We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family break”
Review of Westmead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westmead Hotel
Ranked #46 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic family break”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Superb weekend away. Great rate including a visit to Cadburys World. The staff extremely helpful and friendly. The room was spacious accommodating 2 adults and 2 children. Our bed was enormous! The restaurant was lovely with a good choice of food and I have to say the food was delicious. The staff loved the children. They even provided activity packs and chocolate in the room for the children. All in all a lovely experience and will definitely book again.

Room Tip: I asked for a newly renovated room but apparently the hotel has very nearly finished the refurbishme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaJane_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    164
    75
    39
    26
See reviews for
192
159
19
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

First of all I am remiss in not writing this review sooner. The hotel location is great for those in need of easy drives around the south side of Birmingham, and with easy access to the M42, its a perfect roadway location (its not to close to the roads so there is no road noise to speak of.)
There is ample parking, the lobby is excellent, and the rooms remind me of American hotels. Beds were comfortable, tea and coffee in room, free wi-fi (yes free, unlike the big chains in the UK who should be embarrassed!) excellent breakfast choices and a friendly bar with dinner available at night as well as a restaurant. The staff were excellent and always trying to help and the manager even came over to identify himself and offer his condolences when he heard why we were there.
Prices were good for the rooms and the food and drink, however the real value was the staff, who were unlike the staff in many English hotels I have stayed at in that they were polite, helpful and would always make themselves available to assist with anything.
I could not find fault in this hotel, all elements of the hotel were very good to excellent and I plan to use it exclusively when returning to the same area on future visits to see family. Thanks to all the staff that made our stay most welcome.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We were arranging a birthday surprise for our 9 year old to Cadbury World and wanted to stay over after a day of eating chocolate all day!
We found this hotel on the Internet and it had a special offer of 1 night accommodation and included entry tickets to Cadbury World.
We arrived at 11.30 and the room was ready to check in, so we walked around, got familiar with the property and then drove about 10 mins to CW.
We had booked dinner for that evening, it was a set menu with a good selection, but it was not set in stone, Jamie was our host for the evening and nothing was too much trouble, he was welcoming and informative about everything on the menu.
The food was great, a good wine list and a lovely setting for dinner and to celebrate my daughter 's birthday.
The room was perfect for us, we had 2 twin beds made up into a Super King and 2 small camp beds for my daughters, it was ideal, bathroom was an adequate size, heating was just right and tea/coffee facilities was just perfect.
All in all, the weekend was great, good location and great hotel with lovely staff. Thank you!

Room Tip: Maybe if there are many families or groups, request a room away from them as it can be a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Fiona-AW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We havent actually stayed here but have had saturday and Sunday lunch as the hotel is only a short drive from where we live.

The Hotel itself is a little dated but the staff are always really friendly and the food is reasonably priced for hotel food. The Sunday lunch is a carvery and it is always fairly quiet in the restaurant which we like.

All in all s lovely place to go and chill out :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CnD08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My husband and I recently went to the WestMead Hotel for a special Valentine Meal on the 14th February 2013. We had done this the previous year and were very pleased with the quiet restaurant and quality of food, so we decided to repeat the experience. However, this year, was a disaster from start to finish. Firstly, we were asked to pay up front for our meals before we even had them. I do not think this is good customer practice for several obvious reasons. I expressed my concerns about this before the meal to the hotel manager via email. The manager assured me that if we could not make the meal or were not happy with the food we would be given a voucher. I do not think this is good enough. Customers should be entitled to their money back and not forced to go back to the restaurant again. However, I accepted this and we went along to the valentine meal. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by a young girl who asked us our names and pointed to where we would be sitting. I was shocked to see that we would not be sitting in the restaurant and our table was situated, along with many other tables, in the bar area. There were lots of people dining and the tables were close together and it was quite noisy. People were constantly moving back and forth along the small gap between our table and the others. We felt cramped and felt like we were in a gold fish bowl with no privacy at all. It seemed as if the hotel had just crammed in as many customers as possible without any regard for the customers concerened. I was very disappointed at this and it was nothing like the previous year. Had I known this I would not have paid £25 pounds each for the meal. For starters I had the avacado with cheese which, I have to say, was pathetic. I managed to find a very small piece of avacado underneath the salad and ate my starter in a matter of seconds. My husband had the fish cake which seemed to be at least more filling. For our main meals we both had the rib eye steak. I ordered my steak medium. When my steak arrived and I cut it up ( a steak knife was not provided) the steak was very pink in the middle and the blood was oozing out. My plate was a wash with blood and I felt quite sick. After this I could not eat my steak at all and I left it. My husbands steak was well done so he was Ok and ate his meal. I ate the mash and veg which was ok. For dessert we asked if we could have cheese and biscuites as this was not on the menu. We were told we could have this but we would have to pay extra, which I was not happy about at all. We were served our cheese platter without any butter or a knife to use and we had to ask for this. No grapes were provided with the platter which is normally the case. What annoyed me more than anything else was that we were asked by a waitress if we wanted to pay for our wine at the end of the meal or pay as you go. We thought this a bit odd but said we would pay as we go. Whilst my husband was eating his starter the waitress came over and asked my husband to pay for the wine. My husband had to stop eating and pay for the wine. I was very angry at this but said nothing as I could see myhusband was already angry. What kind of way is this to treat customers? It is rude to iterrupt people to ask them to pay for an item whilst they are eating! I left the hotel hungry as I all had eaten was the cheese a tiny bit of avacado. When you pay £25 pound for a meal plus extra for dessert you should not leave the hotel hungry as I did. I am very disappointed with the meal and the whole way the tables were laid out. I will never go to the hotel again, not even if they paid me!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diamondlady11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I had been to this place with my wife just few months before, to meet a friend. Each activity from check in to check out, was very smooth and pleasant. We didn’t knew, much about the place, one of my colleagues advised me to stay here. Thanks a lot to him. We booked our room on the second floor, so could not catch good views of that place. But, the size of the room was good and possessed things of need not gilded and stuffed with useless things. Food was perfect, but a little expensive than other places. Our stay was very comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmngham
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Second stay at the Westmead - little apprehensive ... would it be as good as last time ?
Absolutely. The staff at check in were friendly and helpful; super meal in the restaurant, large clean bed rooms and a comfortable bed finished with a great breakfast the following morning.
Really enjoyed our stay again - would recommend the hotel strongly based on our two visits. Special mention for Jamie in the restaurant who typifies everything good about the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#26 of 117 in Birmingham
967 reviews
Hillscourt
#1 of 1 in Rednal
91 reviews
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 117 in Birmingham
1,093 reviews
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#88 of 117 in Birmingham
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmead Hotel

Property: Westmead Hotel
Address: Redditch Road | Hopwood, Birmingham B48 7AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westmead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmead Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing