We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #109 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I was expecting the worst when booking this hotel and I found the sister hotel in Liverpool grubby and dirty. I have to say i was plesently surprised. For the price that we paid I have to say the hotel was very good, execellent location, coming straight out onto the main street in Birmingham - New Street, the hotel is actually connected to Primark!! The bull ring shopping centre is a two minute walk away.
The rooms were sufficient, as we were on a city break we didnt plan on spending time in the rooms, cleaned daily, tea/coffee making facilities, toitletories in the bathroom also refreshed daily.

Had a drink in the bar one evening and the lady who was working there was very helpful and friendly.

2 issues I have with this hotel - on check in, my visa debit card from Ireland wasnt acceptable, I didnt realise this and had to use my cash I had for the break, this was very inconvienient. I asked the lady if i could go and take money out later and that wasnt an option at all, I had to pay on check in! I found that very irratating and wish Id known before I left Ireland and could have brought more money rather than using foreign ATMs.

Other issue, only a small one - the lifts, they would drive you demented, very slow to move, sometimes they would go the opposite way you wanted!! Probably should have taken the stairs but been on the fifth floor i was been lazy!! :)

Room Tip: Possibly away from the main street towards the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review

I am pleased to see that the hotel exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you again in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    277
    500
    487
    1,159
See reviews for
211
633
296
666
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Average room and view of a busy high street. The hotel is value for money. It is Ideal if you are catching a early morning train or coach to catch short 2 minute walk to new street and 5 minute walk to moor street. WiFi available in the lobby only.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank roamingtherails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review

I am pleased to see that the hotel met with your expectations for the purpose of your trip and we hope to welcome you again in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I needed a cheap hotel near the station for a one night stop. At £59 B&B not bad value for money.
Furniture and fillings dated but rooms clean. Good choice for breakfast, evening buffet nothing special but then it was only £9.95! Would use it again for a one night stop.
Wifi did not work in my room 4th floor but OK in public areas.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillwalker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review

I am pleased to see that the Hotel met with your expectations for the purpose of your trip and we hope to welcome you again in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

A friend had booked the hotel for us and so I had not read reviews before arriving but I wish I had otherwise I might been lucky enough to never have stayed in this hotel. I've stayed at other Britannia hotels and though I know they're not the most modern and stylish of hotels, they tend to be clean and comfortable. This hotel was neither of these. It was dark, dingy and dirty. Everything looked dated and well worn and it looked like it was in serious need of a deep clean. Though this was a cheap budget hotel, I've stayed in other hotels for the same price and found them to be cleaner and of a higher standard. Despite its physical appearance, the staff on the front desk were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carmen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel did not meet with your expectations at this time.

Your comments have already been passed onto The Housekeeper, and I can assure you that improvements will be made where deemed necessary.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Chatham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I had this hotel booked by my PA for work. She thought the website looked nice. Shame she didn't look at trip advisor first. The receptionist had a couldn't care less attitude on check in. The room is beyond worn-stains in the walls, dirty carpets by the skirting board, stains in the sink and bathroom. The owners have to sit up and take note. This is unacceptable.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Calamity999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept my apologies for any problems you experienced at the hotel.

Had you made the staff aware that you were unhappy with the Hotel, they would have been able to address your concerns at the time, thus enabling you to have a more positive veiw of the Hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at many britannia hotels but this was by far the worst. I arrived to be greated by a receptionist who seemed to not want to be bothered with u. Next I was informed that they only had smoking rooms left. The hotel stank. The lift was dirty and smelt. The room was aweful. The smell was nauseating. The windows opened so wide it wasnt safe. Would I have jumped....yes but luckily the Hyatt hotel had a vacancy... exit stage right never to return again..... advise.... DONT BOOK HERE.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank womanhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept my apologies that the Hotel did not meet with your expectations

If you had made your dissatisfaction known to the staff at the time of your stay, they would have been able to assist you in making your stay a much more pleasant one.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stroppy and unwelcoming receptionist, wait let's start with the thread bear carpets at the entrance. Nothing came close to clean. Dark smelt of a mix of garbage and smoke. Make up marks on the bed sheets, curious white marks in the bathroom, toilet clearly not cleaned in months, and shower definitely not cleaned recently. Need I go on but I was so discusted I didn't risk breakfast! Never ever again!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept my apologies that the Hotel did not meet with your expectations

If you had made your dissatisfaction known to the staff at the time of your stay, they would have been able to assist you in making your stay a much more pleasant one.


Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#97 of 117 in Birmingham
506 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
222 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#64 of 117 in Birmingham
1,070 reviews
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Property: Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing