We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the single female”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
Ranked #67 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The bed was comfortable the breakfast mediocre, but there was a huge tv playing in the breakfast/bar area which was somewhat annoying. I arrived and felt like I was staying in a weather spoons, lots of Leary men at the bar, Mercedes parked outside with kids dripping in bling. The hotel is in a really grotty area, I was too fearful to leave my hotel and only slightly less scared to stay in it. Give it a miss

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Purple_monster77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations. I would like to discuss this with you in person. Please could you contact me on 0121 5062600.

Kindest Regards,
Marc Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

Hotel is centrally situated near a main road but had quiet rooms. The hotel provided a good buffet breakfast which was regularly replenished. Roms were os a standard Ibis type and clean. Slight noise problems from one or two residents in the early hours along the corridors- not the fault of the hotel though. Good for a visit to Birmingham on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for room on back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wensleydalebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kindest Regards,
Marc Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Well the room was as it is small, the bathroom in a curved shape at the left corner from entrance (actually designed to carve out more space) actually makes it more odd. Overall it feels claustrophobic. I would rather stretch my budget and go some place else.
However if you are on a shoe string budget then it's ok to spend a night, as a place to crash after a long day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paradise_nature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Marc Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

As I paid an almost ridiculous price, I was quite happy with the results. The rooms look good and clean and the service was friendly enough to think that maybe I will return one day. Here is the review on my blog: http://ilanaontheroad.com/2013/09/08/hotel-review-ibis-hotel-bordesley-circus/

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Marc Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This was our second visit since about 6 years ago. Its a budget hotel but clean, comfortable and convenient for BCFC and the city centre. Excellent Wi-Fi, and small TV with decent selection of channels.

The bathroom is unusual as it appears to be a pod, but perfectly functional. Staff were friendly and our deal included breakfast which included bacon, scrambled eggs, hash browns, beans, mushrooms, sausages, cereals, fruit, croissants etc. Perfectly adequate, but if your deal does not include breakfast, there is a McDonalds next door.

Buses stop outside for the city centre, about £2, but on a nice day, you could probably walk it in 15 minutes.

Only negatives for me was there was some traffic noise from the busy road, we were in an odd number on the front, even numbers would be overlooking the rear. There was also on arrival a slight smoky smell in our room despite it being non-smoking.

Room Tip: Even numbers overlook the rear of the hotel and would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Marc Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

clean hotel and nice staff but feel sorry for them with the way their manager treats them infront of guests!! not impressed, could do with some english lessons i think. its close to city centre and not too far from airport

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damien d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations and that you may have over heard some discussions between the team and the management team. I would like to discuss this with you in person and would greatly appreciate some further feedback. Please could you contact me on 0121 5062600 or alternatively marc.lock@accor.com,

Regards
Marc Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Why the title? Well, when you see a low low price, you often think that it's either too good to be true of it's low for a reason. On this occasion..it's neither. What the Ibis gives you is nothing ground breaking, theres no pomp and ceremony or even smug arrogance. It's cheap, cheerful and it does what is says on the packet. Much like it's contemporaries TravelDodge,Premier Inn and Holiday Inn Express. The second you walk through the bedroom door, deja vu hits you like a hurricane. But it's entering the Ibis at Bordesley Circus that defines this hotel from all others. The hotel is set on a busy roundabout and about two miles outside of the City Centre, but the reception is a warm, friendly and a very helpful one. Guiding you to nearby pubs, restaurants and music venues. Hard to imagine you could have a night out in Digbeth, but you can!! The rooms are compact with ,modern and very clean.. Free View and pay option channels, room service and a bar/restaurant and unlike some others..Free unlimited WiFi !! I found the Ibis to be everything and more you'd expect for the low price of £34 a night for two sharing !! Considering it's in reality just somewhere to relax before a night out and somewhere to lay your head for a few hours..it's perfect. Yet,If you want to venture in Birmingham, it's only around six minutes by taxi ! If you're a midnight rambler and just want a convenient, cheap alternative to the unjustifiably overpriced more extravagant 'names'..then swerve them and book the Ibis. You won't regret it..and for £34 a night, you cannot possibly complain !!

Room Tip: Bring a handy supply of milk and coffee, if you're planning on having more than one brew each !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ramone2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards, Marc Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Campanile Birmingham
#99 of 118 in Birmingham
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Birmingham Bordesley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Birmingham Bordesley

Address: 1 Bordesley Park Road, Small Heath | Bordesley, Birmingham B10 0PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £37 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Birmingham Bordesley 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel had a full transformation and is now 100% renovated, from cosy bedrooms with the latest technology gadgets, free fiber Wi-Fi, power showers & the"sweet bed by Ibis". The Restaurant & Bar is a great place to unwind & relax, enjoy our food and drinks 24/7. The location is just perfect, within five minutes' walk of Birmingham Football Club and a short distance from Bullring Shopping Centre and New Street Station. If you don't like walking, take a bus (17/60) or a short taxi ride to the hotel. Birmingham Centre is all about Culture, Concerts & Fun, with the Custard Factory, Barclaycard Arena, Symphony Hall, ICC, O2 Academy, Birmingham Library and the Mailbox. Birmingham Airport, NEC, Genting Arena & Resort World is only 7 miles away. The hotel is perfectly located for Birmingham city centre and is close to the M6 motorway and all major road links. The hotel also offers free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Birmingham Bordesley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Bordesley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing