We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #108 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“You get what you pay...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel on last minute and I was not expecting a luxurious adventure. I knew I will get what I pay for. Hotel was rather cheap for last minute booking... A Good point... Location... It's in downtown centre so you can easily access anywhere... Two shopping centres and lots of restaurants minutes away But a list of negatives I need to point out are:

1- hotel was dusty and spider webs were all around. Last day of my two day visit I had the honour to meet Mr. spider on my shoulder!!

2- radiators were making noise. It was like I had a radio station on, in my room.

3- Free wifi in lobby but no wifi coverage in rooms. I don't think it will cost a lot for a hotel to buy some access points...

4- two lifts were not enough for this hotel. Lifts were really old and slow and you had to wait couple of minutes each time for the next lift to arrive to platform!!

5- As expected there was no views outdoor. Single glazed windows opening to an area trapped by old buildings that at least could be cleaner and free from debris...

6- checkout time was 11:00 so I wanted to leave my luggage to reception and surf the city for last couple of hours and come back and pick it up but the reception was understaffed so a young lady was struggling to push some other visitors' luggage in a very small room by putting luggages on top of each other as the room was over packed so eventually that made me change mind totally as I knew up to this point was too much for the lady...

7- Smell of cigarette in the corridors

Overall: if you are in rush for a meeting and need to book a place ASAP, that might be considered as an option but to go there with a family is seriously not recommend...

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PedramGh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest

I am sorry that the Hotel failed to meet some of your expectations at this time and wish that you had brought this to our attention during your stay, as it would have given us the opportunity to address your concerns first hand, and allowed you to leave the Hotel with a more favourable outlook.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    271
    484
    472
    1,091
See reviews for
196
601
285
640
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed as leisure visit for one night . Only good thing was location . However not worth the poor standards !! Decor and furniture paint falling away ,chipped ! Outdated and musty smelling ! Not even worth £30 we paid !
Never again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisabaldwin452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations at this time.

Staff are available and on duty 24 hours per day and had you made them aware that you were unhappy with the accommodation provided, they would have been able to assist you in making your stay a much more comfortable and enjoyable one

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Very bad found glass in room what was picked up by my girl the 3rd time rooms nt cleaned old food dropping on the floor food is not nice worst hotel I've been staff also very rude some bar staff polite but this hotel is not nice

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesalviana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Despite several conversations with myself during your stay, and a telephone conversation with a Duty Manager before you arrived, I believe that no matter what we did for you and your family, it would not have satisfied you, until you had all been upgraded to the 9th floor, as you initially requested.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Public hotel areas majorly need updating. I was on the 7th floor and the lift consistently struggled to reach my floor so I had to take the stairs down several times.

Room was dusty, with a large window that didn't lock from the inside, which made me feel insecure as well as brought a constant draft into the room. Curtains and carpet were stained. Asked for a non-smoking room but was obviously given smoking (maybe due to availability); naturally it smelled awful. There was apparently a big group in the room next door and their merry-making as well as every chesty cough, cackle and burp was clearly audible. Couldn't sleep well because of noise throughout the night.

Best part about this hotel is the location. I expect that's why they're not bothered to improve standard and presentation of the hotel - they know they will get business regardless.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that certain aspects of the hotel failed to meet with your expectations at this time.

Staff are on duty 24 hours per day and had you made them aware that you were unhappy with the food on offer, they would have been able to address your concerns, enabling you to leave the Hotel with a more favourable veiw.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zulu24
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed here recently. We asked for a quiet room as the German market was on and the hotel faces directly towards it. The room we got was quite bizare. It was tiny. It actually looked like a room that had been divided down the middle as the window was in the corner. The view from the window was possibly the worst from any hotel I've ever stopped in. It was a dark grubby, horrible, well, not even a courtyard. The tv was old fashioned, and the room was generally depressing. We had breakfast which was quite nice buffet style. I think, deep down this hotel has bags of character but, but it really needs money spending on it to bring it up to date.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zulu24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that certain aspects of the hotel failed to meet with your expectations at this time.

Staff are on duty 24 hours per day and had you made them aware that you were unhappy with the food on offer, they would have been able to address your concerns, enabling you to leave the Hotel with a more favourable veiw.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Cheap but even at same price wouldn't stay here again. Location was great but that's as good as it gets.
Staff very curt and not very helpful.
Smell of dirty damp cloths on all the landings.
Room drab, not helped by the fact that the lamp did not work.
Iron in the ironing room did not work.
Beds uncomfortable and pillows hard.
Breakfast ok but no tea left and no more put out.
I rarely put bad reviews and think I am quite easily pleased but sorry, wouldn't recommend a stay here at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest

I am sorry that the Hotel failed to meet your standards at this time and wish that you had brought this to our attention during your stay, as it would have given us the opportunity to address your concerns first hand, and allowed you to leave the Hotel with a more favourable outlook.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I booked into the Britannia as a last minute measure when my flight home was delayed, leaving me stuck in Birmingham for the night. I secured a single room for £29, which seemed impressive given its location a stones throw from Birmingham New Street station.

The Britannia has no pretense of being up-market. The shabby exterior leaves an immediate impression which persists throughout. The staff aren't unfriendly, but neither do they pretend to love their job. They are there to get the job done, with no frills, much like the hotel itself.

In keeping with the rest, my room was rather spartan. Only the bathroom light and a lamp in the main room worked, and the fixtures looked positively ancient. The bed was the only part of the room that I could say with any confidence looked clean, and really all I cared about. The windows were single glazed, but seemed to do a good enough job of cutting out noise, and I slept well.

The bathroom was reasonable, with a shower that was pleasingly powerful. The towels had a rather troubling smell. Perhaps they had just been left damp from washing for too long, I can only hope.

All together, I was quite happy with the place - given the price. I imagine most people would be put off by the pervading shabbiness, but I would recommend it to someone who found them in a similar situation to mine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanEGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#96 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#58 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
The Briar Rose Hotel
The Briar Rose Hotel
#26 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Property: Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing