We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel - terrible plumbing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Ranked #81 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Bristol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel - terrible plumbing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel overnight after a family wedding. We really really impressed and the good deal offered by the hotel and as soon as we were inside we struck by how well the hotel was decorated, it was very well done and comfortable. The staff were also very welcoming and we had good service throughout. Our room was a very good size with a comfy bed and was nicely decorated. The downside to the hotel was possibly a one off, but we weren't so sure. Arriving back quite late we used the bathroom sink and the cold water tap broke straight away and wouldn't switch off with water gushing out..not the best thing to happen at 1.30am! My husband went down to tell the night porter who promptly came up tools in hand and fixed it, so it turned out ok but it didn't seem like the first time this had happened! The next morning went to have a shower and the temperature dial was broken with the only temperature scalding hot so I had to have a bath instead. I reported both things to reception on checking out and she was apologetic and assured me would be resolved, so hopefully a one off! We also ate in the hotel and the lunch menu and breakfast was great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloudnine83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    204
    148
    100
    79
See reviews for
203
191
25
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed one night after the England test at Edgbaston. Hotel was easy to find, great location, very helpful and friendly staff and the food good. Rooms very a very good size, clean and comfortable, alough the furniture was a little tired. Would recommend it and would stay agin!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juneejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We took part in the murder mystery night and enjoyed every minute of it. The characters walking around was amazing and you felt like you were right in the middle of the action all while eating a lovely meal!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolphin138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed here for three nights, And it was great, Some Previous reviews complain about the length of walk to there room but this is part of the character of the place, Rather than the impersonal floors of a 20 storey high hotel, The staff are fantastic and cannot do enough for you. will definetly be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fingrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Attended the Murder Mystery night back in May. It was Brilliant, really good fun. The food was wonderful, I suffer from a wheat allergy they catered to my needed with out any hassle.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

My wife and I booked in for two nights for our niece,s wedding ceremony and reception which was being held at the hotel.The accommodation and service at the hotel was first class. The rooms in the extended part of the hotel have all been refurbished and looked lovely. Our room which was in the original part of the hotel was spacious and comfortable and these rooms are due for refurbishment soon, so we were informed.We have stayed at the hotel before but the lounge and bar area was unreconizable this time due to the high standard of decor. The food was excellent also the late night snack delivered to the room. We will certainly stay here again when we next visit the midlands as the location is very convenient for the hub of things in the city.

Room Tip: ask for a room close to the lounge area if you find it difficult walking and climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Charming and well preserved old Wayside Inn with extensive modern extension. Really enjoyed our overnight stay and breakfast was excellent.

Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Experience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#35 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plough and Harrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough and Harrow Hotel

Property: Plough and Harrow Hotel
Address: 135 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plough and Harrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and traditional hospitality awaits guests at the Plough and Harrow Hotel Birmingham. Built in 1704, originally as a wayside inn, the hotel has over the centuries become steeped in history and is recalled by many as being one of the most popular places to stay in Birmingham during the last few decades. The red brick Victorian architecture of the original building together with the large garden, lawns and plentiful car parking serves to set the Plough & Harrow Hotel apart from other Birmingham hotels This 45 bedroom hotel brings a country house style to the city with elegant & intimate lounges, a restaurant & terrace overlooking the garden. In recent years the hotel has become a very popular wedding reception venue in the city & also offers happy couple the chance to get married & hold the reception in the same place. While staying at the hotel guests are within 1 mile of Broad Street, the NIA, ICC, Symphony Hall, the Botanical Gardens and Edgbaston Cricket Club as well as the shopping precinct & other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Plough and Harrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough And Harrow Birmingham
Hotel Plough And Harrow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing