We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Disappointments”
Review of Great Barr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Barr Hotel
Ranked #83 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 14 October 2013

After the all the promises made by the wedding planner the help they actually gave on the day was minimal. Thank goodness for friends that got the reception room organised.Restaurant/Bar meals dreadful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

We have noted the comments in your review. We regret that your expectations were not met on this occasion.

From all at the Great Barr Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Was here for a friends wedding reception. My room was freezing through out the stay as heating was never on in my room. As soon as you walked in to my single room there was a fusty smell. There was no light bulb in my light above my bed, I could also feel the springs digging in from the mattress. Not very good overall.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lei1898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thankyou for your review, your comments have been noted it . We look forward to seeing you again soon. With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Me and my wife recently had a wedding reception at the hotel. This had been planned for a year and we had a large amount of family staying at the hotel. My wife and her aunt had both rang up on separate occasions to tell the hotel to expect a large amount of people on the evening before for food in the bar/restaurant.

To our dismay there was only one chef on who turned around eventually and said "no more orders" when there was people still eating. People eventually got told it would be an hour and half wait for food. The quality on the next hand was extremely hit and miss, the seafood linguine was missing ingredients (green beans) and was very dry. The mushroom wellington had sliced mushroom instead of a large whole mushroom and had zero pastry whatsoever. Others had many complaints and the majority of my family had to walk out and get a refund and find somewhere else to eat. How it takes an hour and half to prepare a tuna baked potato to come out is beyond me aswell. Eventually refunds was given but this is an utter farce. Surely you could prepare just from looking at the amount of people staying in the hotel in the evening but apparently not. We was also told we would be given the "star treatment" the next day which just consisted of a few nibbles of bits and bobs on arrival post wedding. Very very very unhappy and will be pursuing our complaint further.

The receptionist on the night who was duty manager giving her credit did her best to try resolve our issues although this was overshadowed by the attitude of the so called restaurant manager for the evening who was vile.

Would never recommend anyone hold a reception for a wedding here.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary_Ratcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

We have noted the comments in your review. We regret that your expecttions were not met on this occasion.

Great Barr Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Went here with friend for a coffee one morning, took us forever to find anyone to serve us. Then had to wait even longer for our coffee. As for paying we could have just walked out ! What an abysmal place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBHotelBirmingham, General Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thankyou for your review, your comments have been noted it .

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I booked the Great Barr Hotel for a small birthday party at short notice, having never ben there before (I live in Peterborough, but wanted somewhere in West Brom/B'ham for family living locally to get to/central location), and Karen Moore the Events Manager was nothing but professional and helpful from start to finish. Again, DJ booked at last minute. Karen suggested the resident DJs, Jan and Mal. I thought £250 was a bit pricey, till I did some research and discovered that was average. I got into the room to decorate it, and thought it needed a lick of paint. At least one tablecloth had a hole in, and some of the chairs were stained. However, that might just be me being pernickety, as once all the decorations were up, it looked great. The party went brilliantly, and the DJs made a big contribution to the party atmosphere. Come time to cut my birthday cake, however, I was given a table knife...a bit comical. Maybe it was because there was a wedding on at the same time and they'd run out of cake knives....? All the bedrooms were very smart, well decorated and clean. All the other guests who stayed over said the same. So, on the whole, the hotel, service and accommodation get a big thumbs up from me, and I would recommend it to friends. Whoever handed over a table knife to cut a birthday cake is either a joker or a bit dim... But a BIG thank you to Karen, Jan and Mal, and all at the Great Barr Hotel xxx

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Thankyou for your review, your comments have been noted it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Went here for 50th wedding anniversary. The food could have been better then it was it was okay but that's it. Service was not good Drinks were very very expensive!!! my hubby had a pint of lemonade it had loads of ice in it did not ask for the ice but got it any way. My hubby did not want to make a fuss as it was a 50th Anniversary party... we did not stop the night so can't tell you about the rooms. we did go in to the bar looks like it could do with a good make over.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank wellings17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Thankyou for your review, your comments have been noted it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

A group of 16 of us stayed here for my 'sten' do and we had a fantastic night. It was an Abba tribute evening and was organised by my 'best woman'. The rooms were modern, very clean and the bathrooms really spacious and new. We all received a bottle of champagne in our rooms to set the evening off :-)). We were allowed to dress our table up to reflect the evening and all the staff were really helpful and friendly. The food was really decent and choice was great.
We all dressed in 'abba/70s' outfits which went own brilliantly and I cannot stress enough how good the tribute band were!!!
Next morning we had a very acceptable breakfast to send us on our way.
All in all in was just a fantastic nights entertainment and for £64.50 each the value was exceptional.
I have stayed in some very expensive and luxurious hotels in my time and not enjoyed myself as much so would I stay here again?? Definitely. Well done Great Barr Hotel on providing a good priced evening of entertainment

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank LloydMason-Edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thankyou for your lovely comments it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#77 of 118 in Birmingham
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
#107 of 118 in Birmingham
524 reviews
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Barr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Barr Hotel

Address: Newton Road Pear Tree Drive, Birmingham B43 6HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £60 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Barr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Great Barr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Barr Birmingham
Hotel Great Barr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing