We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great if you love the smell of cigarettes.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #107 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great if you love the smell of cigarettes.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Booked on line. Good price for New Years Eve, hotel generally what we expected for the money.
What we did not expect...was to be put into a smokers room. There was no option to choose non smoking and we were not told online or at check in that we had been put into a smoking room.
The smell in the room was terrible. The bed linen stank. We had to sleep with the window wide open to try to get some fresh air.
A horrible night. Will never stay at the Brittania again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jll62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel failed to met with your expectations.

Our Reception staff do pre allocate rooms (where possible) according to guest requests with regards to smoking or non smoking.

As I would advice any guest(s) there is a manager on duty 24 hours per day and had you approached them to inform them that you were unhappy with the room, they would have been able to assist you in offer an alternative room or arranging for the room freshened to enable you to have a more comfortable and enjoyable stay with us.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    271
    484
    471
    1,091
See reviews for
196
600
285
640
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

we booked this hotel as it was in walking distance from alexandra theatre
it is a very smelly hotel and when you step out of lift on floor 1 (restaurant) strong smell of damp/mould
room very dated (old furniture) and very dirty.
window overlooking high street needs a very good clean/replacing lets lots of draught in
champange cork on floor behind curtain
wallpaper peeling on the walls cobwebs on ceiling skirting board all paint peeling
1 bath and hand towel in bathroom looked like someone had been sick in the sink
toilet did not flush properly
big old television which showed the same channel 4 times when lying on bed can not see telly
wind that came through window was making door rattle
there was one plug socket which had the lamp plugged in but also you had to use the same socket for kettle, hairdryer,straighners,phone chargers
breakfast looked ok had piece of toast and coffee due to the smell
i know you can not do nothing with what goes on outside but did not get hardly any sleep
lorries delivering, work on station, people shouting swearing even a man being chased with a knife if double glazed windows were fitted would make a huge difference and if rooms were brought up to date
have stayed in many hotels and this has to be the worst staff are not friendly at all it felt like i have booked you in thats it my job done i will go back on my mobile
we had to ask if breakfast was on served on the first floor

Room Tip: go to another hotel even if you have to pay a bit more money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr Need N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept my apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations

I will pass your comments onto the relevant departmental managers and I can assure you that improvements will be made where deemed necessary

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

i stayed a the hotel for one night it was easily accessible from new street station early for check in allowed to leave bags extra until check in time The hotel has character and age which add to its warm and friendly atmosphere the hotel was clean warm and welcoming the staff were polite courteous helpful and informative the breakfast was buffet style had many choices hot and cold and a big thank you the chef and the restaurant waiter who was from Lithuania who was very attentive to my need in the restaurant area as a disabled guest the facilities although dated were adequate for my needs a major over hall is needed for disabled people i.e. ramps wheelchair access extra a special thanks to mo on reception

Room Tip: this hotel is excellent value for money , and a brill location remember you see the price you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am pleased to see that the hotel exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you again in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is by far the WORST hotel I have EVER stayed in either the UK or abroad!!! I would not give this hotel 2 stars let alone anything above that... This place is a hostel rather than a hotel, the whole experience was a nightmare!! I would highly recommend that you pay slightly more and go to the Radisson or MalMaison.

When we arrived at the hotel, we realised that the entrance is down an alleyway which would have been fine until we saw there were a group of men loitering outside who were not of the 'decent' kind. The two men at reception were not helpful at all, they did not assist with our luggage and nor did they even give us details of where the lifts where, we were given the room key and that was that!!! Having finally found the room, we realised that the telephone was not working, the sockets were all loose and defintely a health and safety hazard, there was no actual lighting apart from two lamps, the whole room was dated, dirty and beyond basic. The toilet was moldy and beyond basic again. There was make up from the previous guests on the hairdryer, the appliances were all from the early 1980s and had not been updated since. The electricity was not working and we had to go back to reception to ask for assistance as our telephone was not working and he relaised that the electrics had tripped and he had to deal with this via the mains. He said he couldn't do anything about the poor sockets and the telephone which was not working.

The room had clearly not been cleaned or prepared before our arrival. To be honest, I would have rather slept in the car than sleep in this damn hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyalLegalty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept my apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations

I will pass your comments onto the relevant departmental managers and I can assure you that improvements will be made where deemed necessary

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

it start off trying too find the place is a night mare then my brother goes in to find out where to park and get given a address of a car park only by postcode so we parks up walks the 1.5miles back to the hotel check in to find your not aloud not 1 too help u with bag or to see you in to your room the staff are just a joke with manners we was spoken to like( what can I do for u ) as a first contact line then I goes up too the room well what a joke the toilet had never seen a brush then I check the bath still had the scum line what looked for the previous 3 people ewe then I looked at the hand towel to find it had blood streaks on it so I didn't not both too look at the bath towel as I bought my own thank god I when too use the cup to make my self a cuppa to find I had to wash it as it have been used or not wash up correctly then I noticed the floor looked like some1 had either broken their nose or some1 had cut them self red patches every where the wall are like ply board so you can hear everything and I mean everything people are doing the window don't even close and even if they do the sound profane of them are rubbish because the aint double glazed the whole time I was there was just a joke its manager want massive kick right up the bottom as for only the guest staying in the room ha ha ha not a chance 1 of the room at 1 point I was told was for 2 people had over 12 people in it if there was a fire in the hotel I would never have know what to do or go the whole hotel is just a joke I don't advise anyone to stay at all I did not see what the food service was like if the state of the bed rooms is bad I could reakon the food service in appalling

Room Tip: don't bother with this hotel at all it is a joke
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrAlexander19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel did not meet with your expectations.

As I would advise any guest, should you experience any issues during your stay or wish to raise any concerns you feel should be brought to our attention, there is a Duty Manager available 24 hours per day who will gladly assist you in making your stay a much more comfortable and enjoyable one enabling you to leave the hotel with a more favourable view

The Hotel does not have a Car Park, but the postcde we issue to Guests (should they wish to use it ) is no more than a 5 minute walk away.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Town
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

New Years Eve in this hotel was £59 which wasn't highly priced for new year but with good reason.

After being checked in by a very abrupt man on reception and given no directions to our room at all we arrived.

The corridors are long and unattractive

The room was one of the poorest rooms I've been in this year for state of repair

The presence of a rubber antislip mat in the bath is something I haven't seen for years. The shower control had visibly been repaired as it had while silicone slapped all over it.
Shower worked and water was warm

In the room there was very little light
One bedside lamp
A table lamp with no bulb
A ceiling lamp at the door that didn't work
Reception when we plugged our room phone in didNt seem at all interested.
The TV is very old and had been damaged on the corner so it had been repaired with tape.
The coffee had no brand name at all

Finally the bedding mmm noticed flood in the morning on the quilt, checked everywhere I hadn't been bleeding so not sure how clean that was
The furniture also wherever it had a sill or ridge had visible embedded dirt as did many of the ledges in the staircases

All in all a dire place as its old and not even clean

Positive very central and near new street station

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel did not meet with your expectations.

As I would advise any guest, should you experience any issues during your stay or wish to raise any concerns you feel should be brought to our attention, there is a Duty Manager available 24 hours per day who will gladly assist you in making your stay a much more comfortable and enjoyable one enabling you to leave the hotel with a more favourable view

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

The location is very good but when I came to that hotel reception looks like they doesn't looks like they wanna work in that hotel to be honest looks like someone push them to work there, it's not looks very good for the gest when I got my key card to the room I went to the lift area and the walls are so dirty floor as well phone is like from 1950 yr and I'm not gonna tell anything about the time when I was spend waiting for the lift (about10min) terrible next thing is when I open my room I check the toilet and bath it's so dirty and the mess was left after previous gest I could see that because in a bath was blue stain after blue shower gel whatever it was , and the sink was so terrible distroyed, ok so I want to the room and I have seen the bed but it's not a bed it's two big puffs joined together hmm rediceles and the best linien wasn't changed at all oh sorry only one pillow case was changed because I could smell perfume of the previous gest also I'm working in the hotel as well so I know when someone haven't change linien and the very bad smell of dump or something in all hotel , this hotel charged me 79pounds per night when I checked in and I sow my room in that condition I checked out stright away and the girl on reception just look at me like I said something new like she never seen that before and I went to the Diffrent much Better hotel also i wanna say i was in a diffrent hotels 3stars much Better than that hotel and higher standard also cheaper ! That hotel need full renovation ,very good location but very sad people doesnt care about this hotel at all (31.12.13)

Room Tip: U can get Better hotel in the same or cheaper price
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations at this time.

I will of course pass your comments onto the relevant department managers for improvements to be made where deemed necessary

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#93 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#55 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
The Briar Rose Hotel
The Briar Rose Hotel
#26 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Property: Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing