We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #61 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
293 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

stayed here for one night on recent trip to Birmingham so cannot say much. It is close to birmingham new street station, just about 5 minute walk. Has few shops nearby for food, grocery etc.
Room: Was small than previous stay. bed comfortable. Bathroom clean and with adequate amenities. Only problem was the table to work. Did not had good lighting and also not placed well in the room. Room has a locker which is handy. Tea and coffee in room but no water. Please get your own water. There was some noise coming from the air-con. I complained to the front desk and they sent a repair man but he does not know any English. I tried to explain him but all he was doing is temp. up and down. He did not understand a word. Please i request either explain the staff problem or send someone who knows a little English.

Wifi: The free wifi is not good. First it keeps kicking you out and also the speed is not good. Compared to free wifi at similar hotels in this area.

Food : Is a bit expensive as you can many options in this area for less. Breakfast again is around GBP 10 if bought before and i guess 15 if bought in morning.

Check-in & out is was quick. They also store luggage if you wanna leave late. Will stay here again only if internet improves. As a business traveller you always want good internet when you are paying good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SumitIndianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear SAWHNEYSUMIT,

Thank you for reviewing your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am sorry to hear that you experienced a mechanical issue with the air con unit and found that the engineer wasn't able to communicate with you due to his level of English. You also mentioned about the poor internet signal in your bedroom. I can assure you that i have taken your comments on board and will be addressing them soon. Also to inform you that the tap water is drinkable in the UK and Birmingham has one of the best supplies. I am certain that we will notice the changes in the areas you raised at your next visit. We hope to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    624
    344
    106
    76
See reviews for
88
432
95
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for four nights on a writing retreat & to spend time with friends. It's a very nice hotel & I'm looking forward to going back!

All of the staff were lovely & helpful. The bedroom had a very comfortable king size bed, desk, free wifi, chairs, wardrobe, safe, fridge, tea/coffee facilities, TV, lots of plugs, telephone & excellent lighting. The air con system was quiet & easy to use. The bathroom was clean, well equipped & a good size.

Breakfast was a little pricey at nearly £11 (if bought in advance) but there was a good choice. The 24 hour room service menu was small but the bar also serves food.

You'll find New Street station, coffee shops, pubs, restaurants, lots of shops, the Hippodrome, O2 academy, Alexandra Theatre minutes away.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrEmmaPreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Emma P,

Thank you for your very kind review regarding your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and most importantly, found the staff to be helpful and friendly. I am sorry to hear that you found our breakfast pricing to be high. I can assure you that we are well within the area average. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adlington, Chorley
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Not far from New Street station, the bullring, the hippodrome of the canals. Great location, friendly staff. Reasonably priced too!

Room was above average, nice and cool (a hot July Saturday) fridge & safe was in the room, hotel wifi was ok.

Did not use the bar or eat there but would stay again & no issue in recommending.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbolapool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Robbolapool,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you found the Hotel to be offering everything you would expect from a Holiday Inn. We hope to welcome you back in future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I usually stay at the Ibis Birmingham City Center. I chose this hotel because I got a good deal. The location is central. Walking distance form New Street Station. It is close to Bull Ring...about 2 minutes walk...in fact you can see the Bull Ring once you set out of the hotel. There are a few eateries just opposite the hotel. There is a vending machine with all your basic essentials like toothpaste, adapters, etc along with an ATM (cash machine) in the lobby. The check in was quick. When you step out of the lift on your floor, the corridor lighting may appear dim. This is because they have sensors to switch off the lights when no one is in the corridor...nice step to save power....but there is a problem here....the corridor is divided into a few sections with a sensor in the middle of each section and you have to be under the sensor for the lights to start. So you could be walking in a dimly lit corridor for a few steps before the lights come on...this happens in every section. However it is not too dark and you can easily manage your way around.

The room was spacious. The hotel has free wifi. Comfortable beds. Housekeeping was good. The bathroom had a tub. There are no closets in the room for you to keep your stuff. There is an electronic safe in the room.

The hotel has its own bar and restaurant but I did not use them as the central location of the hotels provided me with a lot of options.

So would I stay here again? Yes, but only if I get a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank udalvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear udalvr,

Thank you for reviewing your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you found the Hotel to be offering everything you would expect from a Holiday Inn. I can also assure you that i have taken your comments regarding the location of the lights sensors in bedroom corridors on board and will be discussing it with our architects soon. We look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while visiting my brother in Birmingham.
The Hotel located only 10 minutes walk to Bullring Shopping Center.

I booked double room via booking.com. Check in/out was fast and efficient. The hotel room is small but clean and comfy for a 3 star hotel and the price is value for money. The free wifi is so nice.

Overall.. would stay here again...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriawan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Adriawan K,

Thank you for your recent review regarding your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be suitable for your needs. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here this past Saturday as I was in the city to see a concert in nearby Digbeth so it was an ideal location. The staff were friendly when I arrived no problems even though I arrive dearly before the allotted check in. My room was very modern clean and spacious I had booked this two months previous and got a really good rate also. Would recommend this hotel to anyone

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Timeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Timeless,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. It is always great to hear such feedback. I have passed your feedback on to all staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed there in winter times.... Warm atmosphere, great bar for watching Premierleague games, ideal location in the centre of the city. Large rooms with great WiFi network. Ideal place for business meetings with easy acces to train station

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Sandy D,

Than you for reviewing your experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you find the atmosphere of the bar and our location to your liking. With our forth-coming refurbishment works, we are looking to create even more enjoyable area for all our guests. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#97 of 117 in Birmingham
506 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#11 of 117 in Birmingham
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing