We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but fabulous.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street
Ranked #64 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basic but fabulous.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A 2 day training course in Birmingham filled me with dread fighting the M6 / Aston way traffic every day so we took the train and stayed here. No frills but all new decor, more than adequate continental brekkie (toast / pastries / cereals, fruit, yoghurts, cold meats with hot drinks and juices etc). Very nice quiet room with compact but brilliant bathroom, tv, wifi, air con, huge mega comfy bed.
Centrally located with great access to Broadstreet, jewellery quarter for eating out etc. 10 minute walk from New St station.
Checking in and out easy peasy, now I have stayed here I know it's a 'safe bolt hole' if I ever need to stay in B'ham again - great for families, professionals, tourists etc.

Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - great views across Birmingham if that kind of thing floats your boat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to see that yo enjoyed your stay with us, appreciated the beakfast offer, standard of accomodation and location of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    595
    372
    152
    130
See reviews for
132
459
180
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The room was reasonably small (to get in the shower,you need to open the bathroom door), but for the price it's about what you expect.

Parking £10 per night though (watch the corner when going in the underground double red-doored entrance through the service yard on the left of the hotel) - room was £80 for two nights: so parking was 20% of the total cost.

Night staff seemed to be short-handed and unable to put credit card transactions through (tried three times - but kept trying to go through as Euros in a UK hotel).

Pillows slightly hard and bed covers were too large for the bed.

Perfect location for Chinatown (and the lapdance club which you get hawkers for just outside the hotel at night).

Room was quite quiet (we had a room overlooking the front of the hotel).

Overall okay for the money, but probably wouldn't use again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank beebware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you found our central location convenient and quiet at the same time. I have also shared your comments in regards to credit card payment with the night reception team and would like to apologise for the delay while trying to take payment.

Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Hotel is in a good location, that is all it has going for it. Was woken up at 3am by people arguing in the room next door. After 30 mins tried to call reception from the phone in the room, tried a few times and no-one answered. Called the main hotel number from my mobile and they picked up straight away. Said they would send security up and they took another 30 mins, we were only on the second floor. Bathroom is tiny and room very basic.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 622Isabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your comments which I shared with the night receptionist. We have security on site every night and recepion desk manned 24h. I understand that both security guard and the receptionist went upstairs straightaway after the phone call was received. I am sorry that on this occassion your first phone call was not answered. We always try to answer all enquiries promptly but it seems that receptionist was engaged with another guest at that time. Once more, I am sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

Kind regards,


Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location, with plenty of car parks surrounding (not free) and only a two minute walk to the Bullring. Lots of bars and restaurants nearby for all tastes.

The hotel is clean, tidy but a bit tired, the service was great. i would recommend for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Sir,


Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed our location, hotel cleanliness and the quality of service provided.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hall was very modern and staff was very nice. I left my suitcase (I came too early) and left thinking that the hotel was very good. When I came back and saw the room I was upset - the room was big but the linen had different color and didn't look fresh. The bathroom was so small and there was only one gel next to the sink and I had problems to have shower. In the morning someone from housekeeping knocked the door and opened it straight away - I even didn't have a moment to say something. No Sorry, nothing...
No, I will stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girl_Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Girl Julia,


Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am pleased to see that you appreciated our customer service and liked eeh design of our public areas. I have shared your comments with housekeeping department. Please accept my apologies for the room attendant disturbing your stay in the morning.

Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inglewood, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stopped in Birmingham to catch Eagles concert at LG Arena(was awesome). Arrived greeted with smile and efficient check in. Room was compact but just what was needed for good nights sleep. Noticed chair was very unstable, screws had been removed, reported to reception and was replaced by time I got back from walk. Breakfast was very good, staffing of bar was poor, waiting for quite a while until reception staff served. The location is great, not far from New St station, very handy to great shopping at Bullring. Overall great value for money, with location excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Goonermike2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaGM, General Manager at Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,


Thank you for your lovely comments which I was very happy to share with the team. Reception, breakfast and housekeeping team members were very pleased with your positive feedback. I have noted your comments about the bar service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Joanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#33 of 117 in Birmingham
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street

Property: Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street
Address: 21 Ladywell Walk | Arcadian Centre, Birmingham B5 4ST, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Birmingham Centre New Street offers 159 contemporary bedrooms with air cooling in the heart of the lively Chinese quarter and adjacent to the Arcadian Centre with its various bars and nightclubs. The Chill Bar at the hotel serves snacks 24 hours per day. 3 min walk from the Birmingham central train station(New Street) and Bullring Shopping Centre. Close to the NIA, ICC and easily accessible by train from NEC. 5 conference rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel is easily accessible from the M1, M6 and M42 motorways. Limited Car parking spaces at Hotel and also nearby Public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham City Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing