We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff”
Review of Great Barr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Barr Hotel
Ranked #86 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Very good staff, clean, tidy room and nice breakfast.
The hotel is a bit tatty & in need of a lick of paint .... but a comfortable stay.
Arrived late which was no problem & staff very helpful with bags.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alibob66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
There are newer reviews for Great Barr Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed here for one night in a single room. The room was comfortable even though compact with a great en suite bathroom, freeview tv, tea and coffee making equipment.
Bed was so comfortable I was asleep in minutes.
Bar area was warm and cosy and the restaurant was great. Buffet for breakfast with the most amazing sausages and everything was very fresh.
A perfect stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karamia8170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Visited this hoyle on Friday 7th March 2014 for a George Michael tribute night
I was part of a party of 12 and had been to the same tribute night last year
I would say good value for money
Food very basic and a bit tasteless
Was not happy to have been kept waiting till after 10pm for George to come on
I am aware that it is normally between 9 and 9.30pm that the tribute act comes on but to be kept waiting till after 10pm made us all wander if this was a ploy to try have you buy more drinks
George was excellent and a very good performance.
Felt like we was being watched by a man at the door in a pink tie, not sure what his role is.
The waitresses work very hard and efficient.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here at the weekend as we were in the area visiting family. It was a lot nicer than expected after reading the reviews. The family room was very spacious and extremely clean with very comfortable beds. The room however was extremely hot so had to sleep with the windows open. The bathroom was big enough and very clean. The staff were very helpful. We went to the tribute night which was average as it was a bit overcrowded and a very small dance floor, the food was just ok !! The cooked breakfast in the morning was nice. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: The room was near the stairs so was very noisy late at night !!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I've stayed here both as a solo traveller and with my better half and always had a good experience. On this occasion I had booked a double room with was modern, clean, with comfortable bed, ample storage, a large flat-screen T and, free wi-fi. Breakfast was cooked to order with a good continental choice too.

Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewcastleMunchbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I came to the great barr hotel for a tribute night and meal. The band 'Jersey Boys' were excellent and the disco after was great all our favourite tunes! The meal however was for me very average.I had loin of pork herb roasted with shallot gravy. The pork looked like the frozen ones that you buy from farm foods only been slightly thicker the 'herb roasted' didnt even seem to exist and shallot gravy was no me just standard gravy. The starter prawn cocktail was nice. Unfortunately I was unlucky enough to find a hair embedded in the pork which did put me off the whole meal.

Room Tip: So far as tribute nights and music a very good night but the food lets you down severely.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we have noted your comments.
It is regrettable that you did not bring the matter to our attention at the time as I am sure we would have been able to resolve the issue promptly. Following on from this, we have informed the staff who were on duty the night of your grievance and they apologise for any upset this may have caused you.

We are glad to note that you thoroughly enjoyed our entertainment! Please do join us again and should you have a problem, do not hesitate to advise the staff who are always willing to help our guests.

Kind regards, Great Barr Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We went to the Great Barr Hotel on New Years Eve to a Disco and Buffet. The waitresses/waters and bar staff were very obliging, and when I asked one female member of staff if they had a chair with arms for even for one our party as this gave him support to get up easier than a chair without arms, she straight away went and looked for one and brought is up to us. The buffet and disco was very well organised, tables were decorated with hats, party poppers etc. We stayed over night, and when we went down to breakfast the next morning the same staff were working and again provided an excellent service, there was a very wide choice for breakfast, and when I asked for more coffee, there was no hesitation in bringing this out for me. The bar closed for about 10 minutes or so to enable the staff to toast in the new year. We also had a drink in the bar at this hotel on New Years day, which was very comfortable and relaxing. overall this was an excellent stay. would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
2.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham West
1.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC
2.1 mi away
Travelodge West Bromwich hotel
Travelodge West Bromwich hotel
#3 of 5 in West Bromwich
27 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#70 of 118 in Birmingham
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Barr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Barr Hotel

Address: Newton Road Pear Tree Drive, Birmingham B43 6HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £52 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Barr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Great Barr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Barr Birmingham
Hotel Great Barr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing