We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street
Ranked #51 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    565
    358
    142
    118
See reviews for
123
441
175
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed at Ibis Birmingham City Centre for a three night weekend as part of a conference booking.

I was pleased to have free wifi and the bed was comfortable. The rooms were clean. The hotel is a short walk from Birmingham New Street Rail Station. The lunches provided for the conference were actually quite impressive and varied.

There are tea/coffee making facilities in the room, although housekeeping would remove the teabags and spoons and not replace them...

The only bin is in the bathroom, so you have to lean over the toilet to put a teabag in the bin which I feel is a little unhygienic.

The body towels in the bathroom are a little on the small side.

The heating in the bedroom could not be individually controlled. I found myself quite uncomfortable at night as it was too hot (and I wouldn't open the windows due to street noise).

There was quite a bit of movement in the corridor with people coming and going during the early hours of the morning.

One night the fire alarm sounded at 4am as someone was smoking in their room, this woke the whole hotel up. Reception were able to quickly identify which room the smoke was coming from, although if this is the case I don't see why it is necessary to wake the whole hotel up first! Unfortunately for me I had a full day's work ahead of me in one of the hotel's conference rooms, followed by a very long journey home.

The Reception staff were polite and friendly, unless a complaint was being made.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sienna293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna T, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Sienna,

Thank you for your feedback. Our conference team was very pleased to see that you enjoyed our lunch offer. I have shared your feedback with housekeeping and reception teams. I am very sorry that you were awaken by fire alarm. May I take this opportunity to explain that as per fire procedures, fire alarm cannot be switched off until the reason of the activation has been investigated and it is certain that our guests and hotel team are safe.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed here overnight on a business trip.

Having booked and then read some of the truly awful reviews on TripAdvisor, I was a little wary and wishing I'd booked elsewhere.

However, although the room was basic, it was clean, had all the 'bits' you'd expect, and the bed was very comfortable. My room was overlooking Chinatown and having read about the noise issues previous travellers had experienced I purchased ear plugs but didn't need them and had a good night's sleep.

A decent, basic hotel in a very convenient location for the city centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anu63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna T, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Anu,

Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased to see that you found Ibis Birmingham Centre clean and comfortable. I am also glad to see that you found our accomodation suitable for business stay.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The hotel is right next to the bull ring, watch out when entering the car park it's a very small door under the hotel only just wide enough to fit your car.

The hotel is well placed for the brew dog and Wellington pub for real ale lovers. The staff are prompt and the hotel is clean enough, if a little tired looking under the surface. The night I was there every item of food I requested was off with the exception of a margarita pizza which was out of a box from (insert super market of your choice). The breakfast was great but the location at reception next to the room used for conferences could be better, but for £49 I'm not going to moan.

The location was nice and quiet and easy to find off the M6. it's the first time I've used Ibis but I would use this place again. Be aware it's not a hotel for anybody with kids, they don't do family rooms, go with premier inn if that's what you need.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuzeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna T, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I will gladly share your positive feedback with breakfast team and housekeeping department. May I take this opportunity to explain that we have limited number of family bedrooms in the hotel accommodating two adults and one child.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Perfect location and good reception area which raised my spirits, but sadly bedrooms have not had the same facelift.
The bedrooms are small but clean, the walls thin, it's a bit like a student residence. The breakfasts were a bit dire and certainly not worth £8 the only thing I managed were Rice Krispies the normal spread is available but the croissants are so dry they were inedible on two morning, the fried breakfast doesn't fare much better.
Great care is needed in the car park as it's very narrow but there is no warning before you get down to the gate. I phoned to ask about the car park space the night before and no one mentioned the fact that my car may be too big Picasso C4, there is a sign but it's right next to the door it should be clearly stated at the main entrance. As I was wedged between the wall and narrow gate when I could read it. There is a great deal of parking around so if you have a larger car I would think about alternative parking as I will have to have my car fixed as it is scraped all down one side.
I was staying here because I was on a course, think I would pay a bit extra and move out of the budget bracket.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank margaretspps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna T, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Margaret,

I would like to thank you for your feedback. While I am glad that you found our location convenient, I am sorry that you did not find the quality of our breakfast meeting your expectations. I will shared your feedback with breakfast team. I am also sorry that you damaged your car while using our car park. The sign at the entrance advises that large vehicles could be parked in the car park opposite our hotel at the same rate. I appreciate your comments in regards to making that clearer at booking stage.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#95 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street

Property: Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street
Address: 21 Ladywell Walk | Arcadian Centre, Birmingham B5 4ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Birmingham Centre New Street offers 159 contemporary bedrooms with air cooling in the heart of the lively Chinese quarter and adjacent to the Arcadian Centre with its various bars and nightclubs. The Chill Bar at the hotel serves snacks 24 hours per day. 3 min walk from the Birmingham central train station(New Street) and Bullring Shopping Centre. Close to the NIA, ICC and easily accessible by train from NEC. 5 conference rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel is easily accessible from the M1, M6 and M42 motorways. Limited Car parking spaces at Hotel and also nearby Public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham City Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing