We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for New St Station shame about the room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #109 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The location in the town centre is 2minutes walk to new st station which is great but the rooms are poor, worse than an average budget seaside B&B and more like student halls at the end of a year. If all you want is somewhere to crash out then its just about ok. So as long as your expectations are very low you wont be disappointed.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel did not meet with your expectations

Your comments will be passed onto the relevant departmental managers for improvements to be made where deemed necessary

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,506 - 1,512 of 2,782 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

This has got to be the worse hotel I have ever stayed, it is absolutely filthy. The carpets are threadbare, the TV in the room was like something out of the antiques roadshow, bathroom a total disgrace. All decor has probably been in place since 1962. The only decent aspect was the the location, however you get deals in other hotels that reflect much better value. Only stayed one night, if any longer I would have moved out.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 276satex123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel failed to met with your expectations.

As I would advice any guest(s) there is a manager on duty 24 hours per day and had you approached them to inform them that you were unhappy with any aspect of the Hotel, they would have been able to assist you to have a more comfortable and enjoyable stay with us.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I would never stay again. Everything was terrible! Incredibly noisy, the walls are so thin you can hear every room, the street noise was ridiculous, all night! The room was dirty, and liked like it hadn't been cleaned, thankfully the sheets were clean! The bed was beyond uncomfortable! And even the tea in the room was disgusting! On initial arrival I said to my wife it liked like the kind of place you cod book a room by the hour! I could not recommend this hotel even if you got a bargain proceed, the worst hotel I have stayed in for...... Well EVER!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gchjddbkkgdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel failed to met with your expectations.

As I would advice any guest(s) there is a manager on duty 24 hours per day and had you approached them to inform them that you were unhappy with any aspect of the Hotel, they would have been able to assist you to have a more comfortable and enjoyable stay with us.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Just spent two nights here and found it has good points and bad. The worst is the size of the single beds in a twin room. They were no more than 2 ft 6 in wide making it worrying about turning over and falling out! The rather outdated TV in our room did not work but as we were only there for two nights we didn't bother complaining. The food was very good we thought. At dinner there were four choices of main course and plenty of it. A full English breakfast was offered as well as the usual choice of cereals, fruit, porridge (on request), juice and tea and coffee. The dining room and bar were pleasant enough. Much of the carpeting and curtains could do with being replaced. Our bathroom was small but very clean and adequate. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is situated right in the middle of Birmingham's busy shopping centre. And just behind the Bullring and modern spacious shopping mall. I understand rooms at the front of the hotel can be subject to noise at night but we were at the back and heard no noise at all.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Reet7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review

I can assure you that all of our single beds within the hotel are the size of any standard bed

I will of course pass your kind comments regarding the food onto the chef who I am sure will be delighted with the feedback

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean and comfortable
The corridors and lifts were very warm. Lucky the rooms had windows.
The rooms itself are outdated but clean and practically for one or two nights
The staff are very helpful and friendly and let me check in before 2pm

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Rossuk89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review which will be shared with the rest of the Staff.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I stayed at the Britannia in August 2014. I won't be staying there again. I got a "cheap" deal but despite that I would say it's not good value and not a very pleasant experience.
The hotel itself is dated and tatty although the bar was ok(ish) and they might have bought some new sofas (they smelled new). The common areas, lifts and corridors all smelled of cigarette smoke, all the time. Very unpleasant. The room itself was a single. It was OK size wise but the decor was amazing. All the furniture was knackered and old, so tatty as to look dirty. It looked like it all came from a charity shop (or the stuff the throw out!). Strangly and inappropriate "Athena/Warholesque" picture of Marilyn Monroe on the wall. Round pin plugs (yes really, there was only one proper plug in the room).
The bedding appeared to be clean enough but the bed was the noisiest I have even slept on and creaked throughout the night (and I was sleeping alone!).
Then there was the bathroom. Worn, dirty, dark (perhaps just as well) but the towels were fresh enough.
Breakfast was serve yourself (tinned tomatoes, cold beans, no eggs), which was just as well because there was only one very exasperated lady on duty. The chef disappeared then reappeared then disappeared again. He didn't seem to be enjoying his work very much judging my his surly manor.
I paid under £40 which might seem cheap but it's really not good value. For £19 I stayed in an IBIS Budget hotel the night before which was clean, bright, free WiFi and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
On the plus side The Britannia is very centrally located but then so is the bus station and I'm not going to stay there either.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel failed to met with your expectations.

As I would advice any guest(s) there is a manager on duty 24 hours per day and had you approached them to inform them that you were unhappy with any aspect of the Hotel, they would have been able to assist you to have a more comfortable and enjoyable stay with us.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Staff on reception were helpful. But one gear. Which is slow.
First room we were given. Already has a suitcase and other stuff in it. So we complained and we're moved to room 911 . Which was a much better room. Air con worked great. Bathroom was spotless. Although curtains in room needed cleaning. Floor was clean. Bed was clean. Also bedding g was clean. Nice pillows aswell. Had a fridge in the room which is a bonus. Meant we could get fresh milk for our tea and coffee.
Downside .... The mattress was awful. Couldn't sleep. Tossing and turning all night.
Night porters ? Why are they there. We walked in very late At night . Nothing g. Why not ask. Why not stop.
Good evening sir and madam. How was your night. Evening folks. How are you. Excuse me folks are you guests.
Nothing at all. This is why you get idiots running around the corridors. You pay them a wage. Make them earn it by doing some work.
Over all the hotel is fine . Have stayed here now about 7 times. And luckily gave not met any of the problems that other people have had.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank allen2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly, please accept my sincere apologies that some aspects of your stay did not meet with your expectations – the comments which have been made have been passed onto the relevant departmental managers and I can assure you that improvements will be made where deemed necessary

Thank you for the comments regarding the rest of the Hotel, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
EasyHotel Birmingham
EasyHotel Birmingham
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
561 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#72 of 118 in Birmingham
1,146 reviews
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#96 of 118 in Birmingham
535 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#31 of 118 in Birmingham
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £28 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing