We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, rooms and price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #57 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location, rooms and price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Really pleased with this find, for under £60 we got a double room with Breakfast right on the doorstep of the station (perfect for the NEC), and close to both the Bullring and The Mailbox.

Staff on check in were really attentive and friendly, same on checkout. Breakfast was included in our rate, there was a choice of continental and Full English with fruits, cereals tea and coffee - it was good value.

We stayed 1 night and went to an evening concert at the NEC after dinner by the Canal, all walked from the hotel. By the way group ticket to the NEC for 4 people, £6... TOTAL!!

The room was good, had all that we needed, inc tea and coffee. The shower was very good and the bed comfortable enough.

Parking was available right next door at the NCP for 50% off the advertised rate with the Holiday in stamped on checkout - 24 hrs was £12.05

Hotel did a great job for us and i would use again - they even took note of the request i made when booking online (High floor, quiet room) - no problem :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLIGHTY_BOARDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Blighty_Boarder,

Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that we were able to deliver and exceed your expectations from a Holiday Inn. I am also delighted to hear your kind comments about the staff attitude during your visit. I have taken the liberty to share your comments with the Hotel team, as such feedback gives that little extra incentive to do it even better the next time. We look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    600
    333
    97
    68
See reviews for
84
413
93
521
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hotel is in the very centre of Birmingham close to the station and the shops. Stayed for one night on business in an Executive Room, which was spacious, clean and well-equipped. The area around the hotel s very busy but I didn't hear too much noise either rom inside or outside the hotel. All in all, fine for a one night stay on business.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_constant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear traveller_constant,

Thank you for kind review following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that we were able to deliver your expectations from a Holiday Inn. I have taken the liberty to share your comments with the Hotel team as it gives that little extra incentive to do it even better the next time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Chose this as it was relatively cheap, but wish I'd found somewhere else. Room was on the fifth floor, but could hear noise from the street at all hours. The traffic was bad enough, but the scores of drunken revellers emerging from the pubs and clubs (until 5am) ensured that I didn't get any rest at all. Property is in a shady part of town and I didn't feel comfortable walking here from New Street Station at night time. Wouldn't stay here again.

Room itself was clean and comfortable, and staff were polite and friendly, but if I can't get a good night's sleep, what's the point?

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntSimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear AntSimons,

Thank you for your recent comments following your stay at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am sorry to hear that you found the property in need of refurbishment outside and the area to be run down. There is a massive refurbishment works happening at the New Street Train station which is on our door step. This is adding extra traffic and footfall in to the area. Even though the Hotel benefits fully from double glazed windows, it is obvious that you were not happy with the noise from outside. I will pass on your comments on to the Local Authorities during my monthly meetings, as we have limited control over outside the Hotel. I hope this incident has not permanently marred your opinion of us. We hope to welcome you back in future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The problem with the Holiday Inn brand is its inconsistency, which makes a mockery of branding. There are some great Holiday Inns out there, and there are some clunkers.

This is one of the better examples. Quick checkin, efficient welcoming staff. Good sized room, nice bar and scrupulously clean throughout. It's situation is very convenient next to New Street station and across the road form the Chinese Quarter, only a 2 min walk from the Bull Ring centre, it's location is difficult to beat.

This hotel recognises the IHG program, as a platinum I was upgraded and given a free drink voucher.

My room was well soundproofed and I had a great nights sleep, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear fortyboohoo,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that we were able to deliver and exceed your expectations from a Holiday Inn and that your IHG Rewards Club membership was recognised on arrival, as we value our loyal customers. I have shared your comments with the Hotel team, as such feedback gives that little extra incentive to do it even better the next time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

A typical Holiday Inn in some respects really, this one does look a bit ‘tired’ in places externally and could do with a bit of a refit – saying that it might have something to do with its location in the centre of Brum! Inside, clean tidy and well presented in public areas. But disappointed that as a Platinum loyalty card holder my room wasn’t upgraded on arrival as it should have been but, then again I didn’t question it! I did get a nice letter from the manager and a drink voucher at the bar so my ‘status’ was recognised.

Anyway….. rooms were clean and tidy with all the extras one could want, drink prices in the bar actually reasonable for a hotel of this standard and every single one of the staff I came across in my 3 day stay, helpful and pleasant. The concierge guys really helpful and made a couple of good restaurant recommendations.

Bar food looked good and so too did the restaurant (although I didn’t eat either) – for those of you with a Gourmet Club card the restaurant here offers you 50% off your food bill so well worth going! Breakfast buffet was fresh, hot, plentiful and tasty – very nicely done in fact!
Very convenient to Birmingham Hippodrome and the two other theatres around there, New Street station, Bull Ring and Chinatown – all within about 2 mins walk.

Would I stay again…. yes, I would with little issue.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babbamonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Babbamnk,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to see that we were able to deliver and exceed your expectations from a Holiday Inn. Regarding your IHG Reward Club status; I am pleased to hear that you were recognised on arrival as a Platinum member. Please note that the complimentary upgrades are subject to availability. Due to Hotel being fully booked, we were not able to upgrade your room on this occasion. I have taken the liberty to pass on your kind comments to all staff involved as it gives that little extra incentive to do it even better the next time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

you get what you book here - international chain, designed to move people in and out and give them a comfortable night sleep. So clean and comfortable, but a totally soulless experience with no positive atmospehere. This is next to main train station and busy city motorways so you definitely do not go here for the sights or any tourist type enjoyment, just for the night's sleep and escape as fast as you can the next day.

Room Tip: the rooms are all pretty standard hotel chain fare, but maybe to be away from street noise you wnat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripperKlaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear TripperKlaus,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am sorry to see that we were not able to make a very good impression on you, as we always take pride in our service delivery standards throughout the Hotel. I am also disappointed to see that we missed out an opportunity to highlight what Birmingham has to offer as the 2nd City. We hope to welcome you back soon (and ensure that you receive all the information about where to visit in Birmingham).

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for just one night. We arrived early and were able to leave our bags whilst we went sightseeing. Our room was adequate with a lovely tv and very comfortable beds. The bathroom looked a bit tired and could do with a makeover but overall we were more than satisfied. We paid £15 for breakfast which in my opinion is far too much. The breakfast was good with what you would expect, but no better than their rivals and double the price! The location of this hotel is excellent and we'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jillybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear jillybacon,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.I am delighted that we were able to deliver your expectations from a Holiday Inn. Regarding breakfast pricing; we have 2 offers currently. If purchased the night before, we offer a competitively rated breakfast at £10.50 per person. Also, we have a 2 for 1 offer at the weekends. (both subject to Terms and Conditions). We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#95 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing