We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bland...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #63 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Nice, France
Level Contributor
152 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Bland...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Does what it says but let down by its drab 60's exterior and the architectural and traffic nightmare that is central Birmingham so hard to recommend unless you really need to stay in this area. My room on the second floor was large and recently refurbished, bed a little deformed, but room quiet in spite of being near the elevator. Car park is close but expensive. The hotel offers a 50% discount on validating the parking ticket but employers in the area may do the same and with a higher discount. Didn't try the breakfast but had a beer and 'special' in the bar (chilli con carne), nothing to remember.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Eddie06,

Thank you for your recent review following your visit to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am glad to hear that we were able to deliver your expectations from a Holiday Inn. regarding the exterior of the Hotel, so far we have concentrated our refurbishment works to the interior of the property where we believe is more beneficial to guests. We are now looking at ways to improve the outside façade of the Hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    610
    338
    102
    72
See reviews for
86
419
94
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Göppingen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My parents stayed here for 3 nights. As I read the reviews about noisy rooms, I booked a quiet room which wasn't a problem and they got a quiet room on a high floor.

The rooms are not huge but have a decent size with a really big kingsize bed. The whole hotel and the rooms are very clean and I would say functional. There is nothing special but everything a guest needs is there.

The only thing which really needs to be changed is regarding the hairdrier! It is hidden under the table. My parents looked for it quite long, couldn't find it and eventually left the hotel with wet hair. Later I looked for it quite long and wanted to gave up already when I found it, more by accident. So there should be at least a sign with an arrow "Hairdrier under the table" or something like that!

The room was quite quiet but Birmingham is a big city and the hotel is situated in the city centre so there are sirens and other noise.

All in all a good functional hotel but in my opinion a bit overprized on weekends as there is nothing special about the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S-Nicole-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear S-Nicole-B,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am glad to hear that you found the Hotel to be offering everything you would expect from a Holiday Inn. Your comments regarding the hair dryer has been taken on board. We hope to welcome you and your parents in future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level Contributor
312 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

To endorse what other Tripadvisors have already said, this is a very clean and friendly hotel, ideally located, for us, between the station and the Hippodrome where enjoyed three evenings of superb opera from Welsh National Opera.

We agree that it would be wise to ask for a quiet room, as Friday night was a tad noisy. However, the large bed, with a choice of pillows, and good light exclusion curtains made that bearable. We had 241 breakfast on the Saturday morning that was great value.

We'll definitely come again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malaita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear malaita,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. I have taken the liberty to share your comments with the Hotel team as such feedback gives that little extra incentive to do it even better the next time. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
380 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

There is nothing especially flashy about this hotel but it delivers. Access by car is a bit of an issue but this has much more to do with local traffic management and given its very central location to be expected. It could benefit from slightly better signposting of the adjacent NCP car-park which is not visible on approach.

Check in was efficient. The room was large and had all that was required including space to place ones luggage, a table to write at. It has the potential to be an excellent hotel if the use of space was better thought out. There is certainly enough room for a larger bed and the bathroom has enough space to also accommodate a separate shower rather than the over-bath affair with curtain.

Minor criticisms are the way the hair-dryer was hidden below the writing desk, the heated towel rail behind the loo (careful if you lean back when sitting on the throne) which also obscured access to the flush. The toiletries were just some squeeze bottle of liquid soap which seems a bit cheap.

Positives were the excellent and quiet air-con, OK sound-proofing and bed comfort and there were no major flaws. Staff were helpful in general it a tad over-efficient at breakfast, where used dishes and cutlery were whipped away as soon as they looked empty with little prospect of you having a refill. The breakfast food was on the better side of average with a good variety except for the coffee which came from a single large vat which was only just drinkable.

Having tried a number of other places in central Birmingham, this one is one I will happily use again. I hope they develop the space they have in their rooms to better effect in the long term.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeJL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear MikeJL59,

Thank you for your constructive comments following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I really appreciate your detailed comments and have taken the liberty to pass them on to our architects for future planning of our bedrooms. I am glad to hear that we were able to deliver your expectations from a Holiday Inn and you would happily use our Hotel in future. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and I have always found it clean and comfortable. The hotel has an excellent location - a few minute walk from New Street Station, the Bullring and the Mailbox. There is limited parking at the hotel that needs to be booked, however there is a multistory car park right next door.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bex_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Bex_K,

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that we continue to deliver your expectations from a Holiday Inn and become your regular place to stay in Birmingham. I have passed your comments on to all staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, S Wales
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Just stayed at this hotel on business. Its not easy to find as the picture is a little mis leading. Staff were excellent though and the room was lovely. Very clean and spacious. The bathroom was spotless and overall I was very happy. One issue that did impact my stay was the noise of the air conditioning vents and rubbish collections throughout the night. I dont sleep well in hotels though and its beyond the control of the hotel so I wont hold it against them. I hope to stay here again because of the high standards and location.

Room Tip: go for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glamlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Glamlad,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted that we were able to deliver your expectations from a Holiday Inn and that you found the staff to be very friendly. Regarding the noise caused by early deliveries; we are now talking to our neighbouring business to ensure that such incidents do not re-occur in future. I am sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused you on the night. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We'd got an "executive" room; not sure what made it executive, (trouser press?); however, the key thing is that it was on the top floor, at the end of a short corridor & facing the back; so, the comments that others have made about the noise wasn't a problem.
It was a bit dark in the room, due to wooden internal shutters (rather than curtains), so perhaps that helped as well to cut out the noise.

Very handy for the station. We went on the Sunday am to the Back to Back museum - about a 5 minute walk away - probably the highlight of the weekend - (though Cadbury world was good, too!)

Didn't have breakfast in the hotel -there were other places a short distance away & the complementary tea/coffee/shortbreads filled the gaps first thing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank champagnedrinker_pom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear champagnedrinker_pom,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Regarding executive bedroom; the executive bedrooms are larger than standard bedroom with extra amenities (fully stocked up mini-bar, dressing gown, complimentary water, laptop size safe). We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#96 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#11 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing