We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“girlso night out”
Review of Great Barr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Barr Hotel
Ranked #89 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“girlso night out”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I came to the great barr hotel for a tribute night and meal. The band 'Jersey Boys' were excellent and the disco after was great all our favourite tunes! The meal however was for me very average.I had loin of pork herb roasted with shallot gravy. The pork looked like the frozen ones that you buy from farm foods only been slightly thicker the 'herb roasted' didnt even seem to exist and shallot gravy was no me just standard gravy. The starter prawn cocktail was nice. Unfortunately I was unlucky enough to find a hair embedded in the pork which did put me off the whole meal.

Room Tip: So far as tribute nights and music a very good night but the food lets you down severely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we have noted your comments.
It is regrettable that you did not bring the matter to our attention at the time as I am sure we would have been able to resolve the issue promptly. Following on from this, we have informed the staff who were on duty the night of your grievance and they apologise for any upset this may have caused you.

We are glad to note that you thoroughly enjoyed our entertainment! Please do join us again and should you have a problem, do not hesitate to advise the staff who are always willing to help our guests.

Kind regards, Great Barr Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    93
    67
    44
    63
See reviews for
73
80
24
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We went to the Great Barr Hotel on New Years Eve to a Disco and Buffet. The waitresses/waters and bar staff were very obliging, and when I asked one female member of staff if they had a chair with arms for even for one our party as this gave him support to get up easier than a chair without arms, she straight away went and looked for one and brought is up to us. The buffet and disco was very well organised, tables were decorated with hats, party poppers etc. We stayed over night, and when we went down to breakfast the next morning the same staff were working and again provided an excellent service, there was a very wide choice for breakfast, and when I asked for more coffee, there was no hesitation in bringing this out for me. The bar closed for about 10 minutes or so to enable the staff to toast in the new year. We also had a drink in the bar at this hotel on New Years day, which was very comfortable and relaxing. overall this was an excellent stay. would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Over all my experience was good, I was however a little disappointed by the very limited room service, and once a service charge was added a soda can cost you £4.50, excusing the room service it was good value for money, surprisingly quiet despite the very busy maid road and the cleaning staff are lovely!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri-Tomx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Myself, hubby and two children stayed here as we were visiting family for Christmas. Stayed here before. It's a good hotel but we were disappointed by few things. On check in we were not offered breakfast in morning. It may be that it wasn't available being xmas day but the subject was avoided by staff. We found underwear from previous occupant beside the bed which made us question level of cleaning. The bathroom door is in desperate need of oiling. As always however the staff are very friendly. Unless family rooms can provide single beds for the children we won't be staying again - they're too big and old to share a sofa bed.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeAt40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thankyou for your review, the rate booked was a specially discounted family rate on a room only basis, breakfast was available at an additional charge which you were advised of.

We have noted your comments about the housekeeping issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Barr, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Went to the Great Barr hotel today for a Christmas meal with the family. We were in a large group of 27 and the staff coped well with our large group. Food was good and the staff were excellent. Having read some of the previous reviews I was a little dubious about this venue. Just goes to show that you sometimes have to give things a chance and judge them for yourself.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thankyou for your review, it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wednesbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here for a friends wedding in August.We had no running water or lights in our room.We were told to phone the manager Helen as she deals with refunds.4 months later and several phonecalls later we are still being told she is waiting for a response from head office and can't give us their number as it's private.This issue is dragging on.Do not stay here if you require any aftercare.The hotel itself is old and dated and we did not enjoy our stay at all

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed over last night with my friend in a family room for a works party. The room was big plenty if room for a group & or family. It was clean & cosy which is what i look for. The Food & entertainment were brilliant would stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank moggy5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thankyou for your lovely comments it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel and we are pleased to hear you had a great time .We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#77 of 117 in Birmingham
73 reviews
Edgbaston
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
#106 of 117 in Birmingham
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Barr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Barr Hotel

Property: Great Barr Hotel
Address: Newton Road Pear Tree Drive, Birmingham B43 6HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Barr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Great Barr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Barr Birmingham
Hotel Great Barr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing