We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“depressing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #110 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The two stars show credit for the position of the hotel, very near New Street station, and in the centre of town. Nothing much else deserves a star in my opinion. The food was poor, the decor drab,the room basic and noisily situated. Only use if the cost is right for you, or if you want the convenient situation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 911helend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations

As I would advise any guest, should you experience any issues during your stay or wish to raise any concerns you feel should be brought to our attention, there is a Duty Manager available 24 hours per day who will gladly assist you in making your stay a much more comfortable and enjoyable one enabling you to leave the hotel with a more favourable view.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,403 - 1,409 of 2,626 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great location, easy to access and not far from Birmingham New Street station and the Bullring.

The breakfast buffet was excellent.

Staff were helpful as I needed a hotel at around midnight, due to cancelled booking elsewhere.

The interior needs revamping. It felt too old-fashioned for my own liking and the bathroom was not immaculately clean. The view from my room was overlooking another guest room, so I decided to keep the curtains closed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angbna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review

Both your positive and negative comments have been passed onto the relevant Managers for improvements to be made where deemed necessary.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Came with my son after a busy day visiting Birmingham uni.
Arrived at the hotel and eventually found our "quiet" room at the back of the hotel at the end of a very long depressing corridor very reminiscent of "The Shining" and through several sets of double doors. It was really dark and overlooking an incredibly noisy ventilation shaft. Took one look and went straight back to reception to ask for another room. The receptionist had obviously been specially trained not to smile but did give us another room on the 4th floor at the front, down an equally miserable corridor with a horrible loud buzzing sound coming out of one of the doors. The second room was at least light and airy.

After about 15 minutes trying to get the lights to work, we gave up and phoned reception. A man came up and rummaged around in the wardrobe for a hidden trip switch which turned the power on. The bathroom was fairly clean, although the bath was old and stained and the basin had a crack in it. We had difficulty finding a second plug for our phone chargers as the room seemed to have a predominance of obsolete 3 pin round plugs. There were a few stains on the furnishings but the sheets were clean and the bed was relatively comfortable.

The street was quite noisy but I manged to sleep until about 2am when I was woken up by shouting in the street and a drunken hen party singing at full volume. The sea gulls (in Birmingham?) were squealing all night, unless it was a sound recording designed to put guests off ever returning to the hotel. At 3am the man next door came back and started having a conversation at full volume and after ramming my earplugs further into my ear and wrapping the duvet round my head I finally went to sleep at about 4am and was woken up again at about 6am by the street cleaning lorries below.

We decided to skip breakfast and pick up something to eat at the station. After reading some of the reviews, I am very glad, as it sounds as though we may have been in danger of risking a jippy tummy from the virtually raw bacon and sausage described by other guests.

I have never reviewed a hotel before but have been compelled to warn people off this terrible hotel. The best thing about it was the laugh we had from reading all the other reviews and worst thing about it is that they are all true!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lottielocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations

As I would advise any guest, should you experience any issues during your stay or wish to raise any concerns you feel should be brought to our attention, there is a Duty Manager available 24 hours per day who will gladly assist you in making your stay a much more comfortable and enjoyable one enabling you to leave the hotel with a more favourable view.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Two days before I was due to arrive in Birmingham for an important business conference, my booking here was CANCELLED BY EMAIL! No doubt the reservations manager decided she could re-sell my room at a higher price, or had simply double-booked the accommodation.

Total disaster! And, because there were a number of conferences in town, it was almost impossible to find another centrally-located hotel at such short notice. Furthermore, I had already arranged for deliveries to arrive at the Britannia - several boxes of magazines, stands for our conference display, a lot of stuff that had already been despatched with Parcelforce and couldn't be recalled.

But, my bacon was saved by the Duty Manager - Mo. He's a great problem-solver who sorted everything out and enabled me to attend the conference with everything I needed. I rang up the hotel absolutely fuming about the cancelled room, but I couldn't stay angry at someone who was so helpful in a really practical useful way.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your kind and positive reveiw.

I shall certainly pass your comments and thanks onto Mo, who i know will be equally pleased,

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect. And that's about it if we talk about perfection. It is not a bad place, but some things need some fixing or were just hillarious, like the curtains in conference rooms or the almost raw potato I got for my first dinner there. The British should really get some education on plumbing systems. Old carpets everywhere, of course. The food was average. Beds are comfy and you can get a decent sleep if you get a non street side room. I think it's not worth the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dado_HR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review

I am pleased to see that the hotel met with your expectations for the purpose of your trip and we hope to welcome you again in the future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel has only two advantages - its location and the price. It is situated in the city centre, it is easy to reach main places of the city.
Other things are not client friendly: we didn't find the soap in the bathroom, the carpet and windows were unclean. At night there was a noise from other rooms.
There is a strange smell on the ground floor near the reception - incredibly bad perfume which they use for carpets.
However the staff was helpful - they brought us soap and helped to reach taxi in the early morning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ieva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review

Both your positive and negative comments have been taken on board, and will be passed onto the relevant Managers for improvements to be made where deemed necessary.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was there for 8 nights. The hotel is in the middle of everything, very close to the bullring with lots of restaurant, next door to the Primark clothes department store, Movie Theatre opposite, 3 minutes to the New St . train station and lots of banks.

Also so close to other entertainment and museum, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review

I am pleased to see that the hotel met with your expectations for the purpose of your trip and we hope to welcome you again in the future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
350 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#96 of 118 in Birmingham
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 118 in Birmingham
1,112 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £32 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing