume. The bed was ok clean sheets comfy. under the bed there was a thick pile of dust I have asthma so this pissed me of as did the stale smoke.

Hardly slept as it was a busy night not sure why they haven't invested in double glazing yet. A lot of reviews on here do mention the poor state the windows are in. Then in the morning the smoke alarms were going of, as I checked out I asked why this happened was rudely told they get tested on tuesday mornings staff moody as can be. Good location just shame it's a s*it tip of an hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lucy-1019923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel did not meet with your expectations

I will pass your comments onto The Housekeeper and can assure you that improvements will be made where deemed necessary

Our fire alarms are tested every Tuesday at the same time and signs are displayed in Reception to advise all guests of this

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,565 - 1,571 of 2,628 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel was booked for me for a 2 day business trip. As always I did a TripAdvisor search first and was not looking forward to my stay. This hotel is right in the beart of the city and is close to absolutely everything you want. It is also extremely good value for money. I therefore wonder what people expect when thet pay so little for a hotel so conveniently located. Yes the decor is terrible! Yes the electrics are not even compatible with modern uk plugs. Yes it is beyond repair in some parts. However the owners of the hotel have two options leave it as it is in a decaying state but still keep the price reasonable or make it better with the inevitable price increase. My review is that the staff all seemed friendly, the breakfast was hot and edible and the location wins hands down. If you are looking for a budget hotel in Birmingham city centre then this is ok. If you are looking for one with nice bedrooms, mobile phone signal, wifi in the rooms a tv with a picture that works all the time and somewhere to charge your phone and ipad then this is not the hotel for you.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank simon5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review

I am pleased to see that the majority of the hotel met with your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is more like a doss house than a hotel. Everything here smells. Dirty carpets everywhere. The tiny lift stinks.
I am surprised that health and safety have not been in; health wise particularly.
If it were charging £10 per night OK but their rates are not particularly cheap for what you get.
This hotel needs gutting completely

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philipclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel did not meet with your expectations.

As I would advise any guest, should you experience any issues during your stay or wish to raise any concerns you feel should be brought to our attention, there is a Duty Manager available 24 hours per day who will gladly assist you in making your stay a much more comfortable and enjoyable one enabling you to leave the hotel with a more favourable view

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I didn't think hotels like this existed anymore.
Apart from its' location this place has nothing going for it.
Everything is worn out and nasty. The shower head leaked, the carpet was worn through, the bed was uncomfortable. The decoration was from a different age, worn and damaged. The bathroom was mouldy, god knows what was on the shaver socket but clearly it had been there for a long time.
The reception staff were disinterested - the only positive for the staff were the cheerful chambermaids, they must be fighting a loosing battle against the decay.
I don't think I've ever seen, until now, wallpaper painted with gloss paint to cover up the cracks, shame about the one they missed under the window!
Talking of the windows the net curtain was a charming shade of grey and falling down.
Also, I particularly liked the way the artwork is elegantly screwed to the wall with large screws through the frames.
Come on Britannia, spend some money on this place, you could have a real gem here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_smallwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations at this time.

I will of course pass your comments onto the relevant department managers for improvements to be made where deemed necessary

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed for 2 nights during a business trip at the beginning of November. The location is perfect for anyone wishing to discover Birmingham city centre. Which boasts some of Britains best pubs. Close to my heart. The room was basic, clean enough and with a good shower & coffee making facilities. The bed was very comfortable. Some of the fittings were dated & a little tired but in my opinion, just don't look too close ! This hotel is excellent value for money considering it's location & standard of accommodation. All this is good - but what compelled me to make this review is the first class after sales service which I had to put to the test after there was a clerical error in my invoice. The response to my email was instant and the issue fixed without delay & in a friendly & efficient manner. I am sure I will stay here again & I will recommend it to collegues travelling to the area.

Room Tip: try and get a room at the back, away from the main shopping route to maximise sleep quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review

I am pleased to see that the hotel met with your expectations and that we were able to rectify the problem you encountered with your invoice

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Work booked me into this place - never again. No matter how cheap it is I would not recommend. Poor hygiene in communal areas, very dated, poor quality rooms, not the most friendly of staff and the breakfast was of a very low standard.
The only upside was a very good member of staff working the 1970's disco bar!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Phill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations

As I would advise any guest, should you experience any issues during your stay or wish to raise any concerns you feel should be brought to our attention, there is a Duty Manager available 24 hours per day who will gladly assist you in making your stay a much more comfortable and enjoyable one enabling you to leave the hotel with a more favourable view

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Ok, there was no windows and the room was basic, top floor, but we came for the German Market, to have a few beers and did not expect 5 star treatment. Nice check in and when we left the chambermaids thanked us for staying (sorry about the beer stains ladies), Hey, for £49, and 30 seconds walk to the market, no complaints!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review

I am pleased to see that the hotel met with your expectations for the purpose of your trip and we hope to welcome you again in the future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
352 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#96 of 118 in Birmingham
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#67 of 118 in Birmingham
1,112 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £31 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing