We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #68 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The location is good enough, the buffet breakfast is very nice, you can have a full english breakfast, also cereal, croissants, and cold salads. Rooms are good enough, which is expected, as I reckon Holiday Inn always is high quality.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Statice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Statice,

Thank you for your excellent review regarding your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that we were able to deliver your expectations from a Holiday Inn. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 984 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here few weeks back and it was great. Very clean, very modern and great shower. Would thouroughly recommend to anyone staying a few nights visiting the city.

Would stay here again if I go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sbstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Sbstraveller,

Thank you for your excellent review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that we were able to deliver your expectations from a Holiday Inn. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I had a most enjoyable stay; staff pretty good, room clean and well equipped, a real bonus to have a fridge and I slept well. However I did have friends staying at the same time who said they didn't sleep a wink due to all night traffic and street noise! So think I must have been lucky to have a room not overlooking the street! The location is central and easy walking distance to shops etc although not in the best area of town IMHO. Overall good value.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollyjacob02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear mollyjacob02,

Thank you for your kind review regarding your latest visit to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you found the rooms to be clean and of good quality and staff to be helpful and that you had a good night's sleep. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here on a night out in the city - we went to a superb Japanese restaurant and saw Evita at the Hippodrome - the hotel looks a little rough from the outside but its very well appointed on the inside where it matters. The rooms were lovely and I had a really good hot shower which I like in a hotel! No noise at all and we had a comfy nights sleep. We had drinks in the bar after the show and they were reasonably priced for a city centre hotel. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oloren1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear oloren1988,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We hope to improve the façade of the Hotel and have already submitted our planning application to the local authorities. I have taken the liberty to share your comments with the Hotel staff as such feedback gives that little extra incentive to do it even better the next time. we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights to visit a show at the NEC. Huge room, big bathroom and both spotless with all you needed. Good double glazing kept out the worst of the city traffic noise as you are right in the centre, 5 minutes walk from New Street train station. Not all noise, but most. The buffet breakfast in the morning was quite excellent. Didn't need to eat much for the rest of the day!
Most importantly, the staff at this hotel were absolutely excellent. Special mention to Kim on reception who was one of the most pleasant Receptionists I have ever dealt with.
Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: High floor is further away fro traffic (obviously!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear toots347,

Thank you for your excellent review regarding your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that we were able to deliver and exceed your expectations from a Holiday Inn and most importantly you found the staff to be excellent. Such feedback always gives that little extra incentive to do it even better the next time. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed for one night as going to the Alexandra Theatre. Check in efficient, staff informative. Large clean bedroom, fully equipped bathroom. Disappointed that restaurant did not open until 7pm as we had seats at theatre for 7.30 so unable to use. Main problem was the overnight noise. We were on the 2nd floor facing Holloway Circus and traffic, car horns & police sirens went on until 5 am! May be quieter on higher floors. Breakfast the usual serve yourself hot buffet was fine. Location for venues in central Birmingham was excellent, but would not use again

Room Tip: Higher floors may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shropshirelass56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2014

Dear Paul C,

Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you found the Hotel's location to be well suited for your needs, hotel to be offering comfortable rooms with good amenities and most importantly; helpful staff with very good customer service skills. I have taken the liberty to share your comments with the Hotel team as such good feedback always give that little extra incentive to do it even better the next time. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed for 1 night as attending a function at the hotel. Room was recently refurbished, large clean and had everything we needed including a safe for valuables. 4th floor overlooking the busy road but this didn't impact on sleep quality (although that may have been helped by the G&Ts).
Bar prices a little on the high side but thats usual for city centre chains.
There were only 2 things that I would comment unfavourably on. Whoever thought that wiring a hairdryer into the back wall of a wardrobe with insufficient cable to get anywhere near a mirror was clearly not female lol! The second relates to how closely the tables for breakfast were in proximity to each other, it was actually not possible to make our way to and from our table without fellow guests actually having to move their chairs. Breakfast was fab by the way and it was included within the very good advanced rate we paid.
Location was very central. Reception staff friendly and helpful.
Will stay again if the deal is right.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissywales_9again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Chrissywales_9again,

Thank you for reviewing your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City and for your constructive comments regarding the position of hair dryer in your room and the lay out of restaurant table at breakfast. I can assure you that your comments have been taken on board and will be addressed (where possible) by the management team. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £58 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing