We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great Hotel...”
Review of Westmead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westmead Hotel
Ranked #45 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for a family wedding in May and what a great find.

From check in to check out the staff were magnificent and could not do anymore to make the stay better.

My wife even left her dress in the room and when I came to collect it a week later the team had kept it safe and handed it back on a hanger.

All in all a hotel I would reccomend to anyone and I wish Ben and the team all the best.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCHands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

We had our wedding here on 28th April this year. I can't thank the staff enough for their outstanding service. Throughout the whole process, from the day we booked we never came across a staff member who was anything less than brilliant. The staff all seem happy in their work and this really reflects on the experience. Sam helped us to plan our wedding and was very friendly and professional throughout. Every visit we made to the hotel to meet with Sam or to sample our wedding meal we found everyone so lovely, it put me at total ease about having one of the biggest days of our lives there. All of my family and friends commented on the hotel, the staff and the food. Nothing was too much trouble and the day flowed beautifully. Working in a service industry myself I am very aware that people are very quick to make complaints but are less enthusiastic when it comes to paying compliments. From start to finish everyone at the Westmead did everything they could and more to ensure we had a truely special day and I don't think this review even comes close to showing just how much we appreciate everything that they all did. From the housekeeping staff to the owner, everyone was lovely. Anyone looking to book their wedding or wedding reception then I can assure you, The Westmead would not let you down.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Junction 2 and the Hopwood services on the M42 is often a convenient point for us to break our journey and have stayed to the south of the junction at the neaby Travelodge and Abbey Hotel on numerous occasions.We have travelled on the A441 into Birmingham passing the Westmead Hotel and have to say it has never really had an immediate kerb appeal. We recently needed a Saturday night stay in the area and the hotel's price was attractive we booked a room and so pleased we stayed there From the airy reception area and wide corridors the hotel had a most welcoming feel to it The hotel was very busy,wedding,birthday party,gymnastic group but the service at all points of contact was excellent; in reception and particularly in the restaurant..Thought the steak and lamb prices were high but the rest of the menu was priced more realistically.
Our room(8) was a good size ,well appointed and decorated ,spotlessly clean and fresh with large bathroom. Only disappointment was we had no view;

Room Tip: If you are staying any length of time you may wish to a have a view so Room 8 maynot be for you !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DurhamJeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Spent three nights here at the end of easter week. had a family room and it was amazing. plenty space for the children and a nice little touch of having sweets and colour books for them in the room on arrival. The room was lovely well decorated and very comfortable.

The food in the bar was excellent and the kids really enjoyed the kids meals. Ths staff were very pleasant partculary the girl on reception when we checked in and out and throughout our stay.

Breakfast was good with all the kids finding something they liked. there was a good choice of cerals, juices and other continetal as well as cooked and can i say the girl serving the cooked breakfast on all three mornings was most helpful and cheerful.

Had such a good trip have booked for the same event alreayd next year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmarog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed here a couple of days ago with my husband and two children, and intially we booked it due to it being so close to Cadbury World. Unfortunately they did not have any family rooms available but the receptionist was helpful and said she could put two single beds into a double room, which was fine. On arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful.The room itself was ok, had a nice flat screen tv on the wall, good choice of channels including programmes for the children and was clean, plus free wifi, but it was a little dated and could have done with a makeover. We asked for an extra pillow and was brought one which was extremely lumpy and all twisted up, and we were told 'sorry but that's all we had'. Breakfast was not a bad choice of a Full English, along with toast / fruit and some cereals, though no children cereal was available. Three different types of fruit juices though on the Sunday morning they did run out of apple juice. On the Saturday night we made the mistake of ordering room service, which included a cheese sandwich, cheese on toast and a hot chocolate. You would not think that they could not it wrong, but they did. Despite the roomservice menu claming to offer you a choice of bread / roll etc for the sandwich, nothing was offered, and though there was supposed to be crisps with the sandwich, they did not arrive. The cheese on toast was a bit of melted cheese on bread and the hot chocolate was more water than chocolate. We had to wait 35 minutes for this and we were told that they chef had gone home plus we had to pay £2.00 tray charge for this. We were unable to eat the cheese on bread (supposed to be toast) or the watery hot drink and when we complained the next day, we did receive an apology and was told it would be taken off the bill. However when we went to check out, the £14.00 charge was still on the bill and when we queried it we were told we would have to wait until the owner had arrived. We left and I received a phone call later that morning saying that as a gesture of goodwill they would 'split the cost' I explained how I thought this was not reasonable as the food was not as described, had not been eaten and we were told we did not have to pay for it. However they did not want to know. So would I go back - no, not because of the price but the principle, this is not good service and I don't like to be lied to.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times when in the area on business. The Westmead is a typical business hotel; the service is friendly and the standards generally OK, but no 'wow' factor.

Have found the staff to be friendly on the whole and food in the restaurant is fine.

The rooms are a good size but somewhat dated and I found the cleanliness to be patchy and inconsistent.

Fine to stay in for a brief overnight stop if you need to be in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny_c-l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We spent two nights here in February when we realised what a great location the hotel is for touring the area - we spent one day in Brimingham at the Back-to-Backs, another day in Stratford upon Avon and another day at Warwick, all within easy striking distance of the hotel. Loads of parking at the rear and reasonable quiet.

Check-in was good and free WiFi was an added bonus, the room was large with easy chairs and a small table and a very comfortable bed. Overall, whilst clean the room felt as if a bit of TLC wouldn't go amiss.

We ate in the first night and after some indecision ate from the bar menu - the restaurant menu was quite simply nothing to right home about and pricey to boot, the bar menu was OK but not much better than you'd get in a decent pub.

Breakfast was however much better, cereals etc on a buffet table with cooked breakfasts made to order and served to your table, smoked salmon one morning and bacon and eggs the next, all served with hot toast again brought to your table, not a self-serve thingy.

The second night we ate out in Birmingham and managed to get locked out on our return. We were just having a bit of a panic about how to get in when a night porter arrived from no-where and let us in!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinkerbell013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#67 of 118 in Birmingham
1,112 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#29 of 118 in Birmingham
987 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
The Eaton Hotel
The Eaton Hotel
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
615 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#39 of 118 in Birmingham
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmead Hotel

Address: Redditch Road | Hopwood, Birmingham B48 7AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £50 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westmead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmead Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing