We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #110 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

I know the Birmingham area very well. This is one of a couple of hotels directly on New Street and within seconds of the main shopping areas.

First time I stayed at this hotel we had to moved as the noise from the other rooms coming from the (well/courtyard) was too much.... (it was a weekend).

We ended up in a room with two bathrooms... unusual but it was clearly an accessible room.

The most recent visit, I requested a quiet room, I was offered an internal room on the 9th floor.... to my surprise this room was really nice huge spa bath, flat screen TV and Air Con.

All I say is remember this hotel is smack bang in the city... even the 4 star hotel a hundred meters up the road is going to have the same if not more noise.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan27192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments,I am so pleased to see that the hotel met with your expectations for the purpose of your trip, and we hope to welcome you back again in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    273
    491
    478
    1,110
See reviews for
202
610
290
647
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

PLUSES: Minutes from New St station and at only £25 per night is an incredible deal. Adding breakfast for £5 is also good value - cooked items, fruit, yogurt, toast, cereals etc available.
I booked a single room at this hotel and was given a double, which was lovely. The room was a good size and the bathroom was fine, with a bath and shower. Toiletries were provided, which I was surprised about given the cheap price of the room.

MINUSES: No wifi in rooms, and when I tried to log on in the first floor restaurant, didn't get anywhere and had to go sit in a coffee shop to work. All the appliances that come with the room use an odd-shaped plug and socket that I have never seen before. There was only 1 socket in the room that took a standard plug. So if you needed to charge a phone and a computer at the same time, you couldn't. The walls are thin and if you have noisy neighbours, or they're watching TV etc, that's a bit annoying. I had a room at the back of the hotel, which is supposed to be quieter, but the first of my two-night stay was very noisy - generators etc, not people. Either the second night was quieter or I was too tired to notice. Also, the mattress on the bed was very soft and springy, not in a good way, so if you're middle aged with a dodgy back, this might not be good for you - although other rooms might not be as bad.

OVERALL: Great for the price and convenience. Not so good for middle-aged business travellers. I would stay here again at this price, but not if it were any more expensive.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngcoManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies that certain aspects of the hotel did not meet with your expectations at this time, and thank you for your comments with regards to our excellent value for money and location.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed over night at the Britannia in Birmingham on the 23rd of August. BAD MISTAKE. the Room HAD NOT been cleaned AT ALL. there were crumbs & fluff all over the carpet, pubes in the bath & bed..there was dust all over the furniture including the bath, toilet seat & TV. when we went to check out the lady on reception just held her hand out for the card, didn't even ask how our stay was. I've trid to ring for a refund and can't get through to the hotel. it was VILE! i am warning everybody DO NOT stay at this hotel, it's dirty, noisy, VERY RUDE members of staff, and not worth he money at all. Glad to see im not the only one complaining, this hotel needs new management. absoloute JOKE!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations

As I would advise any guest, should you experience any issues during your stay or wish to raise any concerns you feel should be brought to our attention, there is a Duty Manager available 24 hours per day who will gladly assist you in making your stay a much more comfortable and enjoyable one, enabling you to leave the hotel with a more favourable view.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Old, dated, unfriendly and the photos do not represent the low standard of this place.
I tried to call the hotel to ask for direction as it cannot be reached by road and tried and tried and tried.....nobody picking up phone. When I finnaly walked to it wiyh my suitcases (10 minites) I was told that they have a deal with a car park where they only knew the post code. When I entered this into my gps it could not be found.
At 23:30 arrived back to hotel only to be told bar is closed even for residents.
The room was dirty and the shower a mess
Only one friendly lady in this horrible place. A young friendly girl call Gemma.
Never again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolyholys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel failed to met with your expectations.

As I would advice any guest(s) there is a manager on duty 24 hours per day and had you approached them to inform them that you were unhappy with any aspect of the Hotel, they would have been able to assist you to have a more comfortable and enjoyable stay with us.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The location in the town centre is 2minutes walk to new st station which is great but the rooms are poor, worse than an average budget seaside B&B and more like student halls at the end of a year. If all you want is somewhere to crash out then its just about ok. So as long as your expectations are very low you wont be disappointed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel did not meet with your expectations

Your comments will be passed onto the relevant departmental managers for improvements to be made where deemed necessary

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

This has got to be the worse hotel I have ever stayed, it is absolutely filthy. The carpets are threadbare, the TV in the room was like something out of the antiques roadshow, bathroom a total disgrace. All decor has probably been in place since 1962. The only decent aspect was the the location, however you get deals in other hotels that reflect much better value. Only stayed one night, if any longer I would have moved out.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 276satex123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel failed to met with your expectations.

As I would advice any guest(s) there is a manager on duty 24 hours per day and had you approached them to inform them that you were unhappy with any aspect of the Hotel, they would have been able to assist you to have a more comfortable and enjoyable stay with us.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I would never stay again. Everything was terrible! Incredibly noisy, the walls are so thin you can hear every room, the street noise was ridiculous, all night! The room was dirty, and liked like it hadn't been cleaned, thankfully the sheets were clean! The bed was beyond uncomfortable! And even the tea in the room was disgusting! On initial arrival I said to my wife it liked like the kind of place you cod book a room by the hour! I could not recommend this hotel even if you got a bargain proceed, the worst hotel I have stayed in for...... Well EVER!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gchjddbkkgdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel failed to met with your expectations.

As I would advice any guest(s) there is a manager on duty 24 hours per day and had you approached them to inform them that you were unhappy with any aspect of the Hotel, they would have been able to assist you to have a more comfortable and enjoyable stay with us.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#97 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#62 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
The Briar Rose Hotel
The Briar Rose Hotel
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#34 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Property: Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing