We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well situated and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #65 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well situated and value for money”
Reviewed 20 February 2011

I had a deluxe room on the 5th floor and had an excellent nights sleep in a reasonably quiet room. This hotel is ideally placed for the chinese quarter. I didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food. Would definitely book again.

Tip: If you are arriving by train, turn right inside the station and exit via the side entrance and down the stairs. Keep right and then turn left on to queensway. It took me a while to work this out!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bisphamchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 3 May 2016
Dear bambinaUK,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    618
    340
    105
    76
See reviews for
86
425
95
544
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

I stayed here over a period of several months. I never had a perfect stay and the inconsistency in service was noticeable. The same meal ordered two nights in a row would not be anything like the night before.
Overall, get a room at the rear of the hotel as high up as possible but not on the 9th floor as they are all freezing.
Don't order anything that is not on the grill section of the menu or you will regret it.
If the WiFi doesn't work, ring reception and they will sort it almost instantly.

It's not a bad hotel and the location is good, but I'm sure there must be better than this. I hope so.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 3 May 2016
Dear Phil1982,

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Stayed here over a ten week period. Checking in on a Monday and out on a Friday. Usually check-in on Monday evenings were very slow. Rooms were sometimes still a mess from the weekend. Dirty towels, beds not made/changed etc. Had to ask for a room at the back of the hotel everytime due to the amount of noise in the night around 3am. Nearby nightclub kicks out at around this time, they scream and shout and cars beep their horns for about 2 hours constantly. Room service was ok, food was always warm. Bar and restraunt service was always very slow. Can wait upto an hour in the bar. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff at breakfast time were great! Free WI-FI good too. Could do with a gym.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 3 May 2016
Dear stephm27,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I arrived at this hotel in rush hour traffic on a friday night so it was difficult to find and slow down to see where to park. I parked in an open air car park immediately next door and the cost was £14.50 for 24 hrs. When i checked in they said they would advise customers to go in the multi storey further along the road as safer and cheaper.
Room , bed and view was excellant. Breakfast was offered at £9.50 the night and i wouldn't get charged if i decided not to go down. If you decided in the morning its £14.50 which is a bit expensive . Very good selection and a nice small modern restaurant . location great but i certainly wouldn't walk about outside on my own after dark.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capobride08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 3 May 2016
Dear Capobride08,

Thank you for such wonderful review, we truly appreciate your business and trust in us. I am pleased to hear that our staff and service meets your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Stayed for work purposes and all in all was pleased. Only negative would be housekeeping. Used glassware with drink remnants left in room fo 4 days but the bar & restaurant staff were lovely and bent over backwards to be helpful and friendly. 2 mins from New Street so great central location near to Bullring but this did attract local 'characters' and, as a female smoker did feel unsafe popping outside on own after dark but that's probably my problem. Although, hotel didn't seem to move on the occupants of the smoking benches and in fact, I overheard the reception lady state she'd not emptied the ash bins as she was "leaving them for the tramps". Noble yes, but not nice on own being badgered for cash and ciggies - did feel intimidated at times have to say.

Bar and restaurant staff friendly and attentive but have to say, was glad I wasn't paying for the food myself as it was fairly expensive but quality not up to price - I make better meatballs myself and it doesn't cost £10 a portion!!!

Would stay again though due to central location.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsWooders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 3 May 2016
Dear MrsWooders,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay at our hotel. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our management team. We look forward to welcoming you back as a guest in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Room was fresh and well presented but had to turn off air conditioning/heater as too noisy and woke up to a very cold room but no other noise depsite central position.. The breakfast was mediocre unless you like Kellogs cereals of which there was the usual suspects plus many extras. Hot food was missing several offerings at 0900 which by the time thye were replenished it was too late. Tea comes in mug from a machine by the taste of it and that only came by persuing a member of staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiat500cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 3 May 2016
Dear fiat500cc,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay at our hotel. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our management team. We look forward to welcoming you back as a guest in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

The hotel is close to the city centre (as the name suggests!). There is no car park but the entrance to the NCP multi-storey car park (£16 for 24 hours) is literally seconds from the entrance to the hotel. Our room was at the front of the hotel and overlooking a main road but we were not troubled by traffic noise at all. The rooms are modern, clean and well appointed with flat screen tv. Breakfast was excellent with quick and courteous service. A much better than expected experience. All other staff were polite and efficient. You might gather we were pleased with our choice of hotel for our one night visit to Birmingham. You would be right :-)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briandcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 3 May 2016
Dear briandcole,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Joanna
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#97 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#12 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,357 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing