We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was great not so much now.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street
Ranked #57 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
1 review
“Was great not so much now.”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here 3rd 4th may as a group of four. I say here twice a year as we travel over with my son for two villa games a year. Have always had no problem checking in for free early as I have a boy who's now only 5. I always email and let them know about early check in. This time I sent four emails and only on the fourth time I received a email saying I was now going to cost ten pound for early check in. Which I begrudgingly agreed to as I need to get d gear in d room makes the trip easier for us. When we arrived at the hotel I paid in cash and was pretty much told I need to pay a 50 pound deposit on top of the room cost and if I didn't I got the impression I cud go elsewhere. This 50 deposit was never mentioned in the little correspondence i recieved from yhe hotel. Eventually checked in only because one of our group did a pre authorised on credit card.  Room was clean they are small enuf but the location is amazing so it does the job. We later came home and decided to go for a drink in d hotel bar. Which was a bad mistake. Bar menu was ok about 6 items but the bar had half the stock on d menu. Very expensive compared to any other bar in town. And the bar staff seemed well under trained and the minerals from the dispenser behind the counter were so flat it shows how busy the bar must get. Even a simple capt morgan and coke was hard as I had to show where the bottle was. Overall I'm EXTREMELY disappointed with my trip this time and as a returning customer for a number of years twice yearly I will NEVER return to this establishment again after our journey AVOID AVOID AVOID.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna T, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Dave,


Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am sorry that your last stay with us did not meet your expectations. Please, let me explain that the early check-in and late check-out charges have been implemented a few weeks ago in line with the practices applied by our competitive hotels. Fully refundable deposit is only taken with payment for the room by cash. I am glad to see that the pre-authorisation was more convenient alternative for you. A thorough search was done on reception e-mails and only one e-mail was located from you received on 27th April at 18:50 with reply sent by receptionist 20 minutes later at 19:10. I do apologise in case you sent e-mail previously which was not dealt with by our team. Lastly, I am sorry that our drinks selection did not meet your expectations. I have noted all your comments and would like to thank you again for sharing them with us.

Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    606
    378
    155
    129
See reviews for
135
474
188
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Quality living up to ibis standard, good clean, friendly staff and close to the central station which was reason for me to book this. Be aware that some of the rooms are facing an entertainment complex on one side of the building, so make sure not to get a room to that side.....unless you are a party goer yourself :-)

Room Tip: Get a room on the right side of the building, not facing entertainment complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna T, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am very pleased with your positive review of our team friendliness, hotel cleanliness and central location. I trust that your room was pre assigned as per your request and that the noise from the Arcadian centre did not disturb your stay.


Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

The Ibis was very good value for money for a nights stay in central Birmingham with easy access to the Bullring and Arcadia for bars and restaurants and the Hippodrome. The check in and out times are 1200hrs which was a bonus.

The hotel car park is really useful, but a bit of a tight entrance which some people may struggle with (my fiancée gave up ;-))

The only problem we had was the noise. For some reason our room was really hot, and so we tried to have the window open, but the noise from outside was too loud for this. This left us getting a very poor nights sleep.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna T, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and our location. At the same time, I would like to apologise for the difficulties you experienced due to the noise. We are working very closely with local bars and restaurants in order to reduce the negative impact of our central location. However, the proximity of nightlife of Birmingham brings sometimes noise issues which are out of our control.

Once more, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,


Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here for one night while I was transiting in Birmingham. The rooms were clean and although it was a bit small it was ok. Shower is a bit tight but complete. Its close to the train station so it is very accessible. Has a lot of nice restaurants (including the Bullring) nearby. Despite earlier reviews that is quite noisy due to the nightlife, I didnt find this a problem during my stay. I actually had a really good sleep despite travelling for nearly 24 hours the day before. And at 40++ gbp a night, this is really good value for money

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunnerJaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna T, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Hazel,


Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I was very happy to share your positive comments both with housekeeping as well as reception teams. I am glad that you got yo enjoy the comfort of our Sweet Bed by Ibis during the quiet night.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.


Kind regards,


Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This is my second visit to the ibis, the location is central to most of the city only 5 mins from Bullring and located in the Chinese Quarter and close to the hippodrome.

The reception staff where very polite and rests of staff very friendly as well, the room was very clean not much room in the shower,

Breakfast was was ok, and a good selection to choose from,

Would recommend for a few nights stay over

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna T, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Michael,

I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am very pleased to see that you are our returning guest. Both reception and breakfast teams were very happy with your positive review and we are also pleased that you find our location convenient.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Room was very nice, asked the receptionist for another pillow as used the extra pillow that was in the room ( it never showed up).Sleep was a bit poor due to night life outside , breakfast had no cons

Room Tip: Top Floor , Not facing Arcadian
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreviewer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna T, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the breakfast in the morning. I will share your comments in regards to the additional pillow requested. Please, let me apologise for the fact that it was not delivered to your room.


We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street

Property: Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street
Address: 21 Ladywell Walk | Arcadian Centre, Birmingham B5 4ST, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Birmingham Centre New Street offers 159 contemporary bedrooms with air cooling in the heart of the lively Chinese quarter and adjacent to the Arcadian Centre with its various bars and nightclubs. The Chill Bar at the hotel serves snacks 24 hours per day. 3 min walk from the Birmingham central train station(New Street) and Bullring Shopping Centre. Close to the NIA, ICC and easily accessible by train from NEC. 5 conference rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel is easily accessible from the M1, M6 and M42 motorways. Limited Car parking spaces at Hotel and also nearby Public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham City Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing