We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #63 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed in the Holiday Inn Saturday night. Found the hotel to be clean and well maintained. The room was nicely decorated and very clean. Bathroom was spotless, with plenty of hot water!!Excellent wardrobe space and good TV.
Breakfast in the morning was well cooked with plenty of variety. All the staff were pleasant and polite, and checking out on Sunday morning was very straight forward. Car park at the rear of the hotel is very convenient.
The hotel is nicely situated in the centre of Birmingham, would not hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corco70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear corco70,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that we were able to deliver and exceed your expectations from a Holiday Inn. It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    638
    351
    114
    78
See reviews for
92
446
95
565
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have recently spent one night at this Holiday Inn and I was pleasantly surprised! The location next to the main train station, and minutes walk to most city centre sites, is excellent.
Early check in was denied promptly! This was a small inconvenience but the quick offer to hold the luggage was nice!
The Hotel has the standard décor of the chain and I found it in a very nice condition (room403). The room was very spacious and the super king size bed very comfortable! The standard bedroom also comes equipped with iron and board, a safe, small fridge and air-con! The Shower was powerful and plenty of hot water!
Very comfortable room!
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room better at the back of hotel away from the main street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Roberto V,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that we were able to deliver and exceed your expectations from a Holiday Inn. Regarding early check in request; whereas we do our best to cater for such requests, it may not always be possible due to being a popular destination hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I only stayed one night but fell ill the next morning. Jodie, Duty Manager was excellent. She organised the call to the paramedics; provided tea, coffee and biscuits for my fellow travellers; let me stay in the room until our coach collected us late afternoon and when I was feeling a lot better, looked in on me every half hour so that my fellow passengers could finish their shopping. She even gave me some chocolate. She was an absolute star!

With regards to the hotel itself it was everything I expected and the breakfast choice was brilliant.

I really recommend this hotel and it's staff. A big thank you to all, especially Jodie.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Julie J,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear your kind comments especially regarding a member of staff. I have taken the liberty to share your kind comments with the Hotel team, as such feedback gives that little extra incentive to do it even better the next time. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed here due to it's location to the town centre (Bullring, Victoria Sq & New Street station) and everything is much closer than it actually appears on the maps! The new entrance to the station is about 100 yards from the hotel and once you get your bearings it's a 5 minute walk to the Debenham's entrance at the Bullring.

The hotel was very busy with Christmas party goers at their function suites & the restaurant was not always open but the hotel is so close to China town you might be better eating there. We did eat in the restaurant one night and whether it's because they get business men with expense accounts but we thought the meals a bit expensive. Ok we did have steak but it didn't come with chips they were extra. So for steak & chips, one pint & one half of lager it cost £46 for the two of us. The bar has a terrace which might be nice to sit out on in the summer.

I don't think any of the rooms will be 'quiet', we were at the back over looking a multi storey car park & new street station but the bin men came about 8am making lots of noise but we were geting up then anyway.

The breakfast was very good, actually had fried bread which you don't find that often at Holiday Inn's but again very busy.

My only negative is that you walk straight in off of the street and theres the lift to all floors, you don't have to walk past reception so anyone could get in the lift to your lfoor. There is CCTV but reception was often very busy and I can't see how it can always be watched. When you've just walked past a few beggars on the street it makes you think.

Room Tip: I don' think it's possible to have a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Wendyonthesouthcoast,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that we were able to accommodate and exceed your expectations from a Holiday Inn. Regarding pricing strategy at the Hotel restaurant, I can assure you that we are in line with similar markets within Birmingham. Also, being located in the heart of City Centre means that some extretnal noise will be present despite our best affords. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed here on the 01/12/2013 and yet again what a friendly welcome by the staff on the reception, cant fault the housekeeping either very spotless clean rooms yet again.

every time i visit Birmingham city centre i always choose here has its very central for shops and railway station

Room Tip: executive rooms are excellent and you cant hear any noise as its double glazed windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Robert D,

Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that we continue to deliver your expectations from a Holiday Inn and to be your preferred Hotel in Birmingham. I have passed your kind comments on to all staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My experience was very limited as I stayed here for only one night. I faced an issue that hotel ended up booking me twice and later on charged me a no show on the other booking the next day. I had to then raise this to them later for course correction. Hotel location is very good and food was decent (tried a curry for dinner). Didn't get to taste their breakfast so cannot comment. Overall seemed like a value for money place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prashant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Prashant G,

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that we were able to deliver your expectations from a Holiday Inn. I am sorry to hear the shortfall you experienced with the booking system. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

On arrival we were upgraded from a standard double room to an executive room (804). There was a birthday cake waiting for me in this room.
The reception staff were helpful and polite.
We stayed for breakfast the next morning and I would recommend this to anyone who likes variety and value!
Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay and we will be back sooner rather than later.
Thank you very much Holiday Inn for a great gesture.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZDENKALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear ZDENKALondon,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and the arrangements made to celebrate your birthday. I have taken the liberty to share your comments with the Hotel team as such feedback does give that little extra incentive to do it even better the next time. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing