We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does what it says on the can” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #108 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
south wales
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the can”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Staff on reception were helpful. But one gear. Which is slow.
First room we were given. Already has a suitcase and other stuff in it. So we complained and we're moved to room 911 . Which was a much better room. Air con worked great. Bathroom was spotless. Although curtains in room needed cleaning. Floor was clean. Bed was clean. Also bedding g was clean. Nice pillows aswell. Had a fridge in the room which is a bonus. Meant we could get fresh milk for our tea and coffee.
Downside .... The mattress was awful. Couldn't sleep. Tossing and turning all night.
Night porters ? Why are they there. We walked in very late At night . Nothing g. Why not ask. Why not stop.
Good evening sir and madam. How was your night. Evening folks. How are you. Excuse me folks are you guests.
Nothing at all. This is why you get idiots running around the corridors. You pay them a wage. Make them earn it by doing some work.
Over all the hotel is fine . Have stayed here now about 7 times. And luckily gave not met any of the problems that other people have had.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank allen2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly, please accept my sincere apologies that some aspects of your stay did not meet with your expectations – the comments which have been made have been passed onto the relevant departmental managers and I can assure you that improvements will be made where deemed necessary

Thank you for the comments regarding the rest of the Hotel, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    271
    484
    472
    1,091
See reviews for
196
601
285
640
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I made a booking online an when I got to the reception desk I was left waiting a while. Once someone finally took time out of their personal conversation around the back I did not get the warm invite I thought I would get. I was made to wait an then pay ten pounds to check in at 12.

Once I got to my floor an the life opened, I was over whelmed with a damp dirty smell.
My room haf a strong chemical smell that made my head hurt. The bathroom was vile. Chip in the loo seat. Ohhh the list goes on. When I called down to reception the phone was even dirty.
I had the room checked to make it clear it was unused an I wanted my money bk.

When I got to reception there was a young girl only just checking out of the room they had put me in.
Never in my life have I seen something so vile.

Warning do not use this hotel. Book the premier inn over the road online.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Keeeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations at this time

Your comments will be passed onto the relevant departmental managers for improvements to be made where deemed necessary.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ok for those who are going to be out on the town most of the night and be too drunk to care about the uncleanliness and drabiness of the place when they return.

A cheap place to crash sort of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mesh42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations at this time.

Staff are available and on duty 24 hours per day and had you made them aware that you were unhappy with the accommodation provided, they would have been able to assist you in making your stay a much more comfortable and enjoyable one

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed last night and thought about going to stay in the car as it was cleaner and had air. Walked in and waited 5 minutes before getting acknowledged we where there. Got told only had smoking rooms left, which if you stay I would reccommened you don't get even if you are a smoker. Walked into the room and the bathroom hadn't looked like it hadnt been cleaned since the last visitors which looked like they had trimmed there public region and the remains where still there. The tap didn't turn off so we had that as a water feature all night dripping away. The main lights didn't work and nor did the tele so only a small side lamp for are lighting. It doesn't look like it does in the pictures and I would strongly reccommened that if you don't have to don't use this hotel as the staff didn't even apologise for the all the problems we had the best bit about the stay was when we checked out and got back on the road
There is a travel lodge around the corner which we discovered on leaving

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lewissmith321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations

As I would advise any guest, should you experience any issues during your stay or wish to raise any concerns you feel should be brought to our attention, there is a Duty Manager available 24 hours per day who will gladly assist you in making your stay a much more comfortable and enjoyable one enabling you to leave the hotel with a more favourable view.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
English Riviera, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

My family stayed here last weekend (8 - 10 August) for a city break. We chose it, mostly for location but thought, as it's in the Britannia chain of hotels, it should be ok. How wrong were we? The location is the only positive. The rooms were not ready when we arrived. When we were eventually shown our rooms, on the fourth floor, they were disgusting. They both overlooked a dark, dingy brick wall so no natural light or air came anywhere near the window. We booked two twin rooms and they were both doubles. The rooms were dark, musty and shabby. My mother went and complained and we were moved to the 7th floor. Both rooms were smoking rooms (which again goes against all the signs in the hotel and the law I thought in that all hotels in the UK are now non-smoking?) Anyway, room 1 was dark, boiling hot and shabby. It had out-dated furniture, the carpet was dirty and the windows were filthy. This room overlooked the back of the hotel, so was very dark with very little air going into the room; however, believe it or not it was an improvement on the first room! Room 2 was better (just). We had a door but no window, the curtains were dirty and had cigarette burns in them. The carpet was dirty and the towels had holes in them. The only plus side to both rooms was that the bedding was clean, however the bed frame was not! We had booked breakfast on the last morning of our stay, but I only opted to have toast as I could only imagine what they were serving, if the rooms were anything to go by. Lots of "food" had run out and the waitress did not replace it quick enough compared to how many diners were in the room. The croissants had all gone so my mother asked for some more. When they came, they were frozen!!! The toast was soggy as they keep it in a basket. The tea and coffee looked like dirty dish water and tasted like it too.

All in all, the hotel has a great location, but is in serious need for an up-date. The rooms are shocking and need a massive facelift. The prices are not cheap either for what you get. Considering there is a Premier Inn right opposite this hotel, with great deals, this hotel needs to sort itself out and fast!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations

As I would advise any guest, should you experience any issues during your stay or wish to raise any concerns you feel should be brought to our attention, there is a Duty Manager available 24 hours per day who will gladly assist you in making your stay a much more comfortable and enjoyable one enabling you to leave the hotel with a more favourable view.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Very reasonable price and city centre location were the main attractions. You want cheap and central? Stay here.
We asked for a high up smoking room and that was what we got. I was hoping for some of the excellent views that the reviews talked about but we were given something around the back, only leaving us a view of another room opposite. The room was also quite small and the fittings and facilities were minimal and a bit grotty.
I understand that there is a lot in the marketplace to compete with in terms of facilities (WiFi only in reception, which is about what you get staying in a backpacker's hostel)
I telephoned to ask them to allow my partner to check in my absence as she was arriving before me. Even though I had booked on my card, they informed me that she would be able to do that. When she arrived, she had to pay for the room herself before they would allow her to check in. When challenged about this, reception said they would chase it up and make sure that this didn't happen in future.
Overall, a useful location for the price, but don't expect too much.

Room Tip: Ask for a high up room with a view if you plan to spend any time in there during daylight. If you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank earthman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review which will be shared with the rest of the Staff.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We decided to stay at this hotel on Saturday 9th August after a six hour train journey back from Penzance. When we booked the hotel on bookings.com it hit all the right buttons, short walk from train station and great location being right in the middle of Birmingham. After arriving in Birmingham at 12pm we chanced our luck to see if we could book in earlier and with one room we hit lucky and we were told by the receptionist that the room was ready, we went in the lift to the 4th floor only to be told by the cleaner that the room wouldn't be ready for a while and she had no idea why we had been told to come up, so we dropped bags off and went to explore Birmingham. When we came back is when our troubles began. We entered the room to a dire carpet, wallpaper that was peeling off the walls and where do I begin with the bathroom, well it was so dated and dirty it was a joke. The view from our room was of a busker in the city centre and the curtains needed a good clean. The entire hotel is dirty and very old fashioned and Britannia need to give it a very good refurb sooner rather than later and maybe get the staff to communicate with each other. Would never ever recommend anyone stay here even it was free!!

Room Tip: Don't book a room here at all!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenLangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel did not meet with your expectations

Your comments will be passed onto the relevant departmental managers for improvements to be made where deemed necessary

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#96 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#58 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
The Briar Rose Hotel
The Briar Rose Hotel
#26 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Property: Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing