We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, comfy, small rooms, great breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street
Ranked #57 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Convenient, comfy, small rooms, great breakfast!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Random last minute night out in Birmingham and this was the best hotel that was reasonably priced, and what a difference.

The reception and entrance has been refurbed and wow, what a difference, then sadly you go upstairs. The corridors are still in need of some work.

In the rooms, very small, strange smell in the toilet and very warm, however, the new beds are a vast improvement and offer a decent nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna T, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Ian,

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to see that you appreciate the design of our neewly decorated lobby, bar, restaurant and reception. I am also glad to see that you find our Sweet Bed by Ibis comfortable. I have noted your comments about the corridors.

We hope to welcome you abck again soon.

Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    606
    378
    155
    129
See reviews for
135
474
188
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kitzbuhel, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My stay at the Ibis in Birmingham was a stop over on part of a 200km charity run i doing. I arrived around 8pm after running for almost 12 hours, tired, wet from the rain and of cause very, very smelly!! The staff at reception were welcoming and helpful when i arrived. The rooms very clean (albeit slightly small, but for i solo traveler they we absolutely fine), and the beds were comfy. In the evening I went for a meal and some drinks outside the hotel with some friends. When I returned with them (to show them photos, gifts and things to do with the next days run) I was told very rudely by the receptionist that under no circumstances were my friends allowed anywhere but the lobby. I felt this was a bit unnecessary seeing as it was not late and they would not have been there for long.

In the morning when i checked out, i decided to have breakfast in the hotel I had around 15 minutes before the breakfast would be finish being served so plenty of time to get stocked up on food for the days running. When entering the breakfast room, I was slightly disappointed. The buffet was obviously well stocked at the start of the morning but 15 minutes from the end there was only a few apples left for fruit, 1 yogurt, not milk and the hot breakfast was not really hot any more, and looked like it had been sitting there all morning.

I would say if you are going to stay here as a solo traveler and not eat there then the hotel is great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericburnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna T, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that in overall you had enjoyable stay with us. Please, may I take this opportunity to explain that due to hotel regulations we cannot allow more than two adults in the double room at any time. I am sorry that you feel it was not communicated to you in polite manner and I will be sure to share your feedback with the team. I have also shared your comments with the breakfast team. The food temperatures- both hot and cold are checked on a regular basis and I am sorry to hear that you felt that quality of breakfast fell below your expectations.


We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,


Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed one night this week and found the hotel to be basic but adequate.
The room was quiet and the bed comfy.
Breakfast was good.
Dinner service was very slow, only had half the stuff on the menu and it took well over an hour to be served soup, sandwich and dessert - need to sort this out as the eating area (in the lobby) was nearly deserted so business was not the reason.
Good location for the station.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna T, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Susie,


Thank you for your comments. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the breakfast offer. At the same time, I am sorry to hear about the restaurant services issues. This will be looked into.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Excellent staff on reception so the first impression is very good. Rooms are small, but have everything you'd need. Super-comfortable beds. I didn't avail of the breakfast on offer, but it smelled good as I was checking out.
The hotel is a short walk from the station, shopping, numerous restaurants and the gay quarter. I would definitely recommend this hotel and have returned a number of times myself.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newgrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna T, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for sharing your review with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate very much such lovely feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Had a very safe enjoyable stay. Beds comfortable and staff very knowledgeable about local area and best things to see and do that we wouldn't have known about. Thought the guide book in the room was very helpful too. Visit tne MarcoPierre building floor 25 in The Cube day and night for great views of the city.Will go again. More touristy than we expected and more to do than just the Bullring.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna T, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Kay,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your birthday stay with us. I have shared your positive review of our helpfulness with reception team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street

Property: Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street
Address: 21 Ladywell Walk | Arcadian Centre, Birmingham B5 4ST, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Birmingham Centre New Street offers 159 contemporary bedrooms with air cooling in the heart of the lively Chinese quarter and adjacent to the Arcadian Centre with its various bars and nightclubs. The Chill Bar at the hotel serves snacks 24 hours per day. 3 min walk from the Birmingham central train station(New Street) and Bullring Shopping Centre. Close to the NIA, ICC and easily accessible by train from NEC. 5 conference rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel is easily accessible from the M1, M6 and M42 motorways. Limited Car parking spaces at Hotel and also nearby Public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Lastminute, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham City Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing