We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ship Not Quite Spoilt for a Ha'porth of Tar”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Metro Inns Walsall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Metro Inns Walsall
Ranked #108 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reading
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ship Not Quite Spoilt for a Ha'porth of Tar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Very pleasant, cheery and friendly staff. Not a lot to say except unusually it was a very quiet for a Travelodge, couldn't hear anything at the back at all. No plug in the bath, which I would guess is a deliberate cheapskate policy to save water by making you shower. Also no hairdryer in the drawer marked 'Hairdryer'. Breakfast veryacceptable and evening menu not too bad. Would stay there again. One downside is that there is a £3.00 charge for the car park (taking a leaf out of the Ryanair hidden charges book I fancy)

Room Tip: Unload you luggage and park back up the main road. Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sports-Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    29
    54
    49
    113
See reviews for
24
87
27
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

When a room only costs £27 for the night, it's hard to complain because at that price, you cannot expect 5* luxury. However, having booked a double room online, to be told when I got there that all the double rooms had gone and they would have to take one from someone else (presumably someone else had taken mine!!) did seem strange. I was then offered the disabled room which had two single beds fastened together which did not provide the best nights sleep but there you go. Other than that, the receptionist went out her way to sort me out a kettle (which seemed to be missing from the room.. presumably disabled people are not allowed kettles???) and provide me with a yellow pages when I needed one. The room was clean but some of the plumbing does need looking at especially the shower pressure!

All in all, I cannot complain about the value given the cost of the room, although having to pay for parking seems a liberty!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Staff were absolutely great, friendly and helpful. Room was a good size but that was about all that could be said for it. The carpet was filthy and even had cigarette burns in it. The bed matress was very poor quality, saggy in the middle and the springs creaked and twanged all the time. The bedroom badly needed a fresh coat of paint. And the best bit? Finding the previous guests dirty towels stashed on top of the wardrobe!

Definitely never staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadylady57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Metro Inns Walsall, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear shadylady57,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you have cause for complaint, and that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.

Your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

In addition, we would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form to securely provide us with your confirmation number and full details of your complaint.

We will then be able to fully investigate your concerns with the Hotel Management team, and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I hadn't booked a room but thought that a Travelodge would be a good, reasonably priced, bet for a room for the night. It started well - Receptionist was really helpful, very friendly and couldn't have asked for better. However.... then discovered that I had to pay to park the car (wasn't too impressed) then I got to the room - it was cold, felt damp and could have been cleaner. There was no hairdryer, despite having a drawer clearly marked 'hairdryer'. Having had a shower and washed my hair I discovered that there was also no phone - therefore I couldn't phone reception to ask for a hairdryer as I was in my pyjamas!!!

The bathroom was a bit grubby and shower was difficult to get a good temperature. The bed had obviously seen better days - sheets were clean but there was a horrible plastic matress cover (which I didn't remove as I was afraid of what I might find) and the bed sagged in the middle.

I can understand what some of the reviewers said about the noise from the main road but my room was at the back of the hotel so it wasn't too noisy.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ_Caerleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Metro Inns Walsall, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear SJ_Caerleon,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you have cause for complaint, and that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.

Your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

In addition, we would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form to securely provide us with your confirmation number and full details of your complaint.

We will then be able to fully investigate your concerns with the Hotel Management team, and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We pre-paid for breakfast online, upon checking in we had to point this out as the receptionist had had no idea and would not have given us a voucher otherwise.

The parking ticket machine just swallowed our money without printing a ticket, and then we found out that we didn't need to pay as the machine was out of order.

The hotel was very dated and we were told we had been allocated a 'refurbished' room. The doors slammed extremely loudly, so when people returned to their rooms in the early hours, EVERYBODY could here, let alone the group of people being thrown out of the hotel in the room opposite us - it was as if the doors were open as we could hear everything so clearly.

The windows are awful - they were drafty and rattled and when the wind blowed, it made the windows whistle.

These were 2 of the worst nights sleep we have had in a hotel. The beds were not comfortable and could have been compared to camp beds, as well as the flat lifeless pillow and sheet.

All in all, this hotel experience is something we do not want to repeat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SYoung1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Metro Inns Walsall, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear SYoung1984,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you have cause for complaint, and that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.

Your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

In addition, we would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form to securely provide us with your confirmation number and full details of your complaint.

We will then be able to fully investigate your concerns with the Hotel Management team, and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

This is the second time that I have stayed here and we got a bargain room for £10 for 1 night. The room we had had been refurbished but it was cold even with the electric heater on full.
The bed wasn't very comfy and we were rudely woken around 1.30am by a group having an argument in the corridor which seemed to be taken outside.
Check in at reception was quick and the receptionist was helpful when we asked for extra tea/coffee and pillows/towels.
We only ate breakfast at the hotel and it was a full English which was cooked whilst we waited - it was very nice and made a change from the last time when it was buffet style and nearly cold!
Whlst staying here, we went for a drive around and about 10 mins down the road, there is a retail park with a Pizza Hut. In another direction there are a couple of pubs which seem ok for eating.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirfield_Sian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

This really was a dire Travelodge. My friend booked it without realising it was so far out of Birmingham and not even in the centre of Walsall, so we had to endure a long bus ride from the city centre. Upon arrival the building looked like some manky 1960s office block. Inside wasn't much better.

The room was tired and in need of a refresh. The only plug socket in the room was coming away from the wall, the walls themselves were dirty and marked, there were dust cobwebs in the corners of the ceiling and the room never really got very warm either. Bathroom was equally as shabby with dirty tiles and mouldy sealant around the bath. Bleak.

Room Tip: Try and stay somewhere more central if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Metro Inns Walsall, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Tom C,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you have cause for complaint, and that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.

Your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

In addition, we would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form to securely provide us with your confirmation number and full details of your complaint.

We will then be able to fully investigate your concerns with the Hotel Management team, and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
6.4 mi away
Campanile Birmingham
Campanile Birmingham
#100 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
4.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#95 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
2.0 mi away
Great Barr Hotel
Great Barr Hotel
#89 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
10.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Inns Walsall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Inns Walsall

Property: Metro Inns Walsall
Address: Birmingham Road | Walsall, Birmingham WS5 3AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Metro Inns Walsall 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget hotel, offering 96 ensuite bedrooms, close links to Walsall, Birmingham, West Bromwich and Wolverhampton. We have a 24 hour check manned check in desk. Check in from 2 pm (12 midday for a £10 surcharge) check out 10 am (12 midday for a £10 surcharge) We also have a brand new spacious underground bar area known as Basement Jacks and a restaurant on the ground floor known as Mumbai Kitchen/ Basement Jacks Bar & Grill. Serving an outstanding Indian Menu alongside our equally delicious classic menu, Steaks, Pies, Burgers and Tikka, Bhuna, Passanda nothing is too much. We look forward to welcoming you to Metro Inns Walsall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Inns Walsall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Walsall Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing