We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my stay at the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #63 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“my stay at the hotel”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

we booked a couple of nights stay at this hotel on arrival i was faced with friendly smile at reception from the members of staff. then once in my room was very well pleased with how comfort and clean it was on my second day i asked for the towels to be changed but they went the extra mile by doing a full room service

i will be returning again to this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fethi H, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear valued Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

We are delighted that the room you were allocated was to your satisfaction. I am also so glad everything went well. I will pass your comments to our team.

Once again, thank you for taking the time and trouble to write.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Fethi Hmaissi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    638
    351
    114
    78
See reviews for
92
446
95
565
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

You don't choose to stay at a Holiday Inn for luxury, they are a functional and reasonably priced option for a short stay. This Holiday Inn is spot on for that. Booked an executive room, a great spacious and clean room, 8th floor, nice and quiet. The executive room wasn't wildly priced above the standard double, so I'd really recommend paying the extra and getting the bigger space. Bar and restaurant area really large with friendly staff. My only gripe is the lack of parking on site. There are a small number of spaces outside the doors of the hotel which you need to pre book. There is also an ncp around the corner (not well signposted and took me about 15 mins to find!), it's £12 per night for the parking. To be fair, it's a city centre hotel, so parking is always likely to be an issue. Other great thing was its proximity to chinese quarter - directly opposite! Overall, not a bad stay at all and I'd stay again if I was needing to find somewhere in Birmingham City Centre.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissV-MiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fethi H, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear valued Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

We are delighted that the room you were allocated was to your satisfaction. I am also so glad everything went well . I will pass your comments to our team.

Once again, thank you for taking the time and trouble to write.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Fethi Hmaissi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed here for an evening do at the Mailbox nearby. Efficient check-in and we were allocated a very nice room on the 8th floor with a superkingsize bed. Was actually very impressed with the room quality and we weren't disturbed too much by street noise.
The location of the hotel is great for getting to nearby attractions, however, the affordability and proximity to the city centre means that you tend to get lots of large alcohol-fuelled groups staying at the hotel. On our return to the hotel later that night there were security staff around which made us feel safe, however we were met by a naked man in the lift and a pungent smell of vomit!
Anyway, we slept well and took advantage of the weekend 2 for 1 offer on breakfast the next morning. Good choice of breakfast and pleasant staff too.
Overall we would most likely stay again as the hotel offers great value for money and a very convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freerthanyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fethi H, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear valued Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

We are delighted that the room you were allocated was to your satisfaction. I am also so glad everything went well . I will pass your comments to our team.

Once again, thank you for taking the time and trouble to write.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Fethi Hmaissi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Have stayed here a few times. Had an executive room as they are worth the bit extra. As usual the room was comfortable and a decent size. Spotlessly clean, with free water, orange juice and chocolate bar as well as usual tea/coffee. Reception staff are always professional and efficient rather than warm and friendly. Handy for shops and bars, lots of both in Birmingham. There is a 50% discount for the nearby multi-storey car park, which is handy as it is eye-wateringly expensive otherwise.
Being in the centre of a large city there is some noise, but being a Londoner this doesn't bother me. Central Birmingham isn't for people who want the quiet life.
When I next go back to Birmingham will more than likely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianBasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fethi H, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear valued Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city center. We are delighted that the room you were allocated was to your satisfaction. I am also so glad everything went well.

Being a city centre hotel, the parking is limited at the site, but with plenty of car parks within walking distance. We do have a concession with The NCP car park st judes way (currently at 50% off). If you contact the hotel, we would be more than happy to give you directions and advise for your next visit.


Once again, thank you for taking the time and trouble to write.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Fethi Hmaissi

Oeration Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Not a bad spot, clean and tidy, good breakfast and in terms of HI,s pretty average probably just above average. Free wi fi which is great and should be at all HI,s, decent size bedroom and located in pretty good spot for rail station and city centre.
One tip for future customers please ask where your room is located as mine was next to lift shaft and was so noisy I had to move, when I challenged them about the noise they were clearly aware but thought they would chance it! Oh and I'm a gold level PC member, clearly meant nothing!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toyotaverso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear toyotaverso,

Thank your for being a Gold member and thank your for your review of our property. We appreciate your compliments regarding ur hotel.

I am sorry to hear your issues with noise. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you and for the dissatisfaction you had with our rooms. Our staff pay special attention to our Gold members and I deeply regret that we were not able to provide you the typical high level of service and recognition that you deserve.

Thank you for your business and your patronage to our brand and hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back as one of our Gold members and allow us to redeem your faith in our award winning service.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst on a business trip. Situated very close to Birmingham New Street station making it ideal if you are travelling by train. Room adequate for overnight stay and very comfortable. Bathroom was a decent size and spotlessly clean. My only gripe with the room is that the hair dryer was attached to the wall on the completely opposite side of the room to the mirror which is not ideal! However this is not the only hotel where I have experienced this so any room designers, please take note! Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice, both hot and cold. Quick check-out with staff assisting both behind and in front of the front desk to ease queues. Recommended and would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank pb231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 3 May 2016
Dear pb231,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for the Red Dwarf convention. We generally found the hotel good, so more of a 3.5 rating than a 3 or 4.

The breakfast was included in the rate and there was lots of choice, certainly compared to other hotels of the same standard. The same could be said of the evening meal also. It was a buffet, although I think you could order off of a menu. The standard of the food was good, not amazing but it has to be said, very good value.

Service - slightly mixed for us but most of the time faultless. The only gripe we had was that once sat down at a table for the evening meal, not one waiter came over to take our drink order on either of the 2 evenings. The service at the reception was very good and the guy that directed us to the nearby carpark, also very good.

A couple of negatives. The carparking. Given that it's a city hotel I think most people would expect to pay for parking. But I found it very disappointing that they aren't very helpful before you arrive. The carpark next to the hotel is not cheap and having options before you arrive would be incredibly useful.

Location - I've found Birmingham to be a good city to walk around but only if you are in New Street or next to the Bull Ring. Although the hotel isn't too far from those areas, walking out of the hotel the sights are less than appealing.

Overall ok though, and good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phizco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear phizco,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to note that you found our food to be of good value. I am also glad that you liked our front desk staff.

Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I am truly sorry to hear that your stay was negatively affected by our parking facility. Please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience and negative impression you may have had. Nonethesless, it is still our pleasure to read that you were satisfied with the major features and services that we have to offer.

I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
1,212 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing