We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westmead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Westmead Hotel
Ranked #39 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Beautiful place and wonderful staff! We'll worth the money. The place was lovely and clean and we really enjoyed our stay here. Would definitely come back in the future and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben P, Owner at Westmead Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments of your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at the Westmead Hotel and were delighted with the service of our team members as well as the hotel facilities including the well presented clean rooms.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    157
    71
    39
    23
See reviews for
181
151
19
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Nice hotel with friendly staff. We were greeted by Sam, a lovely receptionist who was extremely helpful and attentive with any requests we had. (Was surprised to see her throughout the whole stay though - we stayed for 3 nights.and wondered if she should have gone home at some point) Natalia was also exceptionally attention and we felt very special during our stay as a result.

Food was exceptional and the overall ambience of the hotel was wonderful - really enjoyed it. If in Birmingham we will be sure to stop off here again.

Despite other comments, the hotel is clean to a high standard and any requests you have they go out of their way to help you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben P, Owner at Westmead Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

It is a pleasure reading your comments and glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind acknowledgement of the service of our associates particularly those names mentioned is very much appreciated, which will be passed on to the team. It is also nice to hear that you were delighted with the facilities as well as your dining experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

An absolutely fantastic hotel. Amazing staff, great food and lovely rooms. (Only negative was no air con in rooms.) My sisters wedding from ceremony to evening reception was handled exceptionally. All the guests had a great time ages from 4years-80years

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 030169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben P, Owner at Westmead Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor following your sisiters wedding at the Westmead Hotel .

We are glad to hear that you were delighted with your overall stay at the hotel and were pleased with the hotel facilities as well as the service of our team members.

Having taken note of your comment regarding air conditioning in the bedrooms, I apologize for the inconvenience caused and as we value all our guest feedback to be of utmost importance, it would be very much appreciated if we can have the opportunity to speak to you personally .Please contact me on our main hotel number 0121 445 1202 .

For your information we do have some suites with air conditioning.

Look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel last night for 1 night with my husband and 2 children (9 and 6) on their wild at heart package (inc west mids safari park tickets and 1 night b and b for 99 pounds - amazing value). Hotel itself is lovely - modern but warm and inviting decor. Reception staff were polite and pleasant. We were given a large family room with a huge king sized bed and two seperate child beds which was great! Room was spotless with large widescreen tv mounted on wall. Now there was a wedding going on and you could certainly hear it around the reception and bar area but we were in room 51 and you couldnt hear any noise there whatsoever! We did have a fire alarm in the middle of the night but it was turned off before we could leave the room and a letter of apology and assuring us there was no fire was pushed under our door shortly afterwards which i thought was an excellent idea. Hotel itself is located near a lovely pub that has gorgeous gardens and backs onto a picturesque canal. We visited the nearby village alvechurch for dinner which was lovely - nice couple of pubs, co-op, chippy and chinese and indian takeaway. Breakfast in hotel was again excellent - wide variety of food and 3 members of staff waiting on us. All in all an outstanding hotel :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieSkull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben P, Owner at Westmead Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to say thank you for the wonderful review that you have shared in TripAdvisor regarding your stay at the Westmead Hotel.

Your kind comments regarding the hotels environment, aesthetic beauty of the location, restaurant and most specially the high standard of service provided by our colleagues fills the imagination of our future guests with good impression, for this we will be forever grateful.

I am delighted that you thought the room was spotless and more than adequate . And that you found us to be of great value for money.

We will definitely be looking forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back for another memorable vacation ,perhaps the nearby Cadburys World visit!

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnstaple
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Had a 3 night stay on business and found the hotel and staff very nice, the room was spotless and breakfast and dinner were lovely. We were at the hotel for 3 days training and all facilities were great, my only complaint is that I found the lunch we were provided with a little boring , I would prefer more salad choice, I don't want hot food all the time. I'm hoping my company will choose this hotel again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben P, Owner at Westmead Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a recommendation and a positive feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay and conference at the Westmead Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you have been overall impressed with the quality of our hotel facilities and the service provided to you by our colleagues .. Your gracious comments will serve as an added inspiration for our team to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your stay with us.

You will be pleased to know that we have reviewed our conference lunch offering following your feedback .

I will be looking forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to the Westmead.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Nice hotel, very helpful receptionist. The bath was clogged, leaked water downstairs, didn't receive any apology from management, Breakfast overpriced i think, but overall good experience. Would recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sufyan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben P, Owner at Westmead Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I was very pleased to hear that overall you had a positive stay experience and that you found the service great so much so that you reccomend the hotel to others.

That said, thank you for your comments about the maintenance issue experienced Please rest assured that I have discussed the matter with staff concerned ,and let me apologise for the inconvenience and frustration caused .

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to show the normal standards on offer.

The team and I would like to thank you for choosing Westmead Hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Being woken up very early on a Sunday morning by unacceptable traffic noise knocked this review down from 4 to 3 star. We stayed in Room 60 and contrary to statements made by the management in response to an earlier Trip Advisor review this room does not have double glazing.. We were woken up at 7.00am goodness knows what it is like during the rush hour. Ask for a room at the back, which according to our relatives was peaceful!

The suite itself was great, very clean and tidy with a very large bed and plenty of space compared to some of the rooms we saw. The TV is modern but the instructions for setting a wake-up call in the hotel information need rewriting! If staying more than one night the lack of a fridge might be an issue for you it was not a problem for us. The staff we met were friendly, helpful and very welcoming. Breakfast was just perfect after a late night celebrating a wedding. The late check-out time was very welcome. The location of the Hotel is great. There is a nice enough pub on the canal nearby and if you have time try to support the Community Café next to the Co-op in nearby Alvechurch, great home-made cakes and all day breakfast!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms / suite in the front that look out onto the road the traffic noise is totally unacc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbeyFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben P, Owner at Westmead Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Kindly allow me to say thank you for taking the time to share in TripAdvisor your genuine feedback about your recent visit to the Westmead Hotel. We indeed value the comments we receive from our guests because it gives us the opportunity to continue to improve our facilities and the services we provide.

Our team strives to deliver only the best service to our guests and I was delighted that apart from the noise level experienced we met your expectations. Please allow me to stress that we take all our guest feedbacks seriously for these are the cornerstone of our success.

I have also spoken to my fellow Directors about your experience pertaining to the noise level from the roadside traffic ,and we have decided to bring forward the project for additional double glazing to this room. While your overall experiences during your stay are certainly not representative of the high levels we offer, I kindly request you to visit us again and ask for the quieter rooms to the rear of the building.

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#34 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmead Hotel

Property: Westmead Hotel
Address: Redditch Road | Hopwood, Birmingham B48 7AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Westmead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmead Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing