We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty average hotel - just what is to be expected from a Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #63 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Very convenient location for both New St and Moor St stations, as well as BullRing shopping. Very shabby entrance to the hotel (tucked away on a side road and not on Smallbrook Queensway). I stayed twice in one week - first room was tiny and had no bath (just shower!) and they squeezed in far too many furnitures in the room! The second time, I was given a bigger room and had a bath and shower this time. The bed on both times were awful! They have obviously put two singles together and dipped in the middle and was poorly made. The sheets were too small and had folds and creases all over which made for an uncomfortable sleep. Breakfast was average although they did run out of English Breakfast teabags. By the time it was replenished - I had finished my breakfast! Checkout on a busy weekday morning was very slow and a lone member of staff had to deal with everyone! I wouls stay there again for the convenience in location but suffice it to say - I'm booked at the Radisson Blu next door for next week.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaddaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear HaddaTraveller,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,555)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,477 - 1,483 of 1,555 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2011

Stayed 10 nights (April 22 to May 2). Reception quiet both checking-in and out, and staff friendly and helpful, and changed our room when we found out there was no safe in the room. The new room was also much larger, so may have been an upgrade. It was also well appointed. Bathroom recently refurbished but very small, needing to squeeze round the door to get in and out. We had also requested and were given a room at the rear and high up in view of the comments here, so we heard no noise from traffic or people, but there was some noise from machinery (ventilation?) coming from the yard below if the windows were opened.
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as there are many places nearby, but had dinner in the hotel restaurant 3 times, which was okay, but hardly any other guests every time.
During one night we found the electric cut off - lights and phone, etc. and also the lifts. The fire escape stairs had lighting that was maybe on an emergency generator so at 4am I walked down the 9 flights to check exactly what was happening and came out in a back yard and so walked round to the main entrance to be told that engineers were working on it; and the electric came back on by daylight. Presumably such blackouts/outages are rare.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank lexyleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear lexyleod,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Stayed in an executive room on a Friday & Saturday night in March with the OH.

Good points:
- Check-in and check-out were painless (paid online in advance).
- Free bottled water (although they didn't replace it the next day) and copy of the Economist
- Good sized mini-bar (which I used as a fridge to store drinks I'd bought myself!)
- Very generous sized room with pillow menu on the bed
- Clean and well-lit bathroom with bath/shower combo (small but cosy!)
- They don't include toothbrush/toothpaste in the bathroom but two were delivered very quickly when I asked at the desk!
- Great location: 2 mins walks from New Street Station, 5 minutes to Bullring/Arcadia and around 10-15 minutes to Broad Street (where all the trendy bars and Gatecrasher are)

Not so Good Points:
- Noise: On the Saturday night I was woken around 2am from the horns of what I assume were taxis. And I was on the highest floor of the hotel! My OH slept right through it however so maybe it's just my ninja hearing...
- Got unlucky that there were a group of young people on our floor coming back 3-4am talking very loudly in the corridor and then preceding to play trance music from their room which I could hear through the walls. Called reception to complain after about 30 mins (hoping they'd stop) and it did stop shortly after - not sure if they did send someone up or not but it stopped none the less!
- The TV in the executive room is very small and sits on the desk and they're advertising plasmas in the standard room so bit odd that it's smaller in the more expensive room!
- There was only one pair of slippers and one bathrobe despite it being double occupancy (didn't complain though because OH didn't mind)
- Didn't sample the hotel food but breakfast in bed (which would've been nice!) was about £15pp or something hideous...

Summary: Nice location, great staff, comfortable room... but bring earplugs!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank distortedkarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear distortedkarma,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We chose this hotel for its convenient location to the train station (Birmingham New Street) but were happily surprised at how modern and updated (and clean) it was. The staff were very nice and friendly and the breakfast, although nothing special, was acceptable and better than many chain hotels.

We were in Birmingham for my graduation ceremony with Aston University, so we were only guests for two nights; however, these two nights were spent very comfortably in an Executive room, which was very spacious and had a HUGE bed. The desk area was very convenient for our computer work and the free Wifi access worked without a glitch. The bathroom was quite small, but since we tend not to LIVE in our bathroom, it wasn't really a problem. The room was also suprisingly quiet, with no sound coming from the ajoining rooms.

Overall this was a pleasant stay and the central location was great for exploring the shopping areas and provided easy access to restaurants, Victoria Square, etc.

We would not hesitate on booking another stay in an Executive Room at this hotel.

Room Tip: Book early and online for good Executive Room rate
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Binkigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear Binkigirl,

Thank you for such wonderful review, we truly appreciate your business and trust in us. I am pleased to hear that our staff and service meets your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

I have stayed at this hotel on quite a few occasions and have never been disappointed. All rooms are of a good standard, Holiday Inn seems to be doing a complete refurbishment of most of their hotels which in my opinion is making them a good choice for a business traveler.

I have seen comments about noise. I have never had this issue though I do stay on weekdays, never weekends which maybe different.

The restaurant is a bit lifeless however there are plenty of restaurants in the area to choose from.

Only downside is there is no parking though there is a public car-park very close but it is quite expensive at >£15 per 24hr period. Hotel could do with working some-kind of discount for parking if you are staying at hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark_ncl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear m_donkey,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

No fault whatsoever with this hotel but the cost and inconvenience of parking off site is a definite problem. daily costs between £13.00 and £16.00 with a £3.00 concession if you can find the one park that qualifies.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank jodagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear jodagi,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Booked hotel in advance for £45 per night for 3 nights fri, sat, sun. Hotel is located on a busy street just along the road from New Street station and the Bull ring shopping centre. Friendly staff behind the front desk quickly checked us in. We stayed in room 105, which is actually on the 3rd floor due to the restaurant. (hotel has 9 floors of rooms so floor 9 is really floor 12!)
The room was large due to it being located next to the 2 lift's the room wrapped around them in an L shape. Only really heard the lifts occasionally from the bathroom. The room was double glazed with 2 large floor to ceiling windows, however they are not enough to block out all the noise on a fri / sat night. Opposite the hotel us a large entertainment district with Oceania night club entrance visible from our window. I imagine it's much better on the other side (even number room's?).

As for the room comfy double bed, large 32" widescreen tv, chairs, armchairs, desk. Tea/coffee, safe, ironing board.

Bathroom compact but powerful shower with bath and dove/lux toiletries. Although refurbished the bathroom floor tiles and shower gritting looked dirty and the spot lights looked loose.

Late night convience store opposite hotel and fast food outlets selling burgers and pizza.

Overal satisfied with stay, but would not pay over the odds for a standard room (I think the others not next to lift were more compact)

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Si_uk_says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

dear Si_uk_says,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
1,225 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £58 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing