We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmm Great Steak!!”

Anderson's Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Anderson's Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 2,249 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Ladywood
Description: Situated on St Paul���s Church square, Anderson���s Bar and Grill is found in the interesting surroundings of former 18th century cellars. However this restaurant is as far from a dingy basement bar as it is possible to be ��� lush, sophisticated d��cor brings light and space to the brick arched room, changing displays of art is displayed on the walls and there���s a definite buzz to the atmosphere. With a dedication to providing great value food in a relaxed setting along with top quality service, Anderson���s Bar and Grill is already making its mark on the local dining scene. The food, sourced locally is ��� of course ��� hearty grill fayre but presented with a touch of class so even old favourites such as Barnsley chop or grilled plaice are actually rather special.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mmm Great Steak!!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Absolutely love Anderson's! we go as often as we can, they cater for small and large group bookings, Food is fantastic, never had a problem. Highly Recommend if you love a decent steak.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouiseNorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    623
    203
    79
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxed and unpretentious”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Visited Andersons for lunch it was quiet with a few couples and small business gatherings. Had rustic bread with roasted garlic as an appetiser very simple but tasty. Chose steak two ways with ox checks as my main with chips and onion rings. Everything was well cooked, seasoned and delicious. Chose the lime and tequila cheesecake for pudding which was a good end to the meal..my only criticism was the portion size was on the small size and no accompaniments e.g. cream.

Staff were attentive without being instrusive and the atmosphere was relaxed and informal, I would go again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joyousuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A very nice birthday meal”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I ate here last night with my husband and 2 sons. It was actually busier than I thought it would be on a Tuesday night which was a nice surprise and added to the ambience. We were welcomed warmly by a waitress and shown to our table. Drinks orders were taken promptly. We decided not to have starters but instead had the bread which is served with a whole baked sumptuous sweet bulb of garlic - yum and some olives. The mains all went down well, my eldest son and I had the back to front dish which includes a small portion of braised ox cheek which was succulent - the star of the meal though was the rump steak which melted in the mouth. The sauce béarnaise was very nice too. My husband and youngest son both enjoyed their meals too, T-bone steak and mixed grill respectively. We also had the special potato side of crushed new potato with cream and rosemary which was delicious and the side veg was a mix of courgette, peas and green beans. We were all too full so did not have dessert but instead finished the meal with coffee. Service was attentive throughout and the restaurant has a nice ambience. Oh and it was no problem when I asked for a doggy bag for the bone and the leftover meat for my dog.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBroonsofBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good restaurant - shame about starter!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Have eaten here a few times now and have always recommended to anyone who asks for a good restaurant in Birmingham. My family were visiting so booked for a Saturday night. Atmosphere great, steak is the best I have had in Birmingham (porterhouse and back to front amazing!!) however felt really let down by the starter portion- a couple in our group had muscles- plenty of them and v tasty however another couple ordered the crab tortellini and scallops special- each consisted of only 2 pieces and not much else- for the price I expected a lot more! Will be back but choose wisely

Helpful?
Thank r0sie1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Impressive...most impressive”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

You have to be wary of somewhere to purports to have the best steak in the city. Well, it turns out that you DON'T have to be wary. The steaks, I would say are no better than you would buy from the supermarket or butcher but they are cooked expertly, exactly how you want them, seasoned how you want them and it seems that it doesn't matter what cut you choose the expertise is carried over.

There is plenty of room to sit/stand/wait and have a few drinks whilst your table is prepared (we were early, it wasn't their fault) and the beer is priced as you would expect for a Birmingham restaurant (that's right, outrageously! :) ). Surprisingly,despite how fantastic the steaks were, one of the things that got the most praise was the bowl of mashed potato - if you want REALLY good mashed potato, they know what they're doing. And steak, obviously.

I'd definitely return given the opportunity.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anderson's Bar & Grill also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Anderson's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing