We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCLLENT VALUE, CONVENIENT LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street
Ranked #54 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“EXCLLENT VALUE, CONVENIENT LOCATION”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Great city centre location in China Town, only one minute walk from Birmingham Hippodrome, and couple of minutes from Bullring Centre and New Street Station. Alexandra Theatre about 5 minutes. 10 minutes walk to Symphony Hall and NIA Arena.

Very clean, lovely rooms and bathrooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Good restaurant and food.. Bedroom could be little noisy at times from street, but OK if windows kept closed.

Exceptional value for city centre hotel, budget deal for only £29 per room. Couldn't be bettered locally (Holiday Inn £63 per room). Would definitely stay there again next time in Brum for theatres, etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Ibis Birmingham City Centre again very soon.

Kind regards,
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    573
    363
    144
    119
See reviews for
125
448
176
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is great as it is near the train station and a host of restaurants and pubs. The room was clean but a little small. All in all we were quite happy with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Ibis Birmingham City Centre. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

Kind regards
Kishor Tahiliani
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Hotel was very good value for money & ideally located for the centre of Birmingham. Staff were very friendly & helpfull with any queries.
We were travelling by train & the hotel is only a short walk from New Street Station.
It is very close to the Chinese Quarter which was most interesting & close to the Bull Ring shopping centre.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Birmingham City Centre.

Kind regards
Kishor Tahiliani
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Great central location, I have used the hotel twice. But the noise at night can be incredible, particularly if u face the Arcadian Centre. Keep the window closed and it becomes airless, or open the window and experience the noise. Great restaurants right across the road and it is such a short walk to New St Station. All in all, good value

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank th0mgall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us.

As we are a City Centre Hotel and therefore there are some noise issues which are outside of our control. However we do try wherever possible to allocation rooms to guests away from any possible noise disturbance which does not appear to have happened in your case. On our guests recommendations we have introduced complimentary ear plugs which can be obtained from Reception. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience which may have been caused during your stay with us

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind Regards
Kishor Tahiliani
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I have never felt the need to write a review on a hotel before. But having stayed in the Ibis hotel Ladywell Walk I had to share my views. It was a solo trip . The best ever!! The staff in the hotel were friendly ,helpful and couldn't do enough for their clients. The facilities were excellent. The room was basic but very clean and even the cleaning staff were friendly . !! Thank you Ibis!!! It is the first hotel I stayed in that I look forward to going back to.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritacork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit . We look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Birmingham City Centre.

Kind regards,
Kishor Tahiliani
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I stayed at the Ibis for one night for an event - I chose the hotel based on its proximity to the venue and the ratings given to it. I was expecting basic rooms, however I would have also expected it to feel clean.
I was given a room on the second floor - the first thing I noticed when I walked into the room was the overpowering smell of cigarettes. This is supposed to be a non-smoking hotel! I opened the windows and the smell did go - eventually.
The *carpet* was more like fuzzy lineolium, very very worn, and looked so dirty I did not want to take my shoes off.
The matress on the bed was thin, as were the pillows. Sheets and bedding were clean at least, and I found myself getting changed on the bed to avoid stepping on the floor.
The bathroom was very small, however it was clean and everything worked OK. There were only two medium sized towels though.
The staff at least were pleasant and helpful - however this in no way makes up for the state of the rooms. They're doing an admirable job with a hotel in dire need of an update.
Note on parking for anyone that needs it - the car park is under the hotel and accessed via the loading bay. However, if you have a 4x4 or higher-than-average car don't expect to be able to get through the door. Headroom is extremely limited (to walk through it I had to duck - all 5'7 of me plus heels.)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I was very disappointed to learn that you did not receive the level of service which should have been afforded to you.

I am currently in the process of investigating the matter with the relevant department and would like to take this opportunity to assure you that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests..

I would like to thank you for bringing this matter to my attention and if you would like to discuss that matter further with me please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards

Kishor Tahiliani
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed for 2 nights - the room was v. small with barely room to turn in ensuite. towels were white once but discoloured and worn and no handtowel. the room was v. hot and also v. noisy .did not sleep. at no stage did anyone ask if everything was ok. at checking out was not asked if we enjoyed our stay - v. disappointing and would definitely not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary77778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay with us and please accept my apologies for the difficulties you have encountered at the time, which are clearly not acceptable. I would like to discuss these with you directly if you could contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Kishor Tahiliani
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#97 of 118 in Birmingham
497 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street

Property: Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street
Address: 21 Ladywell Walk | Arcadian Centre, Birmingham B5 4ST, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Birmingham Centre New Street offers 159 contemporary bedrooms with air cooling in the heart of the lively Chinese quarter and adjacent to the Arcadian Centre with its various bars and nightclubs. The Chill Bar at the hotel serves snacks 24 hours per day. 3 min walk from the Birmingham central train station(New Street) and Bullring Shopping Centre. Close to the NIA, ICC and easily accessible by train from NEC. 5 conference rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel is easily accessible from the M1, M6 and M42 motorways. Limited Car parking spaces at Hotel and also nearby Public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham City Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing