We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean hotel, good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
Ranked #69 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel for two nights. Price was great and not too far from the city centre. (Although staff should have more knowledge of bus numbers for nearby). Staff were helpful and friendly and the bus stuff was my only complaint. Really enjoyed my stay. I went for my friends' wedding and it was a lovely trip thanks to this hotel. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jammmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future, and I will ensure re fresher training is complete to all my team regarding the local bus times and routes
Kind regards,
Marc Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Small room, uncomfortable beds. Shower that leaked everywhere, plug that did not fit. Fan set to churn out hot air on a hot sunny day. Most unpleasant hotel I have stayed in. Staff were indifferent and not particularly friendly or helpful. General area was good and plenty of car parking space.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jane1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations. I would like to discuss this with you in person. Please could you contact me on 0121 506 2600.
Kind regards,
Marc Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Located not far from city centre.

Also handy for Birmingham city stadium St.Andrew's

At the price can't complain,decent standard budget
hotel.
Free on site parking,Also Bar & Restaurant

Decent free Wi-Fi connection

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adam_Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!
Kindest Regards
Marc Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I could find no faults with the room, it was clean and well presented. The bathroom was tidy and hygienic, except the shower was tricky to handle. You could never really get the temperature right, which is quite a pain when it comes out extremely hot.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, they happily ordered us taxis and helped us out.
I remember there being a little bit of noise one of the nights and the heat was a little too much, but it was all quite bearable and didn't spoil the stay.

Room Tip: Preferable not one at the front of the hotel, since there is a main road.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind Regards
Marc Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

You can't knock this hotel too much. It wasn't great but it did the trick.
Rooms were pretty cheap so can't complain. However, after being told there was air con we found this out not to be true. The 'air con' only blew out hot air. Windows didn't open far for safety reason so it was extremely hot. It wouldn't have been too bad if the hotel had just provided a fan.
Shower was spacious and was really looking for to using it. However, after finally finding a suitable temperature, it kept switching between scaldingly hot and freezing cold. And I mean freezing!
The sink in our bathroom was terrible. I ran some cool water to swill my face in an attempt to cool down and the sink filled up quickly and took about an hour to drain. After it had, we took the plug out to find the plughole completely blocked up with grey hair. Ew.
Can really find no other issues with this hotel though. Told the cleaners we didn't really require our room cleaning but could do with fresh towels and they were issued immediately.
McDonald's next door and short 10 minute walk to the Bullring.
Area in itself wasn't great. A cat got ran over and died on the side of the road, only to rot there for three days. It still hadn't been removed when we left. To get to the hotel on foot you have to cross at three places at a roundabout. Drivers are unapologetic there. I came the closest I ever have in my life to getting run over.
However, these last two points weren't anything to do with the hotel, just trying to give a more general feel of the place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank liara j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to ibis Birmingham Bordesley. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the shower and the air cooling, which we are addressing
Kind regards
Marc Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed at this Ibis whilst on business in Birmingham for a few nights this week. I stay in a lot of hotels through my work, but this one dubiously gets the award of having the worst nights sleep of any I’ve stayed in so far.

The rooms were absolutely stifling hot. Crazy warm. I had a twin room on the ground floor and not once did it get to a sensible temperature. Efforts to get the over the door blower to work resulted in it seemingly blowing more hot air into the room.

There was simply not effort by the staff to control guest noise. There were people loudly shouting in corridors and shouting from the car park into rooms all night. And I mean all night, it carried on through every hour that I was attempting to get to sleep. This was consistent through both the 1st and 2nd night we stayed. I complained to the staff member on the desk in the morning who quite simply didn’t care, said they heard nothing. My colleague staying on the 2nd floor could hear it all going on and it kept them awake too!

The shower in our room had 3 settings. Burning hot, freeing cold and ’shuffle’; where it would alternate between scalding and freezing every 10 seconds.

On Monday night I also had another room booked for a member of my party. She ate at the hotel restaurant, where she was served cold food. She complained at the time. When I came to clear the bill in the morning when I cleared the room bill the guy on the desk refused to remove the cold food from the bill as it hadn’t been listed in his book.

Finally the racetrack of a road outside the hotel was really bad - people racing cars around the roads at all hours. Not really the hotels fault, but also contributed to a poor nights sleep - if it’s noisy outside the least you can do is provided air conditioning so that guests don’t need to open the windows!

The hotel itself is a typically rebranded affair, it’s an old hotel that’s been given a lick of paint and rooms have a plastic ‘cove’ in the corner which contains the bathroom. The room was clean enough for a budget hotel, and it had convenient free parking outside, but with all the listed problems I definitely wouldn’t stay there again!

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, maybe a room at the back would help? Don't expect a good nights sleep...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garyBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations and I thank you again for bringing these difficulties to my attention. As conversed during our e-mail exchanges, please feel free to contact to discuss this further
Kind regards
Marc Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed for a night before an early flight at BMA.

Bed very comfy, shower excellent, no noise from outside.

Checked-Out too early for breakfast so cannot comment.

Would definitely stay here again if overnight stay in Birmingham required

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrentmeisterGeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Bordesley, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest Regards
Marc Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 118 in Birmingham
1,102 reviews
Campanile Birmingham
#100 of 118 in Birmingham
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Birmingham Bordesley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Birmingham Bordesley

Address: 1 Bordesley Park Road, Small Heath | Bordesley, Birmingham B10 0PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £39 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Birmingham Bordesley 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel had a full transformation and is now 100% renovated, from cosy bedrooms with the latest technology gadgets, free fiber Wi-Fi, power showers & the"sweet bed by Ibis". The Restaurant & Bar is a great place to unwind & relax, enjoy our food and drinks 24/7. The location is just perfect, within five minutes' walk of Birmingham Football Club and a short distance from Bullring Shopping Centre and New Street Station. If you don't like walking, take a bus (17/60) or a short taxi ride to the hotel. Birmingham Centre is all about Culture, Concerts & Fun, with the Custard Factory, Barclaycard Arena, Symphony Hall, ICC, O2 Academy, Birmingham Library and the Mailbox. Birmingham Airport, NEC, Genting Arena & Resort World is only 7 miles away. The hotel is perfectly located for Birmingham city centre and is close to the M6 motorway and all major road links. The hotel also offers free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Birmingham Bordesley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Bordesley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing