We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birmingham welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #64 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We booked the Holiday Inn to stage the annual get together of our sports association. There were over a hundred in our party that stayed either one or two nights bed and breakfast. Facilities were top quality. The accommodation and breakfasts were first class. The meal we booked for our function on Saturday evening was superb. The attention to detail and to personal whims of some of our guests by the staff was exceptional. We had only one minor complaint over the weekend, to which there was a simple remedy. It was our first visit, as an association to Birmingham and an experience we certainly enjoyed, the hotel is a credit to the industry and one that can be highly recommended. I must, on behalf of all that visited, thank Ruth, who organised the weekend and all her staff for a wonderful welcome to Birmingham.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildroverwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear value Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. I will pass on your positive remarks to our staff about our friendly service.

I look forward to seeing you again soon at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre,

Fabio Barros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,211 - 1,217 of 1,580 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights over Easter weekend. Everything in the room was as you'd expect from a Holiday Inn. The large widescreen TV was excellent and the mini-bar fridge was useful to stock up with drinks. There was a breakfast deal which meant it worked out at £7.50 per person for the hot and cold breakfast buffet. Food was pretty good with the complete selection of cereals, pastries and hot food items. The tea and coffee however was poor.

Overall everything was fine except for the bed mattress which was way too soft and impossible to sleep comfortably on. This was not the standard of bedding that I'd expect from a Holiday Inn. Also the bed was on wheels and there was no way to stop the bed rolling across the floor.

The parking on site was fully booked so we used the Apcoa in Chinatown which offered a discounted rate for Holiday Inn stays.

Room Tip: Excellent proximity to the Bull Ring
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieDave25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city centre.

Regarding the mattress ; please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this may have caused. We try our best to ensure all guests do get a great stay and a great service from our team. Thank you once again, for your constructive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Fabio Barros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I've stayed here on and off since 1971 when it was the Albany and the flagship THF hotel (five star all but for lack of aswimming pool). In those days one regularly rode the lifts with actors like Burt Reynolds... Well the lifts are perhaps less glam now, but otherwise what a good job Holiday Inn have done now this hotel's Market position has been decided.

There was a horrid period of decline and lack of investment while it meandered through various down market guises. It's now a very classy three star hotel and if my room is anything to go by, designed better than most upmarket rooms. I loved the glossy breakfast bar type desk/vanity unit with handy sockets etc plus hair dryer and adjacent mirror. Now why has no one else done this??? And a real desk style chair as well as an armchair- yes! Brilliant!

Arriving this week in the snows, I'd no idea if the room was being controlled by central heating or air con -I didnt need to know as it was silent but maintained a perfectly ambient temperature throughout. And I also loved the very clear directions, alongside the controls but which I actually didn't need to use. As a regular hotel stayer I struggle through all the information trying to find out how to achieve a decent temperature and rarely either find instructions or find that they work. Thank you Holiday Inn for sorting this out as thoughtfully.

What else? Great memory foam mattress, a choice of pillow types, and, wait for it, there on the bed and labelled! Plenty of good size, White fluffy towels. Decent sized mugs, the usual beverage supplies and an in room fridge.

Small freshly tiled bathroom with over bath hand held/wall mounted shower, not a glam feature but fit for purpose and good heavy washable shower curtain with a sensible curved rail.

Loved the carpeting in the 7th floor corridor...how well chosen and tasteful...and a bit glam.

The restaurant used to be THE place to be seen in Birmingham and alas hotel restaurants no longer have that pzazz, but then the clientele is entirely different and it's no longer a bank breaker. I was surprised to see it's retained it's customary T-bone steak as an option though! Service was quick despite several large groups dining at the same time but as a single diner I was one of several and it didn't feel at all difficult. The menu wasn't exciting and I probably didn't choose my main course very well, but the large piece of salmon was cooked very nicely, just didn't hang together well as a dish. Puddings sounded lovely though I resisted the temptation.

As a previous writer commented, this is a very central hotel and many rooms overlook what can be a busy street. If this matters to you I'd advise requesting and discussing whether quieter rooms are available. The double glazing is pretty effective but passing revellers might still disturb you in the lower rooms, at weekends. Location is otherwise spot on for the Hipp and Alexandra theatres, China town, New street /Moor st stations, Bull ring and Mailbox.

This was an excellent quality ( standard double) room for the price I paid.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank nonsuchgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

We are delighted that the room you were allocated was to your satisfaction. I am also so glad everything went well. I will pass your comments to our team.

Once again, thank you for taking the time and trouble to write.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Fabio Barros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The Hotel is Holiday Inn at its best.. Staff and facilities are great. Breakfast was standard fare and serve yourself. Entrance to reception is not clearly visible when walking. you may find yourself heading towards the Radisson next door.
The city centre location can mean that on a Friday and Saturday, evren though you may be on the 8th floor, you can be disturbed by emergency vehicle sirens till very late.

Room Tip: Try getting an internet Executive room deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nejbiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

We are delighted that you had a good stay with us. I will pass your comments to our team.

Once again, thank you for taking the time and trouble to write.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Fabio Barros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Stayed here in March on business. Found this hotel to be consistent with the Holiday Inn experience. You know what you're going to get and this is a plus if you're out and about sometimes. As much as I prefer the quirkier end of the market for leisure, for business I prefer to go somewhere I know that the service and sleep quality is going to be decent.

It's a city centre location, less than 5 minutes walk from the Train Station, so if you're going to travel by train this is easy. Car Parking is expensive. £20 overnight not included in the room rate so think twice before you park. Also, the car park doesn't exactly feel too secure. There weren't any issues whilst I was there, but it's a small and narrow car park, multi-storey, and people tend to drive like idiots up the ramp. Take care when walking down.

The breakfast is pretty good, although for some reason they have put in a coffee machine, rather than serving hot drinks to the table. Not something I've experienced elsewhere, but not a barrier to a warm cup of caffeine in the morning!

Quick check-out and hassle-free. Hope you enjoy this hotel. Let me know if this review was helpful to you.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. Can be good view if the weather is good and tends to be less noisy. Main inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy1701k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

We are delighted that the room you were allocated was to your satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for taking the time and trouble to write.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Fabio Barros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This is a good hotel for the NEC and city centre. The Bull Ring is literally a 2 minute walk up the hill. The Bull Ring itself is huge and takes all weekend to walk around, is all undercover and there's loads of places to eat and drink with plenty of options to quell your designer cravings.

The NEC is the next stop up on the train and is about £9, The train station is 2 minutes up the hill again, You go out the hotel to the main road turn left and go up the hill, the train station is on the left and the Bull Ring is on the right.

Back to the Hotel, the room was plenty big enough for the three of us, we had a bathroom and a shower room. It was a little noisy from the traffic outside and a few night time clubbers, but it’s the city centre, don't you expect that? And certainly wasn't bad enough to keep you awake. The food was good and reasonably priced but for breakfast you have to get the 2 for 1 or you'll end up paying £15 per head, but this needs to be booked before midnight the day before.

The hotel is easy to find and is right next to an NCP car park, but the hotel has a deal with another one 5 minutes around the corner that offer guests a discount.

All in all, it's a good pleasant hotel, the staff are friendly, everything is clean tidy and well tended. We will use it again if we go back to Birmingham.

Room Tip: Its got 9 floors, so the higher to go the quieter it will be, you need to book a hotel parking space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city centre. I am so glad you were happy with all aspects of your stay, and I will pass these on to all the staff at the hotel.


We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Fabio Barros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Stayed here last year when we were in Birmingham for a car show in the NEC. The Hotel is literally a 2 min walk from the main train station, the shopping centre and loads of restaurants. We were only here for two nights and spent most of one day at the show out at the NEC so the stay was a bit short! The rooms were very modern (Think the rooms must have been revamped recently) but from the outside the hotel looks old - not the most attractive of buildings..! The breakfast was not included in our booking and we were given the option of booking it when we arrived at the hotel...it was a bit overpriced so on the two mornings we decided to head down to the centre and eat there. Overall we really enjoyed the trip and would stay here again if we ever go again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rossie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio B, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city centre. I am so glad you were happy with all aspects of your stay.


We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Fabio Barros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
352 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £60 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing