We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night stay but didnt want to leave and will definitely be going back!”
Review of Westmead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westmead Hotel
Ranked #46 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel last night for 1 night with my husband and 2 children (9 and 6) on their wild at heart package (inc west mids safari park tickets and 1 night b and b for 99 pounds - amazing value). Hotel itself is lovely - modern but warm and inviting decor. Reception staff were polite and pleasant. We were given a large family room with a huge king sized bed and two seperate child beds which was great! Room was spotless with large widescreen tv mounted on wall. Now there was a wedding going on and you could certainly hear it around the reception and bar area but we were in room 51 and you couldnt hear any noise there whatsoever! We did have a fire alarm in the middle of the night but it was turned off before we could leave the room and a letter of apology and assuring us there was no fire was pushed under our door shortly afterwards which i thought was an excellent idea. Hotel itself is located near a lovely pub that has gorgeous gardens and backs onto a picturesque canal. We visited the nearby village alvechurch for dinner which was lovely - nice couple of pubs, co-op, chippy and chinese and indian takeaway. Breakfast in hotel was again excellent - wide variety of food and 3 members of staff waiting on us. All in all an outstanding hotel :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DebbieSkull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben P, Owner at Westmead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to say thank you for the wonderful review that you have shared in TripAdvisor regarding your stay at the Westmead Hotel.

Your kind comments regarding the hotels environment, aesthetic beauty of the location, restaurant and most specially the high standard of service provided by our colleagues fills the imagination of our future guests with good impression, for this we will be forever grateful.

I am delighted that you thought the room was spotless and more than adequate . And that you found us to be of great value for money.

We will definitely be looking forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back for another memorable vacation ,perhaps the nearby Cadburys World visit!

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
There are newer reviews for Westmead Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Had a 3 night stay on business and found the hotel and staff very nice, the room was spotless and breakfast and dinner were lovely. We were at the hotel for 3 days training and all facilities were great, my only complaint is that I found the lunch we were provided with a little boring , I would prefer more salad choice, I don't want hot food all the time. I'm hoping my company will choose this hotel again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank susanp993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben P, Owner at Westmead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a recommendation and a positive feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay and conference at the Westmead Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you have been overall impressed with the quality of our hotel facilities and the service provided to you by our colleagues .. Your gracious comments will serve as an added inspiration for our team to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your stay with us.

You will be pleased to know that we have reviewed our conference lunch offering following your feedback .

I will be looking forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to the Westmead.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Nice hotel, very helpful receptionist. The bath was clogged, leaked water downstairs, didn't receive any apology from management, Breakfast overpriced i think, but overall good experience. Would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sufyan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben P, Owner at Westmead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I was very pleased to hear that overall you had a positive stay experience and that you found the service great so much so that you reccomend the hotel to others.

That said, thank you for your comments about the maintenance issue experienced Please rest assured that I have discussed the matter with staff concerned ,and let me apologise for the inconvenience and frustration caused .

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to show the normal standards on offer.

The team and I would like to thank you for choosing Westmead Hotel.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Being woken up very early on a Sunday morning by unacceptable traffic noise knocked this review down from 4 to 3 star. We stayed in Room 60 and contrary to statements made by the management in response to an earlier Trip Advisor review this room does not have double glazing.. We were woken up at 7.00am goodness knows what it is like during the rush hour. Ask for a room at the back, which according to our relatives was peaceful!

The suite itself was great, very clean and tidy with a very large bed and plenty of space compared to some of the rooms we saw. The TV is modern but the instructions for setting a wake-up call in the hotel information need rewriting! If staying more than one night the lack of a fridge might be an issue for you it was not a problem for us. The staff we met were friendly, helpful and very welcoming. Breakfast was just perfect after a late night celebrating a wedding. The late check-out time was very welcome. The location of the Hotel is great. There is a nice enough pub on the canal nearby and if you have time try to support the Community Café next to the Co-op in nearby Alvechurch, great home-made cakes and all day breakfast!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms / suite in the front that look out onto the road the traffic noise is totally unacc...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AbbeyFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben P, Owner at Westmead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Kindly allow me to say thank you for taking the time to share in TripAdvisor your genuine feedback about your recent visit to the Westmead Hotel. We indeed value the comments we receive from our guests because it gives us the opportunity to continue to improve our facilities and the services we provide.

Our team strives to deliver only the best service to our guests and I was delighted that apart from the noise level experienced we met your expectations. Please allow me to stress that we take all our guest feedbacks seriously for these are the cornerstone of our success.

I have also spoken to my fellow Directors about your experience pertaining to the noise level from the roadside traffic ,and we have decided to bring forward the project for additional double glazing to this room. While your overall experiences during your stay are certainly not representative of the high levels we offer, I kindly request you to visit us again and ask for the quieter rooms to the rear of the building.

Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel highly recommend will be going there again! The receptionish sam I think lovely girl very helpful and attentive! Food abit experience but tasty the pub down the road is cheaper and tasty too! Absolutely loved the bed! Huge and super comfy! Only advice is air con the room got far to hot for me other than that amazing can not wait to go again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben P, Owner at Westmead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to say thank you for the wonderful review that you have shared in TripAdvisor with regards to your recent stay with us at the Westmead Hotel.

Your praises for the rooms and the King size beds and its surroundings is highly appreciated.

The comments on food and air conditioning have been noted.

Furthermore, the positive feedback you gave for the outstanding hospitality service provided by Sam at reception , during your stay has been communicated so that all of the team are motivated to provide the same level of service that you experienced during your stay with us.

We will be looking forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to the Westmead for another pleasant stay.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

what can i say from start to finish the whole day was helped by Jamie our MC he helped me get through the day , the room was set out nice the food was great they even catered for our friend who is vegie the children even had big portions we really enjoyed our day and night stay here and will go back on special days , i stayed two nights and all my things was moved by the staff from family room the bridal room well worth it for your big day.
A big thank you to Jamie for all your help ....

Room Tip: do not have a room over the main road at the front it is noisy at night
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayne Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben P, Owner at Westmead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments following your special day with us at the Westmead Hotel.

We are pleased that you had chosen to book with us celebrating your big day and glad that you were extremely delighted with the services of Jamie.

Your feedback with regards to the service experienced is much appreciated and it is also great to note that the children were delighted with meals on offer.

Thank you very much and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

From the moment we booked our wedding with Janine (wedding coordinator) we knew we had made the right decision, nothing was too much trouble. The food was lovely and they catered for a difficult member of the family. The hall and the rooms were lovely. Simon (MC) and Carol made our day, they was both so pleasant and professional. made us both feel at ease and took all our stress away.
Our day was amazing a day we will never forget thanks to the Westmead and all the excellent staff,
We would recommend the hotel and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 37Jackson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben P, Owner at Westmead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor about your special day with us the Westmead Hotel.

We are pleased that you had chosen to have your wedding with us at the Westmead and consider it to be your best hotel experience by far . Thank you for acknowledging the services provided by Janine ,Carol and Simon.

It is nice to hear that our constant effort to provide relaxing environment and efficient services reflects in our guests' experiences. Your kind comment with regards to the cuisine is very much appreciated and glad the team responed to the special requiremts for the one guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Westmead on your next visit and perhaps on your annivesary.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#29 of 118 in Birmingham
977 reviews
Edgbaston
The Eaton Hotel
The Eaton Hotel
#12 of 118 in Birmingham
612 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 118 in Birmingham
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Conference Aston Hotel
#59 of 118 in Birmingham
456 reviews
Hillscourt
#1 of 1 in Rednal
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmead Hotel

Address: Redditch Road | Hopwood, Birmingham B48 7AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £47 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westmead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmead Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing