We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made to feel welcome at every level”
Review of Westmead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westmead Hotel
Ranked #40 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We held my mother,s reception following her funeral at the Westmead. Ben and Jesse Panesar and their excellent staff made us most welcome and at ease despite the sad occasion. The event passed by without fault. The food and drink was freshly prepared and the pastries and scones to die for(forgive the pun). The Afternoon Tea Menu at £9.95 is great value for money. The hotel is spotless,well laid out and easy to get to being only a short distance from J2 of the M42. Do not hesitate to try it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob9109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

We booked this hotel due to its reasonable price and location to Cadbury world. It was okay but a wedding going on that night ensured that our little daughter and ourselves hardly slept at all. Guests of the wedding in the surrounding rooms spent all night til early hours back and forth to their rooms slamming doors then around midnight someone started playing knock a door run which we reported to reception. No lift in hotel so if you have a pram it's quite impractical. Room was clean and tidy, okay for a place to sleep when visiting attractions but that's all really. Not very family friendly and I wouldn't stay again. We were told a small amount would be held against our card for duration of our stay but that no money would be taken, the next day we were advised that money taken we would receive back in next few days, not good if your are on a budget and not expecting extra money to be taken out of your account. Luckily nothing was actually taken extra but it was quite worrying at the time. Breakfast and evening meals were expensive so we drove a couple of mins down th road to a nice pub that did meals at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: If you have a baby or small children ask for a room away from wedding guests otherwise they simply w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahSol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Me and my partner stayed here lastnight as part of a Valentines package, we paid £99 for a 4 course meal with champgne and an overnight stay including breakfast.. the value for money was excellent and the food was faultless, the staff working in the resturant and reception were very welcoming and nothing was to much trouble!
Our room was spacious and very clean and was everything and more than we expected!
The evening was lovely and we will definately visit again, thank you Westmead for making our night special :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday night as we were attending a wedding reception and were really impressed with the standard of the rooms . Massive Bed , Very Clean and well maintained . The evening was lovely , the bride and groom seemed very relaxed and happy with their evening despite the disaster of the first snow of the year ! I think the bar staff in the function room were slightly inexperienced and had a few mishaps but managed quite well. Food and room service were lovey quality . Reception staff were really friendly and helpful and I even received a call on the Monday after to advise that they had found our coat and bank card in the room before we had even realized that we had left them!Very honest and friendly hotel.Would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Wonderful hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable and very good value. Staff are friendly, helpful, efficient and food is superb. I had my wedding here as I have been so impressed with them. Staff were wonderful from start to finish. Everything was exceptionally well organised - we did not have to worry about anything. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisymay37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This hotel is independently owned and this is reflected in incredibly friendly, flexible and personal service, with nothing proving too much trouble for any of the staff we encountered throughout our experience. (e.g. we asked for extra tea bags and coffeee sachets and 5 minutes later tea and coffee arrived in our room, ready-made, at no extra cost!)

As wedding guests, we were allocated room 29 which is large, very well appointed, utterly sound-proof and has a bed big enough for 4 (not that we tested this theory!) The wedding dinner and buffet were both great and service was speedy without being intrusive.

Taking account of the facilities offered, the semi-rural setting combined with the convenience of being 5 minutes from the M42, (and easily accessible for the excellent shopping of Birmingham and Solihull) and the exceptional service we received, the hotel is incredible value for money and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirminghamTweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel for the first time as part of a conference with 40 delegates. It is quite unpretentious but turned out to be an excellent find. First it is very good value for delegate and overnight rates. Decor is well looked after, bedrooms clean, bedroom heating adjustable and more than adequate. Room includes tea coffee, large TV, good quality soaps etc. Food was excellent, they served a table of 40 and all food excellently presented, my lamb cooked to perfection. Conference facilities good, with plenty of coffee, free wi-fi and good rooms. Manager and staff could not do enough to be supportive especially when more turned up to dinner than we booked.

Outside if you enjoy a walk or run is a quiet country lane (to the side of the hotel), leading to the canal and North Worcester Country Path, and charming country side pubs. You are on the edge of Worcester countryside but conveniently located for trips into Birmingham.

For the price I rate this hotel as excellent and will be booking further events.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Speigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#73 of 118 in Birmingham
1,122 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Conference Aston Hotel
#61 of 118 in Birmingham
475 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmead Hotel

Address: Redditch Road | Hopwood, Birmingham B48 7AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £50 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westmead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmead Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing