We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 day break”
Review of Great Barr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Great Barr Hotel
Ranked #88 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
funchal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“3 day break”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

would like to say enjoyed all 3 day stay. staff very friendly rooms clean and tidy,beds comfy,after reading some reviews on hotel thought we were at different place. you are not paying 5star prices, but got very good treatment, breakfast was a full english. bus stop just round corner. went into birmingham on the bus left car at hotel very easy We. had a full day at black country museam that was well worth a visit, we are both O A Ps. but found it very easy to get arround. every body we spoke to was very friendly.Also went to broad street on the canals you would have thought you were abroad not birmingham. smashing time will go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanalec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thankyou for your lovely comments it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    88
    67
    44
    62
See reviews for
71
79
24
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I have been staying in various hotels around Birmingham for business some disgusting some good. I needed somewhere I could grab a bite to eat in the evening and have a couple of pints as well. The Great Barr ticks all the boxes,Especially when I booking through kayak fantastic prices. Staff All very friendly. Choice of bar meals or sit down in the restaraunt (slightly higher prices than bar). Breakfast is spot on. Single room clean and tidy with trouser press. Bathrooms clean no problems with hot water etc etc. have stayed there over past 3 weeks and booked in for all of next week.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazmc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure to have you at The Great Barr Hotel. Look forward to seeing you again soon. With best wishes from all at The Great Barr Hotel

Helen Wilson Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This was our second stay at the Great Barr Hotel and we chose it because it is in close proximity to family that we wished to visit and represents very good value for money. The room we stayed in actually exceded the one we stayed in during our first visit and was more than adequate for our four day stay. We ate breakfasts which were very appetising with something to suit all tastes. All the staff were efficient and friendly and all in all the hotel makes a good base when you want somewhere to stay when in North Birmingham.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank PAUL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure to have you at The Great Barr Hotel.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at The Great Barr Hotel


Helen Wilson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We reserved 2 rooms on a Friday night a few weeks ago. Both rooms smelled musty and in a shabby, dirty state. As soon as we entered the room, 2 spiders on the ceiling caught our eyes. As we walked towards the window (clearly left open to air the musty smell of the room), we saw 2 more spiders fixed to the curtain, they weren't moving and looked as though they had taken root! When we went to the other room reserved for a relative, we found they had trapped 1 spider under a teacup to prevent it travelling further on the bed!

We were made to pay the full amount of both rooms on arrival, before we had even seen the rooms. The porter must have known what was in store for us! Dirty hotel, customer service non-existent! Don't go there! Saw a lady the next day who had spent the same night there as us, much to our surprise, she had the same experience!

No surprises to hear that we won't be returning to this dirty, musty smelling hotel!

Room Tip: The 100 rooms ar down a smelly corridor near the exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
As previously advised when you contacted us, rooms cannot be protected from spiders or any insects as the bedroom wing overlooks the garden. All our bedrooms are checked daily by the Head Housekeeper.
You had failed to mention that once you had made a complaint, we accommodated you with another bedroom which you accepted. We have also offered you a refund which you have failed to reply to. I believe the reason you were asked to pay for the rooms on check-in was due to the fact that you did not have a credit card for pre-authorisation and this is a standard procedure in the industry. In view of the above, your comments are misleading and grossly unfair.

Helen Wilson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed here whilst on a two day conference and was very pleased we had picked this hotel.All facilities excelent.The rooms tidy and adequate and the staff were brilliant.We had a great conference and i will recommend this hotel to my friends.The breakfast was delicious and they kept us in tea and biscuits all day.Brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidHarefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed here when visiting the NEC which was 20mins or so away.
Location was nice, tucked away with a Harvester resturant 10mins down the road.

Good bits!
Room was clean, nicely presented.
Reception was lovely.
Plenty of free parking.
Quiet location.

Bad bits..
When heating came on at 5AM!! - VERY VERY noisy!! Constant tapping, we stayed in 318
Told breakfast was at 7am, BF likes cooked none of this cereal rubbish so to be told the chef didnt start till 8am was abit strange... double check and yes 8am cooked breaky would be served. wasnt a major issue but if we were stuck for time BF would have kicked off!
Also toilet made strange banging noises every now and again!

Other than that... it was ok. i paid £51 through Olohotels B&B per night. I wouldnt have paid much more.

Room Tip: Go completely opposite to room 318!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyjo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My partner and I stayed here for two nights whilst taking in a football match. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the bathroom had a bath and shower which pleased my partner as he enjoys a good soak.The young girl on reception could not have been more helpful, she really went out of her way for us. The staff in the bar were also very friendly and helpful as was the lady who served breakfast. The food was very good and also reasonably priced. The bar is very cosy with some leather couches and an open fire. We only paid £18.50 each per night to include a full english breakfast, what fantastic value. We would not hesitate to stay here again and would certainly reccommend it.
There is a very nice carvery pub/restaurant just around the corner which is also excellent value, it is called The Malt Shovel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clar1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Westmead Hotel
#48 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#77 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Park Hotel
#96 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Barr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Barr Hotel

Property: Great Barr Hotel
Address: Newton Road Pear Tree Drive, Birmingham B43 6HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Barr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Great Barr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Barr Birmingham
Hotel Great Barr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing