We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price and reasonable location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
Ranked #67 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Actually the location is ideal if you are visiting St Andrews, as we were!
For the price the hotel is good value and the room we had was fine, if a little tired in places, with a nice view across to the city.
Being born and raised just down the road from this place it was pretty handy for a trip down the Coventry Rd to see just how much the place has changed. Some nice asian shops and cafe/restaurants heading towards Small Heath and in the other direction a few ok (if studenty - including the obligatory drug snorting in the loos) pubs.
If staying here I recommend visiting the Irish Centre towards the city - very welcoming with live music and a great atmosphere. Also the Railway Cafe next to Bordesley Station do a great bumper breakfast in true greasy spoon style.
As others have said, the security check when returning at night was not particularly courteous, but I guess they have to be careful. Some noise from younger guests in the night (it is pretty close to the Bordesley student clubbing district) but wisely came equipped with earplugs.
Free parking is a bonus - left the car there while at the footy with no complaints.
Would stay again as long as the prices stay low.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krishnaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Ibis Birmingham Bordesley. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Marc Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here for one night on New Year's Eve. As a previous reviewer has said, we have never stayed anywhere where there is a security guard checking you in when you get back late! However, the main problem for us was the noise. This hotel seems to appeal to younger student types who seem perfectly comfortable staying up all night, knocking one each other's doors, shouting down the corridors for each other and having small gatherings in each room. It was like staying in a university dorm. At one point, the security guard did come up and have a word with someone in one of the rooms but the noise didn't stop until around 6 a.m. Having had only around 3 hours sleep, I found myself contemplating doing the 2 hour drive home at 4 a.m. because it was perfectly clear that we weren't going to get any sleep that night.

For this main reason alone, we would never stay in this hotel and if you are over 40 or have young children, then I would give it a wide berth.

Oh and one more thing. Why, when two people are staying, do they only provide one hand towel and one bath towel? Do they not expect both of us to have a shower?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marionsk1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations. I would like to discuss this with you in person. Please could you contact me on 0121 5062600

Kind regards,
Marc Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Visited Birmingham on a business trip between November 9th and 21st, and stayed most of the time at Ibis Hotel. I had a good impression about the hotel. The staffs are quite friendly and efficient. Rooms are convenient and clean. Good internet service, TV and movies on demand. I liked the hotel as it is extremely quiet, while just a waking distance from my office and the city center. I highly recommend this hotel for short business trips and no doubt I will use it in my next trip to Birmingham.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hadi4004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards,
Marc Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed here in February 2013.

My room was very comfortable, warm and clean. The bedding was clean, lovely and comfy - great pillows and deep yummy duvet!

Shower/loo room - fab and exciting, clean and tidy!

The staff were friendly and the general feel of the hotel was one of quiet and non-intrusive efficiency. Looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Marc Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Josie R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Campanile Birmingham
#99 of 118 in Birmingham
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Birmingham Bordesley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Birmingham Bordesley

Address: 1 Bordesley Park Road, Small Heath | Bordesley, Birmingham B10 0PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £37 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Birmingham Bordesley 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel had a full transformation and is now 100% renovated, from cosy bedrooms with the latest technology gadgets, free fiber Wi-Fi, power showers & the"sweet bed by Ibis". The Restaurant & Bar is a great place to unwind & relax, enjoy our food and drinks 24/7. The location is just perfect, within five minutes' walk of Birmingham Football Club and a short distance from Bullring Shopping Centre and New Street Station. If you don't like walking, take a bus (17/60) or a short taxi ride to the hotel. Birmingham Centre is all about Culture, Concerts & Fun, with the Custard Factory, Barclaycard Arena, Symphony Hall, ICC, O2 Academy, Birmingham Library and the Mailbox. Birmingham Airport, NEC, Genting Arena & Resort World is only 7 miles away. The hotel is perfectly located for Birmingham city centre and is close to the M6 motorway and all major road links. The hotel also offers free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Birmingham Bordesley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Bordesley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing