We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Selly Oaks”
Review of Westmead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westmead Hotel
Ranked #46 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Guildford UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Better than Selly Oaks”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here rather than the University of Birmingham conference Park or a Birmingham City centre hotel. Rooms were very quiet spacious and clean, reception was very efficient and friendly. Breakfast let the stay down with very little to choose from, tea and coffee running out and one person serving hot breakfasts with a queue of over 20 people waiting. Quility of food when you got it was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    163
    74
    39
    26
See reviews for
191
157
19
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Over the last 8 years I've stayed at this hotel over 30 times.

Not through choice but through the proximity to my head office.

Over that period the hotel has made massive steps to improve. I have to say the place is run really well. If you're after a cheap hotel that is clean and the staff are attentive then this is the place.

Cheap, tidy, neat, polite are the best words to describe this place.

The negatives

It lacks character, charm, warmth, hustle and bustle. The bar I've never seen more than 4 people in. Same as the restaurant always empty.

Wireless. Or specifically the lack of it are the main reason for me vowing never to return again. Internet access has to be the major pre requisite for any person unlucky enough to have to work away and live in a hotel like Alan Partridge. Every time I've stayed there internet access is limited to specific spots in the hotel, Ive yet to find where these mystery spots are but I'm assured me they are there.

Anyway enough moaning. Ben the manager is doing a sterling job and his employing of attentive staff is working from a service point of view. Just sort the chuffing wifi out and get the bar buzzing.



Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank placid_casual_leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is the second time we have stayed her in the last couple of months, originally we stayed for the chocolate break with a visit to Cadbury World. We were made very welcome and the staff were fantastic basically nothing was too much form them to do for an enjoyable stay. As a family with a baby this can be so hard to find. We then booked to stay in mid October half term as a stop off on our way for half term break in Somerset due to the welcome at the first visit. Nothing was different, whether it was the welcome desk, bar, restaurant all the staff were excellent and went well beyond what was expected.
We will visit again as for us its a great stop off point with good value.
A+++++ to all the staff

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Just got back from a stay at the westmead hotel for my daughters 4th birthday, we booked the chocoholics package staying the 23rd october to 24th october,which included dinner, bed, breakfast and tickets to Cadbury world. Well to start with the receptionist was really welcoming and friendly and nothing seemed to much trouble even asking if she can store the presents, balloons and cake for the next day as this break was a surprise for our daughter and there were no problems what so ever,the room was basic but clean and perfect for our family the added touches of chocolates and activity pack was a lovely idea. We made reservations for the restaurant and all i can say we was blown away by the service all the staff were so attentive and nothing seamed trouble at all, very friendly outgoing staff with a smile on there face. The next morning we went down for breakfast once again all staff were fantastic especially being so attentive with us all and preparing our table with the balloons ready for my daughter seeing them.After breakfast they brought her birthday cake out with added sparkler that they had sorted, I even asked if they would sing happy birthday again so I could record it and the gentleman sorry do not know his name went straight back into the kitchen and came back out with another sparkler for the cake and I thought that was such a nice touch especially twice. The staff had even put the rest of the balloons on our room door my daughter loved this so thank you, the food was delicious and I would definitely recommend this hotel package money well spent, thank you to all your staff it made our stay even more special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princesskizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had a family wedding on 13th October 2013
The rooms are excellent
Service from staff was also excellent
Clean towels every day
The food was very good
The Hotel Manager was extremely friendly and even knew our names
I would recommend this Hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Room 24 is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I've stayed overnight on business on a couple of occasions recently. The service from the welcoming staff has been attentive and the food has been of particularly good quality. The overall experiences have been very comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed here on 25/8/2013 for a close family wedding and cannot fault the hotel.

All aspects of the wedding ceremony went smoothly and were well organised and timed perfectly.

The food was perfect and at other weddings i have attended at other establishments i have found that the food is either tasteless or cold due to the amount of meals being served. Not at the Westmead - the food was tasty and despite a little hiccup during the photographs where the bridesmaid was stung by a wasp which meant we were around 30mins behind schedule the food was still served piping hot! To start we had a cheese and onion tartlet which isn't normally something i would like but it was lovely, the main was pork in a cider apple sauce with a range of vegetables and the dessert was a dark chocolate torte with an orange sorbet which was just perfect!

All the staff were really friendly from the girl on reception, the waitresses serving the food to the bar staff on the evening and they went out of their way to help with anything required by the large wedding party. I also felt that the master of the ceremonies (didn't get his name) was excellent.

The room was great, clean, modern and reasonably priced at £59, all members of the wedding party were grouped together in a section of the hotel (except the bride and groom who had a suite) and i thought this was a good idea as our rooms were overlooking the reception area and therefore other guests not attending the wedding could have rooms situated away from the loud reception area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Hillscourt
#1 of 1 in Rednal
88 reviews
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
595 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#65 of 117 in Birmingham
1,088 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
956 reviews
The Beeches
#84 of 117 in Birmingham
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmead Hotel

Property: Westmead Hotel
Address: Redditch Road | Hopwood, Birmingham B48 7AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#8 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westmead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmead Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing