We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful Service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Barr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Great Barr Hotel
Ranked #86 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Awful Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Went here with friend for a coffee one morning, took us forever to find anyone to serve us. Then had to wait even longer for our coffee. As for paying we could have just walked out ! What an abysmal place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBHotelBirmingham, General Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thankyou for your review, your comments have been noted it .

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    86
    64
    42
    60
See reviews for
69
77
23
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I booked the Great Barr Hotel for a small birthday party at short notice, having never ben there before (I live in Peterborough, but wanted somewhere in West Brom/B'ham for family living locally to get to/central location), and Karen Moore the Events Manager was nothing but professional and helpful from start to finish. Again, DJ booked at last minute. Karen suggested the resident DJs, Jan and Mal. I thought £250 was a bit pricey, till I did some research and discovered that was average. I got into the room to decorate it, and thought it needed a lick of paint. At least one tablecloth had a hole in, and some of the chairs were stained. However, that might just be me being pernickety, as once all the decorations were up, it looked great. The party went brilliantly, and the DJs made a big contribution to the party atmosphere. Come time to cut my birthday cake, however, I was given a table knife...a bit comical. Maybe it was because there was a wedding on at the same time and they'd run out of cake knives....? All the bedrooms were very smart, well decorated and clean. All the other guests who stayed over said the same. So, on the whole, the hotel, service and accommodation get a big thumbs up from me, and I would recommend it to friends. Whoever handed over a table knife to cut a birthday cake is either a joker or a bit dim... But a BIG thank you to Karen, Jan and Mal, and all at the Great Barr Hotel xxx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thankyou for your review, your comments have been noted it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Went here for 50th wedding anniversary. The food could have been better then it was it was okay but that's it. Service was not good Drinks were very very expensive!!! my hubby had a pint of lemonade it had loads of ice in it did not ask for the ice but got it any way. My hubby did not want to make a fuss as it was a 50th Anniversary party... we did not stop the night so can't tell you about the rooms. we did go in to the bar looks like it could do with a good make over.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellings17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Thankyou for your review, your comments have been noted it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

A group of 16 of us stayed here for my 'sten' do and we had a fantastic night. It was an Abba tribute evening and was organised by my 'best woman'. The rooms were modern, very clean and the bathrooms really spacious and new. We all received a bottle of champagne in our rooms to set the evening off :-)). We were allowed to dress our table up to reflect the evening and all the staff were really helpful and friendly. The food was really decent and choice was great.
We all dressed in 'abba/70s' outfits which went own brilliantly and I cannot stress enough how good the tribute band were!!!
Next morning we had a very acceptable breakfast to send us on our way.
All in all in was just a fantastic nights entertainment and for £64.50 each the value was exceptional.
I have stayed in some very expensive and luxurious hotels in my time and not enjoyed myself as much so would I stay here again?? Definitely. Well done Great Barr Hotel on providing a good priced evening of entertainment

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LloydMason-Edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thankyou for your lovely comments it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

My story starts at the booking stage. We were attending a wedding & accidentally booked this hotel, instead of the GB Holiday Inn. The hotel refused to allow us to cancel, even though we phoned 2 minutes after making the booking, which I thought was grossly desperate of them! Anyway, we tried to speak to the Manager, who refused to come on the phone so we ended up going so as no to loose our money! On Arrival we were greeted with: "You are the people that complained!", to which I said yes! The hotel seemed deserted, apart from the various bucket dotted around the reception, collecting water from the leaky roof. Apparently we one of 5 guests of their capacity of 80 & we were intentionally put in the smallest double room, in the entire hotel - we were told this by the night porter, who showed us some other rooms, which had not been made up!
,

Room Tip: Think twice about booking here! There are double rooms that feel like double, & there are single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Armsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
The rate booked was a discounted pre pay rate, terms and conditions are clearly stated that it is a non refundable non transferable price plan. If a mistake was made whilst booking it is not up to the hotel to amend its policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed here on business recently and was charged £75/night. The website makes it look much nicer than it is.
The single room was disappointing, extremely basic and old; reminded myself of days at university in some grotty halls. The shower hardly worked also.
Room service, the burger was extremely cheap & nasty and to be charged over £10 was ridiculous especially for a hotel 25mins outside of the centre.
Im not sure how you can justify £75 night, there are much better b&b`s around for that price range. The breakfast was also disappointing, with not much fruit choice even though the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mct10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thankyou for your comments, we are dissapointed that you found your stay with us not enjoyable the room that you had booked was our standard single room. However, we have higher grades of room available such as Club Rooms but during the peak exhibition periods our room rates do vary as dictated by the demand. Your comments about the beefburger have been noted and we have also made our supplier aware of this.

Assuring you of our best attention
Kind Regards
Great Barr Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Myself, husband and two children (10 and 7) stayed here on a return to our home town for a family visit. We booked on a late deal basis so it was good value for money. Close to the M6 and in a very pretty part of West Brom/Great Barr. Husband had been a night porter here several years ago and my brother-in-law also worked here years before that. The reception staff were friendly (tho a little unprofessional later in the evening when wedding/70th bday party guests were milling around waiting for taxis). The bar area was very welcoming and cosy. The bedroom was large and accommodated our family of 4 easily. The bathroom was large. A few hooks on doors would be useful to hang up coats. We didn't eat at the hotel and this is where the disappointment comes in. Upon checking in we were advised of the cost of breakfast - £12.95! This is far too expensive ... especially when pub next door offers full English for £4! We would have liked to have had a bar snack on Sunday early evening but we were advised there were no kitchen staff so instead we spent our money in shop round the corner. Think the hotel could perhaps charge less for brekky or offer "kids eat free" incentives and, if the kitchen is unstaffed, let guests know this in advance please! As we were only 1 of 2 guests in the whole hotel, with only 1 guest expected on bank holiday Monday, I can see why the kitchen staff were having a break but communication is the key. We will return and stay again!

Room Tip: Family room may be 2x double beds which may not be suitable for older children unwilling to sleep t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeAt40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thankyou for your lovely comments it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Westmead Hotel
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#74 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#57 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Barr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Barr Hotel

Property: Great Barr Hotel
Address: Newton Road Pear Tree Drive, Birmingham B43 6HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Barr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Great Barr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Barr Birmingham
Hotel Great Barr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing