We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep in the city - shop in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #63 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
wolverhampton
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Sleep in the city - shop in the city”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed for 1 night only choosing the hotel for its location close to the Birmingham Hippodrome. The directions led us to a fairly grotty back street and an NCP car park. But the hotel were helpful in letting us have the available blue badge parking space at the front. Reception staff were helpful in moving us to a twin room having found the double bed a bit too cramped for our liking. Everything else in this room was well appointed although the roof top view wasn't great - you have to accept this is a city centre hotel. Our twin room (zip-linked beds) was comfy and provided a good nights sleep even through the thunderstorm. The ear plugs are a nice touch for those who want peace and quiet. Breakfast was the standard hotel buffet and they had gluten-free bread - good job really as my husband forgot to mention it on the booking form. Would stay here again for value for money nothing else in a full- service hotel could touch it. Good location for the Bull Ring Shopping Centre a short stroll away.

Room Tip: If you prefer larger bed request a twin zip-linked. Disabled travellers need to book a blue badge s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fossieWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear fossieWolverhampton,

Thank you for reviewing your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am glad to hear that you found the Hotel to be offering everything you would expect from a Holiday Inn and the staff were friendly and helpful when dealing with your requests. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    637
    350
    113
    78
See reviews for
92
445
95
564
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here at the weekend whilst visiting friends. The staff at check in were very friendly, and as our room wasn't quite ready we were able to leave our bags and go exploring. When we returned, check in was fast and efficient, and we were given a room on the 8th floor.

Despite the room only being a standard double, we were very impressed with the quality of the room. It was nicely decorated, had a massive telly, two lovely solid granite tables, a nice big window, good air con and a lovely clean bathroom. The bed was comfy and we both slept very well.

We had breakfast to our room and we only ordered one, however when we checked out we had been charged double! This took about 20 minutes to sort out, but the lady at reception did seem reluctant to cancel the extra charge which I wasn't impressed by.

Apart from this minor glitch, the hotel was amazing and we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevbev321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear kevbev321,

Thank you for reviewing your latest stay at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you found the Hotel to be offering you would expect from a Holiday Inn. I am sorry to hear you experienced a glitch when checking out with the breakfast charges but was resolved to your satisfaction. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at 2 premier inns in the previous week this hotel was such a pleasant surprise. The hotel says it has been refurbed and what a fantastic result. The room was superb value, really clean and bright. I was so impressed and if I had paid double I would still have stayed there. Will definitely use this hotel again when I stay in Birmingham!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Emiliascott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Emiliascott,

Thank you for your kind review following your latest stay at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you were impressed with all aspects of your stay and that you will be using the Hotel in future. I have taken the liberty to share your comments with the Hotel team, as I believe such great feedback always gives that little extra incentive to do it even better the next time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Booked here for proximity to station and business destination. Nice large room, clean, well equipped, good views, air con. Free fast wifi: I could actually stream Netflix which was a first in over a year of travelling to UK hotels. Well done Holiday Inn.

Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food.

Room Tip: You want to be high up foe the views and away from any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alipen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear alipen,

Thank you for reviewing your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that we were able to deliver your expectations from a Holiday Inn and that you were impressed with the complimentary wifi speeds provided. We hope to welcome you back in future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here with my daughter for 1 night recently. I chose the hotel because of its location and the fact that it provided twin bedded rooms. Our room was comfortable and clean with a great view. The beds were comfy too and the pillows just right. We had a very reasonable room-only deal so didn't sample the breakfast - there are loads of places to eat nearby. We did make use of the bar which is very pleasant with friendly staff and has a roof terrace. As Birmingham is halfway between where I live and where my daughter lives we may well meet there again and if we do we would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again. It is clean, well equipped, reasonably priced and has helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacuumcleaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear vacuumcleaner,

Thank you for reviewing your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you and your daughter thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you found the Hotel to be offering everything you would expect from a Holiday Inn. We look forward to welcoming you and your daughter hopefully for future meets in Birmingham.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile


The room was spacious, the price was good, the staff were polite and friendly and the breakfast was better than expected.

On the downside, if you are over 6ft you won't fit under the shower head. The double bed is small and the walls are very thin, meaning you hear people in the corridor all night.

If the rooms were better sound insulated this could be a 5 out of 5 review.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear tom p,

Thank you for reviewing your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to read your kind comments, especially about the staff and breakfast quality, and your constructive comments on how we can improve our standards. I can assure you that your comments have been taken on board and have been passed on to those planning our next stage of refurbishment. We hope to welcome you back in future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is amazingly clean and spacious. The room that we got given was really lovely. The was a free safe and mini fridge. The wardrobe was spacious. We also got provided some tea bags and coffee, sugar and milk, and of course the kettle. The bathroom was really clean and nicely done. Lots of towels provided. The staff in the hotel were also really lovely and helpful. The food was also great. Honestly nothing bad to say about this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roxy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Roxy Z,

Thank you for your very kind review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that we were able to deliver and exceed your expectations from a Holiday Inn. I have taken the liberty to share your comments with the Hotel team, as such good feedback does give that little extra incentive to do it even better the next time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing