We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
Ranked #70 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“excellent budget hotel”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This was our second visit since about 6 years ago. Its a budget hotel but clean, comfortable and convenient for BCFC and the city centre. Excellent Wi-Fi, and small TV with decent selection of channels.

The bathroom is unusual as it appears to be a pod, but perfectly functional. Staff were friendly and our deal included breakfast which included bacon, scrambled eggs, hash browns, beans, mushrooms, sausages, cereals, fruit, croissants etc. Perfectly adequate, but if your deal does not include breakfast, there is a McDonalds next door.

Buses stop outside for the city centre, about £2, but on a nice day, you could probably walk it in 15 minutes.

Only negatives for me was there was some traffic noise from the busy road, we were in an odd number on the front, even numbers would be overlooking the rear. There was also on arrival a slight smoky smell in our room despite it being non-smoking.

Room Tip: Even numbers overlook the rear of the hotel and would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Marc Lock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    156
    96
    51
    43
See reviews for
25
153
50
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

clean hotel and nice staff but feel sorry for them with the way their manager treats them infront of guests!! not impressed, could do with some english lessons i think. its close to city centre and not too far from airport

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damien d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations and that you may have over heard some discussions between the team and the management team. I would like to discuss this with you in person and would greatly appreciate some further feedback. Please could you contact me on 0121 5062600 or alternatively marc.lock@accor.com,

Regards
Marc Lock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Why the title? Well, when you see a low low price, you often think that it's either too good to be true of it's low for a reason. On this occasion..it's neither. What the Ibis gives you is nothing ground breaking, theres no pomp and ceremony or even smug arrogance. It's cheap, cheerful and it does what is says on the packet. Much like it's contemporaries TravelDodge,Premier Inn and Holiday Inn Express. The second you walk through the bedroom door, deja vu hits you like a hurricane. But it's entering the Ibis at Bordesley Circus that defines this hotel from all others. The hotel is set on a busy roundabout and about two miles outside of the City Centre, but the reception is a warm, friendly and a very helpful one. Guiding you to nearby pubs, restaurants and music venues. Hard to imagine you could have a night out in Digbeth, but you can!! The rooms are compact with ,modern and very clean.. Free View and pay option channels, room service and a bar/restaurant and unlike some others..Free unlimited WiFi !! I found the Ibis to be everything and more you'd expect for the low price of £34 a night for two sharing !! Considering it's in reality just somewhere to relax before a night out and somewhere to lay your head for a few hours..it's perfect. Yet,If you want to venture in Birmingham, it's only around six minutes by taxi ! If you're a midnight rambler and just want a convenient, cheap alternative to the unjustifiably overpriced more extravagant 'names'..then swerve them and book the Ibis. You won't regret it..and for £34 a night, you cannot possibly complain !!

Room Tip: Bring a handy supply of milk and coffee, if you're planning on having more than one brew each !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramone2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards, Marc Lock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I very much enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Nice reception area to sit and relax. Bar and food available. Found all staff in reception to be welcoming and helpful. I was very impressed with check-in and check-out. No lengthy delays, fast and efficient.

First impression of room were not great. A musky smell on entry. Tired carpets, stain on cushion and it appeared that the room needed a general update. However, it wasn't difficult to rectify the smell issue. The tired features of the room became insignificant once you start noticing the positives. Facilities were excellent - Hairdryer, coffee making facilities, TV with good range of channels. The winner for me was the excellent shower facilities, one of the best I have seen in hotels of this category.

There is a range of hot and cold options for breakfast. I would describe it as adequate rather excellent. The coffee however is excellent.

Overall, very much enjoyed my stay. Had it not been for the one or two shortcommings, this hotel deserves a 5 dot rating for satisfaction.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p3386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Ibis Birmingham Bordesley. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments regarding the shortcomings in the room. I have brought this to the attention of the housekeeping and maintenance team who are rectifying these issues
I look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
Kind regards,
Marc Lock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Actually the location is ideal if you are visiting St Andrews, as we were!
For the price the hotel is good value and the room we had was fine, if a little tired in places, with a nice view across to the city.
Being born and raised just down the road from this place it was pretty handy for a trip down the Coventry Rd to see just how much the place has changed. Some nice asian shops and cafe/restaurants heading towards Small Heath and in the other direction a few ok (if studenty - including the obligatory drug snorting in the loos) pubs.
If staying here I recommend visiting the Irish Centre towards the city - very welcoming with live music and a great atmosphere. Also the Railway Cafe next to Bordesley Station do a great bumper breakfast in true greasy spoon style.
As others have said, the security check when returning at night was not particularly courteous, but I guess they have to be careful. Some noise from younger guests in the night (it is pretty close to the Bordesley student clubbing district) but wisely came equipped with earplugs.
Free parking is a bonus - left the car there while at the footy with no complaints.
Would stay again as long as the prices stay low.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krishnaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Ibis Birmingham Bordesley. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Marc Lock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here for one night on New Year's Eve. As a previous reviewer has said, we have never stayed anywhere where there is a security guard checking you in when you get back late! However, the main problem for us was the noise. This hotel seems to appeal to younger student types who seem perfectly comfortable staying up all night, knocking one each other's doors, shouting down the corridors for each other and having small gatherings in each room. It was like staying in a university dorm. At one point, the security guard did come up and have a word with someone in one of the rooms but the noise didn't stop until around 6 a.m. Having had only around 3 hours sleep, I found myself contemplating doing the 2 hour drive home at 4 a.m. because it was perfectly clear that we weren't going to get any sleep that night.

For this main reason alone, we would never stay in this hotel and if you are over 40 or have young children, then I would give it a wide berth.

Oh and one more thing. Why, when two people are staying, do they only provide one hand towel and one bath towel? Do they not expect both of us to have a shower?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marionsk1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations. I would like to discuss this with you in person. Please could you contact me on 0121 5062600

Kind regards,
Marc Lock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
1,210 reviews
Campanile Birmingham
#99 of 117 in Birmingham
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Birmingham Bordesley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Birmingham Bordesley

Property: Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
Address: 1 Bordesley Park Road, Small Heath | Bordesley, Birmingham B10 0PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Birmingham Bordesley 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel had a full transformation and is now 100% renovated, from cosy bedrooms with the latest technology gadgets, free fiber Wi-Fi, power showers & the"sweet bed by Ibis". The Restaurant & Bar is a great place to unwind & relax, enjoy our food and drinks 24/7. The location is just perfect, within five minutes' walk of Birmingham Football Club and a short distance from Bullring Shopping Centre and New Street Station. If you don't like walking, take a bus (17/60) or a short taxi ride to the hotel. Birmingham Centre is all about Culture, Concerts & Fun, with the Custard Factory, Barclaycard Arena, Symphony Hall, ICC, O2 Academy, Birmingham Library and the Mailbox. Birmingham Airport, NEC, Genting Arena & Resort World is only 7 miles away. The hotel is perfectly located for Birmingham city centre and is close to the M6 motorway and all major road links. The hotel also offers free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Birmingham Bordesley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Bordesley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing