We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
Ranked #69 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I tend to give my ratings taking into account the price paid and how the hotel is marketed. This is a hotel on the outskirts of Birmingham where you get to stay for approximately £40/night. For that price, I do not expect a spa or 5 star hotel amenities!

What I did get for my £40 was a comfortable and squeaky clean room. I emailed ahead of time to ask a few questions and they were answered promptly and cheerfully by Damien. Getting to the hotel isn't that easy on foot (I was coming from New Street station) so would suggest a taxi if you don't know the area. My welcome at reception was warm and the friendliness continued with the chatty guy in the lift who was repairing a sign.

My room was basic but had everything I needed. It was spotless with a little pod bathroom making great use of space-the shower was particularly spacious. A kind of universal cleaning gel was provided for the sink and shower. I loved showering there: great power! My bed was comfortable (would have preferred a top sheet though) and liked the free and fast wifi. The TV had basic channels but enough to amuse me for the night.

No mini fridge but tea and coffee making facilities. When I went downstairs to ask for a few more tea bags and milks, the lovely guy on reception gave me lots so I was extremely content! They also helpfully booked a taxi for me the next morning which was bang on time/early.

Minor complaint: hairdryers are not provided in rooms but are meant to be available at reception. They were all gone when I tried to get one on a Sunday evening. Not ideal! Had to go to my job interview with slept-in hair. Not part of my initial master plan. I really think they need to invest in a few more.

FYI:
-no irons in the room but there's an ironing room on level 2
-there is no room service but you can get a (limited) range of meals downstairs and are free to take them away with you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GráinneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Ibis Birmingham Bordesley. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Marc Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 453 reviews

An Accor traveller
Christchurch, United Kingdom
195
Reviewed 4 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mak H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 November 2013

On arriving at the hotel we were told by reception that they didnt have a reservation for us and explained that we may have got the wrong ibis hotel so she checked around other ibis hotels to tell us that nowhere had our reservation.i had booked our stay 3months prior to arriving at the hotel. As i couldnt remember which company i had booked through the receptionist told me there was nothing she could do so myself, my husband and 2 friends had to sit in the lobby and search on the internet for 2 hours for the company we booked with. (Bearing in mind we was in a rush as was going to the NIA arena shortly) we came to the decision that we would just have to stay at this ibis hotel and pay an extra £25 per couple then what we was originally supposed to be paying (£39). Later on that evening i then recieved a voicemail on my phone asking what time i would be arriving at the ibis budget city centre hotel so i went down to reception to explain and the guy rang the hotel to cancel our stay and make sure we werent charged for not turning up. The next morning while checking out i explained to the recpetionist who was on the previous day what had happened and i told her we wasnt happy paying the extra money when it was her mistake for not checking all hotels properly. She told me there was nothing she could do and to take it up with the other hotel. Room service was also appauling, why call it room service when we have to go down to reception to get our food and extra teabags etc ourselfs. The only thing good about the hotel was that the room was clean. Overall i would never stay at this hotel and would never reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tashaflett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations, and I feel I can clarify some concerns for you including why our guests are invited to reception for additional teas and coffees as Ibis Hotels offer don't offer room service. I would like to discuss this with you in person. Please could you contact me on 0121 5062600

Kind regards,
Marc Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This hotel was lovely to stay in. We only stayed one night, but it was very clean and comfy and we had a good night's sleep in the huge bed. The staff were very helpful and friendly, always smiling. The continental breakfast was tasty and good value.
we will definitely stay here again when we return to Birmingham in a couple of months.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Marc Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Hove, United Kingdom
114
Reviewed 25 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Ideal hotel no faults at all. Clean bathroom and clean bedrooms a comfy bed and friendly staff..A fifteen minute walk to the bullring only 5 minutes by car and only around £5 for a taxi..Would recommend this hotel..Good breakfast also

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank mrschiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Marc Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 118 in Birmingham
1,102 reviews
Campanile Birmingham
#100 of 118 in Birmingham
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Birmingham Bordesley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Birmingham Bordesley

Address: 1 Bordesley Park Road, Small Heath | Bordesley, Birmingham B10 0PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £39 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Birmingham Bordesley 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel had a full transformation and is now 100% renovated, from cosy bedrooms with the latest technology gadgets, free fiber Wi-Fi, power showers & the"sweet bed by Ibis". The Restaurant & Bar is a great place to unwind & relax, enjoy our food and drinks 24/7. The location is just perfect, within five minutes' walk of Birmingham Football Club and a short distance from Bullring Shopping Centre and New Street Station. If you don't like walking, take a bus (17/60) or a short taxi ride to the hotel. Birmingham Centre is all about Culture, Concerts & Fun, with the Custard Factory, Barclaycard Arena, Symphony Hall, ICC, O2 Academy, Birmingham Library and the Mailbox. Birmingham Airport, NEC, Genting Arena & Resort World is only 7 miles away. The hotel is perfectly located for Birmingham city centre and is close to the M6 motorway and all major road links. The hotel also offers free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Birmingham Bordesley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Bordesley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing