We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Westmead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westmead Hotel
Ranked #47 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just an overnight stay as we were driving on in the morning. Dinner B&B, absolute great service from the receptionist who was only covering for the night and could not stop apologising, however there was no need to she did a great job in checking us in, the head waiter at our evening meal was absolutely fantastic made us feel very special, our breakfast was scrummy and our bedroom was clean and at the right temperature, i.e. not too hot or cold. Great place but the service was amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    162
    74
    39
    26
See reviews for
190
156
19
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmngham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We held our wedding at the Westmead Hotel on 29th June and we would recommend the hotel as an excellent wedding venue in a heartbeat.
The team at the hotel worked hard to ensure the wedding party and the guests enjoyed the day and their efforts paid off. Nothing was too much trouble either in the preparation meetings we held with the excellent wedding coordinator - Samantha - or the chef -Michael - who helped us choose our menu. Other members of the team who stand out for their attention to detail and desire to please include the manager Alistair,the waitress Carol, Simon the first rate Master of Ceremonies and Dean - the dancing barman ! The Manager - Jamie deserves a special mention for his ability to make you feel valued and special.
The food was excellent - many of our guests commented on how good it was both for the wedding breakfast and the evening supper. Breakfast was really good with a wide choice of continental and traditional breakfast choices appreciated by those who made it in time ! The rooms were excellent - well presented and clean.
The day had been planned for many months and we had a fabulous time due in no small part to the efforts of the Westmead team. Special thanks go to the the owner Ben who made sure our day was everything we wanted it to be and who must take great credit for the quality of his team and their approach.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I knew it of old (my wedding there 51+ years ago). Visiting my family in Birmingham over the years I thought the "new" Westmead Hotel would be out of my price range. Looking on the web I found it was not, if a late booking. What a find. It has everything a hotel should have, for me. It is extremely clean, staff so warm and friendly in reception, housekeeping and bar/restaurant. This especially important when traveling alone. Food is very good too - all served with a smile. What more could you ask. Here's to my next visit - tomorrow.

Room Tip: Higher and furthest away floor was very quiet - as long as you can get help with your luggage on arr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We booked a Chocoholic Break (£99. incl breakfast for 2 adults & 2 children) as we'd planned to visit Cadbury world and were looking for a hotel to stay nearby. This was perfect. We expected it to be in Birmingham as it was near to Bournville but it is in a lovely country setting on the outskirts of Birmingham so that was a bonus. We upgraded our room to a suite at an extra cost of £30.00 but it was well worth it as the room was huge and the living area with a sofa bed for the children was in a separate room which gave us and the children privacy. So often in hotels the family room only has a small camp bed stuck in the corner to fit in the children but this was ideal for us with 2 teenage boys. The staff were very helpful and when we asked for more milk for the complimentary tea & Coffee a staff member produced a jug of fresh milk within a minute of our request. We opted to dine in the restaurant and were pleasantly surprised at the menu for a meal costing only £30.00 for 4 (again prebooked as an option to the package). You can go a la carte and pay a supplement if you go over £20.00 per person but we were happy with the choice on the set menu. Breakfast was excellent and despite returning the boiled egg and soldiers (eggs were hard) a replacement was supplied straight away with fresh sildiers and gooey yolks the rest of the food was excellent. They had the usual buffet but also an extensive cooked menu including scrambled egg with smoked salmon, Eggs benedict, bacon or sausage rolls, full English. The staff were very friendly and helpful this was better that expected and very good value for money.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a suite for £30.00 extra. You could ask for a room at the back of the hotel if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinefromhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Unfortunately only stopped one night but this was a very nice hotel. The room was very nice and very clean. Staff was friendly, efficient and hepful. Food was good. Little to say about this hotel other than I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We chose the Westmead Hotel for our wedding venue on Saturday 3rd August and we cannot recommend the place highly enough. I knew it was going to be an incredible day from the moment we met Sam, our wedding coordinator. She knows her stuff and answered any questions we had.

Myself (the bride) and various other family members checked in on the 2nd Aug, our rooms were lovely and clean and we all enjoyed a beautiful 3 course meal in the restaurant. The food was amazing.

On Saturday, Following our wedding at a nearby church we arrived back at the westmead to be greeted by Simon, who is an absolute credit to the hotel, myself and my husband along with our guests enjoyed arrival drinks of pimms followed by our wedding breakfast. This was amazing, the food was delicious, everybody cleared their plates. The service was impeccable and nothing was too much trouble.
The evening reception was a blast and everybody thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Breakfast was really good too.
Thankyou Ben, your staff are an absolute credit to you.
I cannot put into words what an amazing day we had and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisajtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We got married at The Westmead on August 2nd 2013 and there is no doubt in my mind that we couldn't have picked a better venue.

The rooms were superbly clean, very well presented and very spacious. The beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept on and the bathroom was second to none.

The staff there were so helpful and friendly whilst still remaining professional. A few in particular stood out for us. Samantha our wedding coordinator was incredible throughout our stay, Simon who helped out behind the scenes massively and most of all our master of ceremony and operations manager Jamie. He is the kindest, friendliest person I've ever had the pleasure of meeting and helped make our wedding day absolutely perfect. He was friendly to our guests and no job was too big or small for him to make our day run smoothly. I genuinely feel he played a massive part in making our wedding day the best.

The location of the hotel is perfect, just set back enough from the main road for you to feel a sense of tranquility and peace but local enough to the pub and garage down the road less than 10 minutes walk.

The food was absolutely second to none and our guests couldn't have been happier meaning we were absolutely delighted with our day, the venue, the service and the quality.

I couldn't recommend this hotel more to anybody whether it's just for a stay at the hotel or for an occasion.

Incredible

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kategrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#28 of 117 in Birmingham
948 reviews
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
584 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#63 of 117 in Birmingham
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmead Hotel

Property: Westmead Hotel
Address: Redditch Road | Hopwood, Birmingham B48 7AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westmead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmead Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing