We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work Conference”
Review of Great Barr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Barr Hotel
Ranked #83 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I attended a 2 day conference at the Great Barr Hotel. Good selection of food at both breakfast, lunch and dinner. Coffee and biscuits served throughout the day. The reception areas and conferene rooms were of a good standard but the rooms were not. They were small and of a 'student' quality!! Very basic, single beds, small bathroom which had a sliding door and wasn't overly clean. It had a load extractor fan so that when you turned the light on it sounded as if the whole room was going to explode!

Room Tip: I think the family rooms were of a better standard than the single rooms. It would be worth paying m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 985lianb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

we stayed here for one night as we were attending a weeding here the wedding was amazing and the food was great .had a lovley breakfast to finish our stay would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reynods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Got a room thro a website for half price £30 for a night, breakfast included. Must be a bargain. Ideal for attending to the meeting there the next day. No gym of pool or sauna. I drove out to Birmingham for dinner so, that helps.
The bar at the hotel closes promptly at 11:00 PM. Kinda unusual as most other hotels would accomodate the guests if they wish to continue to use the bar.
I had a single room which has one ceiling light and the trouser press not working. I was told by receptionist that the iron and ironing bordr would be brought to my room tomorrow. Luckily the night manager brought one up the same night. Car park is great. Plenty of spaces.
Breakfast is very good considering
Conference facilities is very good with self help coffee in the foyer/lounge

Room Tip: Ask for the manager as the receptionists are not so helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m888lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Lovely friendly staff, dinner was a bit slow coming but once they realised we hadn't been served the staff could,t do enough. The weekend was a valentine surprise and everything was perfect. The receptionist was friendly and very professional and the breakfast staff where very helpful and efficient in making sure everyone had drinks as soon as they sat at tables. The suite was wonderful, clean and more than our expectations. WELL DONE TO ALL YOUR STAFF THAT WEEKEND WE WILL BE RETURNING SOON.

Room Tip: The wedge wood was suite was very spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine201211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I was here for a week on business and so was booked into the conference rooms for lunches and evening meals. I enjoyed a good main course meal on the Sunday night, but do not go for the chocolate icecream to finish...no taste! We had a really poor meal on the Monday. They were serving ten of us...some of the meals were cold, some uncooked and some overcooked.
The food improved in the evening for the rest of the week after a complaint to the manager.
I asked for an ironing board and iron..the ironing board had no cover and so was given a sheet to cover it. The iron did not work properly and parts fell off.
The room was kept clean but a broken glass tile has been there for a while.
The highlight was a friendly breakfast waitress..thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

i have been at this hotel on business for a week and i can't find too much to complain about, the first evening meal was a bit of a let down however the meals have been excellent the rest of the time, the receptionist more than helpful, the room staff were very good, polite and helpful. The lady at breakfast lightens and brightens the day with her chit chat. the bar is excellent value and nice atmosphere. the room was warm, clean, big. big T.V, plenty tea, coffee, i feel that it was good value for money.

Room Tip: i was solo however i think looking at the pictures you would be much more comfortable like i was in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We booked this hotel before reading the reviews - so we went there thinking it was going to be a right dump. The reception looked clean, tidy and professional - which is normally to disguise the crap rooms - but the room was perfectly adequate - clean warm dry, 32" telly

so maybe the bar was going ro be awful - but it wasn't - it was lively, decent prices, loads of atmosphere - like a proper pub

then we thought the breakfast was going to be a let down - but even that was brilliant - a clean bright restaurant, decent food, efficient staff

all in all this hotel was only a let down in that we were expecting it to be terrible and it was actually very good indeed - are you reading this Jackie Stoneham?

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevej1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#76 of 118 in Birmingham
86 reviews
Westmead Hotel
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#73 of 118 in Birmingham
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Barr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Barr Hotel

Address: Newton Road Pear Tree Drive, Birmingham B43 6HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £52 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Barr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Great Barr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Barr Birmingham
Hotel Great Barr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing