We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't believe the hype”
Review of Great Barr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Barr Hotel
Ranked #84 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We booked this hotel before reading the reviews - so we went there thinking it was going to be a right dump. The reception looked clean, tidy and professional - which is normally to disguise the crap rooms - but the room was perfectly adequate - clean warm dry, 32" telly

so maybe the bar was going ro be awful - but it wasn't - it was lively, decent prices, loads of atmosphere - like a proper pub

then we thought the breakfast was going to be a let down - but even that was brilliant - a clean bright restaurant, decent food, efficient staff

all in all this hotel was only a let down in that we were expecting it to be terrible and it was actually very good indeed - are you reading this Jackie Stoneham?

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevej1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

I only booked this hotel because all the big chain hotels were full in the area due to bad experiances in birmingham in the past. When i arrived there were 3 people in front of me at check in with two members of staff and the owner on the desk. I could sense something was wrong when it took nearly 15 minutes for me to be seen with lots of room changes for the people in front.

When i was served they said there was no singles left and i would have to pay another £20 for a double. I refused and showed them the confirmation email from laterooms confirming an advance payment room and it stated the contract was with me and the hotel. The hotel said this was not the case and i would have to pay extra or i could go somewhere else. They then said there where no doubles left and i would have to get a superior double for even more. At this point i rang late rooms and told the hotel they where in breach of contract and had to give me a room at the original cost.

Late rooms were very helpfull and rang the hotel straight away. I could hear them being told they had to give me a room for the originalk cost. Eventually they did give me the room, but only after being threatened off late rooms.

The best was yet to come, in the morning when i went to check out the owner had decided to charge me an extra £60 on the invoice. He did not take the payment but put it on like it was to be taken. The receptionist relised what he had done andf appoligisied for his behavior. By the way the receptoinist was this must happen quite a lot.

Trading standards should look in to this practice by this hotel as i was not the only person who he tried to charge extra for a pre booked room while i was in the lobby. One person payed the extra as it was on his company.

The kitchen seemed a shambles as well. The chef came into the lobby as there where lots of people going to the restaurant just before they were about to close. I didnt try the food.

The room even though large was not of the best quality. The bathroom had dirty vents and old holes in the edge of the bath that had not been filled.

Just not worth the hassle

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jcsb36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

A very conveniently positioned hotel, good restaurant and bar. Rooms a little tired, ground floor corridor smelt of damp. Good WiFi connection throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank LabrettaMod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We had our wedding reception here on the 30th of july 2011, we had high hopes for the hotel but was terrlby let down, It was very disorganised to say the least, just a few examples at what went wrong. When we came to do the line up to enter for the wedding breakfast. the wedding host was meant to introduce but was no where to be seen, Then after sitting down for 5-10 minutes the best man started tapped his glass as the wedding host was still no where to be seen. and the sppeches started. They did not bring the champage in for the speeches until after they have all finished which was very upsetting as that made any kind of toast go out the water. We were sat in the room which was extremly hot. They made no attempt to bring any water to the tables until the maid of honor asked them for some ice water. when they did pour any drinks they did not start with the bride and groom. When it came to serving the meal ther was only 2-3 members of staff serving us so half of us was eating while the other half waited, we ordered 2 childs meal and 1 vedetarian meal which came last. they gave the children the adults deserts which left 2 adults without. I became so hot in the room I had to leave before the coffees were served when i came back everyone was downstairs they didnot even think to offer the coffees there. The rom it self was half set up for the wedding breakfast and the other half with the tables for the evening reception which just made the room look awful. The evening reception was just as bad, we had 1 barmaid which kept running out of stuff so had to go downstairs, half way through the night there was no ice left at all. The wedding dance was meant to take place after the buffet opened at 9. but the buffet was 30 minutes late in opening. So we didnt have a first dance to nearly 10.30pm which at that point was far to late. I bought a vase with me to put my bouquet in as they do not provide any, at the end of the night we left it in the room to be told everything would be put in the other room, but the vase never appeared there, when we asked the hotle about the vase they basically called us liars and the bouquet was put in a pint glass. We are so upset and feel the hotel have had there money so do not care now.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are extremly hot they need air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

It was my sisters wedding reception an they couldn't organise a p up in a brewery. In the reception were we ate our food it must of been 40 degrees with no air con or even the common sense of bringing water round to the tables without being harassed by sweating red faced guest absolute disgrace would strongly advise for your money to go else were as is expensive and you would get a much much higher rate of service else were

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cookz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My daughter and son in law had their wedding reception at this hotel on 30th July 2011 - many things went wrong. We have written an email to the Managing Director on 1st August 2011 listing the problems we encountered on the day to give him a chance of an explanation - as this has still not been answered [4 days later]or any contact made with us. I will warn other couples not to waste their money on a hotel that gives such a poor service both during and after the wedding

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happygolucky65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I stay here because it is a convenient location and offers the basic needs of a business hotel at a good price

The hotel has lots of single rooms which help keep costs under control with free wi-fi and breakfast incl
Whilst the facilities may not be four star etc the hotel offers good value for money and i will stay at this hotel in the future

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank SalesEngineer06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
2.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham West
11.5 mi away
Westmead Hotel
Westmead Hotel
#45 of 118 in Birmingham
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall
2.1 mi away
Travelodge West Bromwich hotel
Travelodge West Bromwich hotel
#3 of 5 in West Bromwich
32 reviews
8.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Barr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Barr Hotel

Address: Newton Road Pear Tree Drive, Birmingham B43 6HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £54 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Barr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Great Barr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Barr Birmingham
Hotel Great Barr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing