We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay on the 9th floor and don't let them put you at the front of the hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #65 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We arrived in Birmingham early so went straight to the hotel.We Asked if we could check in and were advised to come back later as the only available Executive room was on the 9th floor and hadn't been refurbished. We left our luggage and went back to the hotel at 2pm, only to be told the only room available was still on the 9th floor. A Different receptionist said it was still a good room, I DON'T THINK SO. It was the smallest room with the smallest bed I had ever seen, the bed linen was from the 70's and you could only just move in the Bathroom and there was a tiny space for clothes. There was a door in the corner of the room leading straight outside to the top of the hotel there were no curtains just wooden sliding shutters.
I checked the internet ( They offer free Wi-fi ) and this wasn't the Executive room advertised on the website. We went back to reception to complain and on checking the computer ( only 15minutes later) there was a room available.
The new room was fantastic, it had the biggest bed I'd ever seen, there were built in wardrobes with an electronic safe, flat screen tv and a huge bathroom. Finally the Executive we'd paid for. The only problem was we were at the front of the hotel opposite all the bars and nightclubs, at 2am they all shut and from then until 4am the noise was horrendous, I left the hotel exhausted.
Another tip don't pay for breakfast, I have stayed in Holiday Inns before and the food and layout wasn't a patch on previous hotels. Dont waste your money there are plenty of places to eat near the hotel.
The hotel is in the centre of town the train station and Shopping centres are a 5-10 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buffy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear Buffy1981,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay at our hotel. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our management team. We look forward to welcoming you back as a guest in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,585 - 1,591 of 1,658 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night with family. We booked two double rooms but were allocated two twin rooms instead.In our original room on the seventh floor the bedroom mirror was dirty, and the corridor was littered with used bedlinen- the cleaners were still working, but I dont think that dumping used linen by the doors is really appropriate practice. The receptionist was apologetic when we requested a new, double roo, and we were allocated one on a different floor. The rooms are fine, basic, with a bit of an oldish feel to them, not much attention to detail- binliners not tied around the bins is one of my pet hates. The bath drained extremely slowly, by the time I finished my shower it was nearly overflowing.
Breakfast in the morning was delicous, huge selection, I am vegetarian and was provided with veggie sausages on request, so no complaints there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimeaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear TimeaRose,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay at our hotel. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our management team. We look forward to welcoming you back as a guest in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Stayed at the Holiday inn for a friends birthday party nearby... the hotel is slap bang in the middle of Birmingham, well placed for bars, clubs and shopping.... if you drive to this destination then be prepared to pay £16 to park your car for an overnight stay (NCP car park adjacent to hotel) .
Breakfast is buffet style and we got a discount from the usual £15 each to £9.50 each , which in my opinion is still expensive....
The hotel is smart and modern, reception staff were efficient and welcoming... room 626 was very nice , good comfortable bed with plenty of pillows , good size flat screen tv on the wall, ironing board , tea and coffee facilities... very nice bathroom with large shower ... All in all a good stay ... one comment though about breakfast, Holiday inn please dont leave the fried eggs wallowing in oil , those toast machines are so slow , you really need at least two on the go at the same time ...... but the sausages were gorgeous !(One word of advice.. check that the barrier is not already up at the exit in the car park BEFORE you pay for your car park ticket in the allocated machines, we paid our £16 only to find the exit barrier up and we could have driven straight out and saved our money!!)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunidaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear sunidaze,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay at our hotel. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our management team. We look forward to welcoming you back as a guest in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Staff got bill wrong charged me twice, ordered wine and wrong wine came 20 minutes later, cold bread rolls when advertises as hot, all food was frozen no fresh food. lifts were out of order on departure meaning we had to walk down a fire escape, male prostitudes outside hotel front door. very poor service when you have a problem.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmuch2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Dear Travelmuch2402,

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We stayed here in December 2010 for a Sat night. It was a last minute decision to book a hotel, and we had trouble finding a room. This was the only one we could find in the city centre. Hadn't stayed in a Holiday Inn before and wasn't expecting much more than a room of similar standard to an Ibis or Travelodge.
We stayed on the top floor, and was immediately struck by how big the room was. The bed was absolutely massive. Nice big flatscreen tv hung on the wall. Our room had a great view of Birmingham city centre.
It was about 10 minutes walk away from New Street Station, and the shopping district was also 10-15 minutes walk away. Ideally located for shopping trips, or nights out.
We went to a club night at the HMV Institute but the room was so cosy and comfortable, we didn't want to leave and go out in the end.
Overall a pleasant surprise, and definitely a place to return to in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minus_Kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear Minus_Kitty,

Thank you for such wonderful review, we truly appreciate your business and trust in us. I am pleased to hear that our staff and service meets your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

I had a deluxe room on the 5th floor and had an excellent nights sleep in a reasonably quiet room. This hotel is ideally placed for the chinese quarter. I didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food. Would definitely book again.

Tip: If you are arriving by train, turn right inside the station and exit via the side entrance and down the stairs. Keep right and then turn left on to queensway. It took me a while to work this out!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bisphamchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear bambinaUK,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

I stayed here over a period of several months. I never had a perfect stay and the inconsistency in service was noticeable. The same meal ordered two nights in a row would not be anything like the night before.
Overall, get a room at the rear of the hotel as high up as possible but not on the 9th floor as they are all freezing.
Don't order anything that is not on the grill section of the menu or you will regret it.
If the WiFi doesn't work, ring reception and they will sort it almost instantly.

It's not a bad hotel and the location is good, but I'm sure there must be better than this. I hope so.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear Phil1982,

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
#69 of 118 in Birmingham
214 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £59 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing