We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, shabby hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #109 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, shabby hotel”
Reviewed 24 April 2006

me and my boyfriend stayed here for just one night in April (thank god)

We went at twelve to see if we could check in, they said come back at two. We came back at two and the room still wasn't ready, so they said come back in half an hour.
When we eventually got the key, we checked into the darkest room I've ever been in.

Just a few of the delights on offer were:
peeling wallpaper
threadbare carpet
the metal off the lift peeling off (i know)
and a beautiful curly pube in the bathtub.

The film Ice Age was on the tele before we went out for the night, which was ironic, seeing as thats where the TV looked like it came from.

I think the pictures on the walls had been there since the building had been built.

The walls are also really thin and we got woke up at four in the morning by our neighbours laughing and shouting, and running up and down the corridor outside.

On the plus side, the location is fab - very handy.

Birmingham is a brilliant city for a weekend break with loads to do, great shopping, nightlife and culture.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gemlcoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    277
    500
    487
    1,158
See reviews for
211
633
296
665
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 730 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2006

Admittedly my stay here was over 2 years ago and the consequence of a 4 night stay ended up with my own Company ending all dealings with this establishment. It is a disgrace.

Located outside New Street rail station on a pedestrianised shopping street smack bang in the middle of Birmingham you may think it worth booking for convenience. But what you will find is a complete mess of a hotel, with poor staff, smelly public areas, dirty shabby rooms, cheap and dust ridden beds, an unnatractive restaurant with terrible food and people walking around on all floors, many of who are non-residents of the hotel.

I encountered kids playing outside my room, prostitutes prying the entrance, drug pushers in the lobby and on one of the evenings sat down for dinner and was told the chef had gone sick.

I cannot stress enough the importance of NOT staying here, it should be demolished and turned into a shopping complex - because Birmingham has an excellent shopping culture that just keeps on growing.

Britannia Hotel owners....pay a visit to the Radisson SAS to see what a real hotel is.

  • Stayed March 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chris036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
168 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2006

The best thing about the hotel is that it is in the heart of the city, only a few minutes from the train station.

The room was on the smaller side but the bathroom was OK and clean. I thought there were one or two cleanliness issues, the kettle seemed to have a lot of dirt on it and the curtains had quite a few holes in them, but the bed was reasonably comfortable. Despite the room facing out onto the main shopping street, we had little disruption from noise.

The staff were very helpful, especially at breakfast. The breakfast food was OK, plenty of cereal and hot food but felt like it had been sitting around for a bit long. OK if the breakfast is included but not worth the £10.50 asking price.

I would stay there again, if only for the location but would look for other options first.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrrfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2006

On arrival at midday were told rudely that was no check in till 2:30. Returning at 2:30 were then told we had no reservations and the hotel was full. No one was interested to look at the booking confirmaion we had and again we were rudely told that we were not on their system so we didn't have a booking. When we didn't just go away as they obviously hoped, we were sent to wait in the smoky upstairs bar and were eventually assigned a room, at higher cost than our original booking.

The room was shabby and not entirely clean, no ceiling lights, window opening onto a brick wall opposite obviously designed to keep the room so dark and gloomy that you wouldn't be able to see how scruffy and dirty everything was. One bath towel between 2 people, TV clearly purchased in 1972, milk off, itchy blankets, threadbare bedsheets, stains on pillow slips, grotty toilet. I could go on and on.

The hotel itself is generally dirty, shabby and in need of major renovation. One lift out of order, stair carpet threadbare and stuck with chewing gum until it runs out entirely from floor 1 downwards. Wallpaper and paint are peeling from the walls and there are building materials left lying around, though no sign of anything being built or repaired.


We left after a miserable 3 night stay and were disgusted when paying an extortionate 465 quid bill they had the cheek to charge us a pound a bag to leave our luggage for a couple of hours until our train left.

I have no idea how this hotel achieved a 3 * rating. They charge top price for very low budget style accomodation. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank talullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 March 2006

A few friends and I wanted to meet up at a central location where we could go out and have a meal and a few drinks, so we decided on Birmingham and this hotel.

First impressions - horrible. Literally laughably dated rooms (we all found it very amusing anyway) and everything was either scruffy or falling to bits. We were only staying for one night, so just decided to put up with it.

When we got back from our night out, one of the doors was slightly open (we were in 3 adjacent rooms). We had all checked and double checked before we went out that nothing was left open, so we thought it was odd. We'd had a few beers, so figured it must have been the cleaner and no harm was done.

The next day, things got worse. My car ticket had gone, my friend's IPOD had gone and worse still, so had his car keys! We started to panic a bit and reported it to the desk (who weren't very interested) and the police were notified. In the mean time, we checked for the car in the car park and it was GONE! Luckily, I'd taken my car keys out with me as I'd just spent 25k on a new car a few weeks before!!!

When the police arrived, there was another girl who was staying on the same floor who had the same story to tell, but she'd had her mobile phone stolen. There were no signs of forced entry, so it looked like an INSIDE JOB. The police said it wasn't the first time this had happened either.

Great night out, but a terrible hotel. I'll never go their again and I hope this advises anyone else to avoid it too!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2006

The reception area didnt seem to be to bad but the room was very shabby and uninviting.
The location is great, but there are much nicer, cleaner, better decorated/furnished hotels in the area that this for almost half the price.

  • Stayed October 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mit_and_biny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2006

The Britannia Hotel was very centrally located in a pedestrianised area of the city centre. Here ends the positive aspect of this hotel. Room - grotty. Service - adequate. Food - school canteen standard. Give this a miss!

  • Stayed October 2003, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#97 of 117 in Birmingham
506 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
222 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#63 of 117 in Birmingham
1,069 reviews
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Property: Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing