We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looks are deceiving”
Review of Westmead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westmead Hotel
Ranked #45 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The westmead looks inviting from the outside and the rooms are clean and comfortable but a lot lets this hotel down. We arrived to find very booked with two weddings over the weekend so the noise level was LOUD. our room was next to the laundry room and it seemed to be in action all night. The function room which was holding a disco had the door open onto the court yard and all of us in that corridor of rooms couldnt get to sleep. Customer service was lacking in most areas and staff offered no help. The evening meal was quite poor. The meat was cooked great but the vegetables virtually raw and so hard you couldnt cut or chew them. Portion size very small and we are not big eaters! Service was not good and very slow on all occasions. Breakfast was even more of a disaster with debris(flies) in the whole parties orange juice which was taken from dispenser. After pointing it out it was taken away and within a few mins returned we all could only assume it had been strained. staff offered no apology and it all seemed a matter of usual course of the day .Would not recommend staying here apart from the convenience of travel. the whole of our party agreed it was disappointing in many ways

Room Tip: rooms 1 - 10 very noisy higher floor near the front better
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artdeco61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
There are newer reviews for Westmead Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2011

We tried to stay at the Westmead on the 3 September, arriving at 4pm in the afternoon to try to check in to be told that the hotel was overbooked for the night and we were being transferred to another hotel that was 20 minutes down the road. We weren’t best please as we had made the reservation in July to stay there with friends.

The receptionist was very un-helpful and didn’t seem to care that our weekend was spoilt having been moved hotels away from our friends. She reluctantly agreed to pay for a taxi as a transfer between the two hotels, however they managed to book the taxi to collect us from the wrong hotel, meaning we were late for the party we were due to attend.

I was promised after we tried to check in that I would receive a phone call from the hotel management on Monday morning to apologies for the situation, needless to say that it’s now Friday and after a complaint email sent I’ve still not heard a word from them.

I wouldn’t recommend making a reservation with this hotel, from our experience you are likely to be moved to a different hotel and the management don’t care about the inconvenience caused.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Windsorgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The Westmead has been around for a while and looks after its customers very well. Rooms are comfortable with free wi-fi which is a lot better than some major chain hotels. Breakfast is first rate with excellent and friendly service. The hotel is close to the M42 and provides easy access to Birmingham and also to the beauty spots of Warwickshire and Worcestershire. The Red Lion pub at nearby Alvechurch provides scumptious food and is very popular with locals.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Massacio1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

arrived here with no greeting and having to lug two large cases up two flights of stairs. We were offered no help at all with these just left to get on with it.

Our first night the fire alarms woke us up at 6.30am after being kept awake most of the night through
banging doors and noise from one of the two weddings that were
going on.

The second night was slightly better although breakfast was very disappointing the next morning.
We did have a nice carvery on the Sunday for a reasonable price but trying to talk to our guests proved difficult as the music was far too loud.
The domestic staff were very cheerful and helpful but most of the staff didnt even greet you as they passed you. the final night we had a meal at tge hotel and boy was that poor. steak which wasnt cooked enough with 7 chips a mushroom and a tomato for £16.00!!! very disappointing. An early night followed and more noise early morning as a group of builders were in full voice at 6am. This hotel has the potential to be very good but lacks a number of vital elements

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scooterboy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I hold a weekly function at The Westmead
Myself & my members now look forward to Mondays!!
Quality Venue ,Easy to get to,
Friendly & Professional Owners & Staff ,
that are eager to help in any way.
Great rooms , food ,drinks &
a function room to suit any occassion.
Simply Superb
jj

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newlifepractice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We were looking for a central location for a meeting of a group with shared interests who live in all parts of the UK, and found the rates offered for bed & breakfast (£70 for a double room) and a meeting room (£75) with private dining in the evening were the best on offer. We were well looked after, with the service at dinner prompt but unobtrusive, and a good 3 course meal for £25.

Bar prices a bit high but no more than you would expect in a hotel. Good breakfast and pleasant staff throughout our stay. Easy to find just off the M42 and it's highly likely our group will meet there again.

The events team Janine, Sam and Kelly were very helpful throughout as our numbers fluctuated and although there were a couple of mix ups over the room bookings everything was promptly sorted out.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I have stayed in this hotel many times whilst visiting Birmingham for business. Whilst the rooms are a great size and the bed are huge the service particulary in the restaurant is poor. The televisions are in a desperate need of an update as you can rarely get more than 4 channels. Price is reasonable however if you need to use your mobile I would not recommend as it seems to be a signal blackspot. Overall ok if you are just doing an overnight stay and need somewhere to put your head down as the beds are fab!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emslou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#28 of 118 in Birmingham
980 reviews
Edgbaston
The Eaton Hotel
The Eaton Hotel
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
612 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#65 of 118 in Birmingham
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Conference Aston Hotel
#59 of 118 in Birmingham
456 reviews
Hillscourt
#1 of 1 in Rednal
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmead Hotel

Address: Redditch Road | Hopwood, Birmingham B48 7AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £48 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Westmead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmead Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing